Skip to content

I’d Rather Be Running….

March 3, 2009

dsc01696

It has been entirely too long going without.  Going without blogging here and going without running anywhere!!!  So, here is the story.

Once upon a time – I broke my TOE and after 6 weeks there is only 20% healing.  WHY??  It is not my fault.  It’s not that I wasn’t wearing that dang shoe and it’s not that I am walking on it.  NOPE!!!  It is just a very bad break in a very bad spot and if it happened to anybody else, the same non-union would happen.  Or not happen.  It’s just not happening.  FUCK!!!

So, at this point there are two options.  Well three options actually.

1) Exogen Ultrasound bone healing system!  Yeah, HUH???  Read about it!!!  Exogen.com

2) Surgery.  Yes, the dreaded surgery.  That involves cutting, pushing the bones back together and then placing a very thin pin to hold it together.  Then after about 3 weeks the pin is taken out.

3) Do nothing.  To me, that is not an option because I did nothing for 6 weeks and look where that got me.  NOWHERE.

I also may see another doctor next week for one more opinion but in the mean time I will start the bone stimulator machine at home.  20 minutes a day.  Thats it.  I can do that!!!

I am hoping that I can run the Brooklyn Half Marathon on May 30th.  It is 3 months away so I really think that is a possibility.

I really miss you guys.  FACEBOOK is fun but its not cutting it.  I need to run.  It is just who I am.  I really don’t know how I can explain it.  But, if you want to friend me on facebook go ahead.  Michelle Jacobs.  I could use some friends!!!

In the mean time you can call me Ms. Couch Potato.  And I am damn good at being a couch potato.  If you need lessons, I’m your gal!!!

“I’d rather be a could-be if I cannot be an are; because a

could-be is a maybe who is reaching for a star. I’d rather be

a has-been than a might-have-been, by far; for a might-

have-been has never been, but a has was once an are.”

— Milton Berle


10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2009 12:30 am

    oh bummer! Sorry to hear about the toe.. that totally sucks. 20 minutes a day is doable, good luck with your decision, keep us posted! Don’t give up hope.

  2. March 4, 2009 12:43 am

    I guess the bone juice wasn’t potent enough. I hope the Exogen thingamajig has your bones united quickly so we can run in May. Hang in there, girl.

    BTW, I’m joining you on the couch. This cold has me down for the count.

  3. michjoy61 permalink*
    March 4, 2009 1:15 am

    Oh no, i’m sorry Christie!!!

    GET WELL!!!

  4. March 4, 2009 3:51 am

    I do not think you should aim for the Brooklyn Half. Let it go this year. Aim for something mid-summer or early-fall.

  5. March 4, 2009 2:47 pm

    Awww hell!!!
    Damn it ! Damn it! Damn it!
    and one more damn it!
    After 4 weeks, it should’ve been healed.
    I’m giving you a straight – up opinion. Sounds like you need surgery.
    Exogen works sometimes. The bones need to be touching in order to have healing.
    Facebook! I’ll add ya.
    David Sandstrom

  6. michelle permalink*
    March 4, 2009 2:51 pm

    Yikes really Dave??? Should i even try the exogen???

  7. March 4, 2009 3:21 pm

    It is good that you have options. Options help you to decide which course you want to take. Most importantly, seek 2nd opinion. Who knows, you might have another options. At the end, you will make the best decision on which course you want to take. I wish you all the best and holler at me if you need to talk about it. I am here to listen. As for me, I am tempting to become a couch potato until the weather gets warm. 😉

  8. March 6, 2009 1:45 am

    What about amputation?
    Just wanted to give one another option. 🙂

  9. March 7, 2009 5:39 am

    That sucks. On the plus side, your pedicure is pretty fierce. :o)

  10. March 9, 2009 12:42 am

    Damn it. Good luck making that hard decision!! Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

