Skip to content

TallyHO YO!! This Is About My Toe (AGAIN)

February 20, 2009

gosuckatoe2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Only if your into that kind of thing.  Really, its just a suggestion.  No need to get all uppity.  Suck the toe if you want to.  If not, well move on.

So, here is the news.  I am not healing.  Well, I had an x-ray yesterday after exactly 4 weeks and there is no sign that the toe has healed.  There is no calcification filling in the break, whatever the fuck that means.  The person reading the x-ray told me he was surprised that there was no healing.  I am surprised as well.  My running/doctor friend is the most surprised of all.  She thought for sure I’d be out running today.  

I was bad.  I didn’t wear the shoe.  The shoe that was to keep my toe immobile and aid in healing.  I was bad.  I thought that since there was very little pain, that the toe was healing.  It hurts when i move the toe up and down but not a lot.  It hurts when i touch the spot where it broke, but not a lot.  So, that is a good thing.  The lack of any really bad pain.

 

The plan is twofold:

1) See an orthopedic doctor for further ways to get this TOE healed. Perhaps being casted although if that is what is suggested I will probably run out of the office screaming and flailing my arms as a insane person would do, hoping beyond hope they don’t drag out the straight jacket.
2) Wait perhaps 10 more days and have another X-ray.

Not to worry, I already have an appointment with an ortho doc next week.  It’s the earliest I could get plus I had to find a doctor that takes my sucky health insurance.

 

Oh and wear the shoe. So, I am wearing the damn thing. Only time I will take it off is when I shower and sleep. Needless to say, I am not a happy camper. I’m OK, just not happy.

So, for now I am going to take a break from writing here.  Not because I want to.  But mostly because this is my running blog and since I am not running, I don’t want to cloud up this blog with nonsense.   I am not abandoning it.  On the contrary.  

Once I am back out there, you will not be able to get rid of me.  So, please check back.  When I do post again, I will probably give a status update on facebook.  

I love you guys lots.  You all know that already.  You have all been so supportive and helpful and loving towards me.  I can’t tell you how much that is appreciated.  I really don’t think I have ever met a more caring group of people.

images

 

 

 

Universe says:
Dreams are like that, Michelle… Most of the time you don’t even know how close you are, until after they’ve come true.

Sometimes, even, the very day before they come true, it still feels like they’re a million miles away. 

Something to remember. 

Tallyho, 

    The Universe 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 20, 2009 1:08 am

    what a stubborn toe you have! I’m so sorry that it has not yet healed and that you’re still not running. i remember with my stress fractures and wearing the boot i often wondered if i should have to if there was no pain. I guess now that i’m reading your post, i’m glad i did. Hang in there, and keep smiling. you’ll be running soon! 🙂 Hugs

  2. February 20, 2009 1:31 am

    We love you too!!

  3. February 20, 2009 9:57 pm

    that toe is a stinker. are there any supplements you can take to help? maybe a calcium something or other? and wear the shoe..i’m guessing that will help keep things in place so it can fill in.

    heal, toe, heal!!!

  4. February 23, 2009 3:06 pm

    I know this sucks !!! Don’t you hate the setback !! We all do !!! Hang in there !!! ( I know its toooo easy for me to say this!). Would it be viable for the doctor to remove your toes?? Bad bad bad question ! Don’t take my advice for it. It is imperative that you take care of those little pinky toe so you can get back to running soon. Stay strong and listen to your doctor!

  5. February 23, 2009 4:49 pm

    Ohhhhh chica I’m sorry about the setback 😦 We love you too and I’ll be stalking you on FB as usual 😉

Leave a Reply

