Skip to content

You Can Turn Off The Sun, But I’m Still Gonna Shine..

March 28, 2009

It’s all relative I guess.  So, since I got the clearance to run again, I’ve been doing just that.  But, once again I am not listening to doctor’s orders.  1 mile every other day OR 1/2 mile every day just seems so primitive.  So, noobie.  So, couch potatoey.  

So, for the past three days I ran 3 miles each day.  

Wait, what??

Yeah, you heard right.  It’s just 3 miles right?  I have absolutely zero pain but I do notice a bit of redness and puffiness at the break site.  Just a bit though.  I am not swollen like a balloon.  Very very little bit of puffy.  And just a tad red.  That’s it.

Here are my stats for the 3 runs:

3/26/09  3 miles 31.48 10.36 min/mile I ran a 9.56 3rd mile

3/27/09  3 miles 31.25 10.28 min/mile I ran a 9.55 1st mile

3/28/09 3 miles 31.42 10.34 min/mile I ran a 10.10 2nd mile

So, if anything I am consistent.  For now.  I am, of course not happy with these times but yet I am.  Let me explain.  Of course, just the fact that I can indeed run 3 miles makes me happy and feel good.  But, I’ve done so much better.  I ran a 27.55 5K back in November.  

What I wonder is will I ever get back to that pace?  I am pretty sure I will run the Brooklyn Half Marathon which is tentatively scheduled for May 30th, but I doubt I can run it for time.  I have to make up my mind that I will run it, but run it for fun and the camaraderie it will offer me.  Nothing more or less.  

Again, I don’t want this to come off as complaining or bitching because I am very happy to be out running and I’ve been feeling really good emotionally after each run.  

So check out this quote:

How much of human life is lost, in waiting???
Ralph Waldo Emerson

I really like Emerson.  He had a lot to say and said it.  I don’t want to spend my life waiting.  Just waiting.  In limbo.  I want to explore and experience and accomplish.  It’s all so simple really.  Teach yourself.  Don’t ask others to do for you, if you can do for yourself.  Here is some of what Emerson says:

He has not learned the lesson of life who does not every day surmount a fear.

Don’t be too timid and squeamish about your actions. All life is an experiment. The more experiments you make the better.

Character is higher than intellect… A great soul will be strong to live, as well as to think.

Always do what you are afraid to do. 

And then these two really speak to me:

“The Real Voyage of Discovery consists not in seeing new landscapes, but in Having New Eyes.” – Marcel Proust

Everyone is fighting a dark and terrible battle, and most of them are losing. Be nice to others, who can know what kind of day they could be having. – Mark Twain

So, being the type of person I am and strive to be, I just want to say I am here for you.  And you!  All of you.  I will clap and give you WOO’s when you race.  I will give you high fives for each run you do.  Doesn’t matter how fast or slow.  Because, it’s all relative isn’t it?

Think of it this way:

We are all humans that are all really after the same thing. However, we all have different points of view, and because of this are divided as to what the “meaning of life” is….it’s like if you took a million painters and put them in a circle around a large mountain. While it’s true all the painters would be painting the same mountain not all of their paintings would look the same. 

Their paintings are relative to their view of the mountain. Just like our idea of life is relative to our view of it.  Just like our running is relative to our view of it.  

Perhaps, one runner is set upon breaking 3 hours in a marathon.  WOO!!  That rocks.  But, it may not rock for the next runner.  That’s all I’m saying yo.  

dsc01755

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2009 4:50 am

    Everyone is fighting a dark and terrible battle, and most of them are losing. Be nice to others, who can know what kind of day they could be having. – Mark Twain

    I love this quote!!!! You never know what someone else is dealing with! Love it!

  2. March 29, 2009 12:33 pm

    I think if you’re feeling fine, then do what’s comfortable. If it hurts at all, then back off. Otherwise, keep that slow and steady pace. That’ll help you get your endurance back quick. Any speed issues can certainly wait!

  3. March 29, 2009 2:19 pm

    You’ve racked up enough mileage to get you through June 🙂 Just take it easy. Don’t push too hard. And don’t beat yourself up for not being the speed demon you once were before this all happened. Oh, and don’t run today.

  4. March 29, 2009 3:50 pm

    Hi M – glad to see you back on your feet. Most importantly, if you feel comfortable. Go for it. If you feel uncomfortable, stop. Looks like you are making nice and steady progress. Slow is good. I will be rooting for you. Before you know it, you will be running freely!

  5. March 29, 2009 10:38 pm

    slow and steady is the way to go!

  6. March 30, 2009 6:01 pm

    slow and steady got me from my air cast to yesterday’s 30k race… honestly. listen to your body, but don’t push it. the fact that you’re able to run is a blessing, enjoy it 🙂

Leave a Reply

