Skip to content

To POM Or Not To POM….

April 7, 2009

dsc00228

Molly over at POM Wonderful was extremely nice to send me a POM care package to taste and review.   I received 8 – 8 oz bottles of POM Wonderful 100% pomegranate juice.  Just quick, then I will give my review:

Health Benefits (Taken from pomwonderful.com)
POM Wonderful 100% Pomegranate Juice is the only pomegranate juice backed by $25 million in medical research. Actually, we are the only pomegranate juice backed by any medical research at all.    

There has been a lot of talk lately about the role of pomegranates in promoting heart health, prostate health, and proper erectile function. But while these results are promising, keep in mind that all of the research has been done on POM Wonderful 100% Pomegranate Juice. Our juice comes from a unique pomegranate variety (the Wonderful), which is grown in a unique location (California), and which is juiced with proprietary technology (ours!). No other pomegranate juice can claim these distinctions, and no other brand has been clinically tested.

So what are the medical results on POM Wonderful 100% Pomegranate Juice?  Go to the Health Benefits section of the website to read more.

My review:
I am a fan of tart tasting juices.  Always have been.  Give me cranberry with lemons squeezed in and I am in heaven.  So, I was excited to get to try POM Wonderful.  It is delicious and refreshing especially after a run.  I like it because it is 100% authentic pomegranate juice, its all natural and contains no added sugars, preservatives, colors or cheap filler juices.  

The pomegranates are grown in the San Joaquin Valley in California and its the “Wonderful” variety that is grown.  Yes there is such a thing.  Cool huh?  I had no idea.  But I find it interesting to read up on the Wonderful variety.  Lots and lots of antioxidants.  POM seems to have more and better antioxidants than red wine, grape juice, blueberry juice, cranberry  juice, green tea, vitamin C and vitamin E.  

It comes in very cute eye catching bottles.  The juice itself is a beautiful crimson color.  Very dark – you can almost see the health benefits floating around in there.  

Pros:

It tastes good, its refreshing and its healthy.  
It can be mixed with other things such as club soda for a nice cocktail.
It looks fancy in the glass.

Cons:

Unfortunately there is only one con for me.  It is too expensive for my budget.  At least in my local supermarket.  16oz bottle is $4.99.  For a treat once in a while – sure.  But, not on a regular basis.  This of course has nothing to do with my actual review of the product.  Just an observation that it is expensive in the stores.
Try it though.  Its good stuff.  

 

When you come to the edge of all the light you know and are about to step off into the darkness of the unknown, faith is knowing that one of two things will happen: there will be something solid to stand on, or you will be taught how to fly. Patrick Overton

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2009 1:24 am

    Healthy, but expensive. Somehow those words became synonyms. I hate restaurants that charge extra when I want vegetables instead of fries.

  2. April 7, 2009 1:43 am

    I’d like to try that sometime, but I agree, the price is too high

  3. April 7, 2009 1:44 am

    Sounds very healthy. Do you drink it straight or dilute it?

  4. michjoy61 permalink*
    April 7, 2009 1:53 am

    Hey TW, I drink it with club soda and I squeeze in some lemon or lime! More tart I know!! I do like it straight too though!!

  5. April 7, 2009 12:18 pm

    Hey TW, I drink it with club soda and I squeeze in some lemon or lime! More tart I know!! I do like it straight too though!!
    Sorry, forgot to add great post! Can’t wait to see your next post!

  6. April 7, 2009 2:21 pm

    If this drink promote and/or improve proper erectile function, I am all for it. Actually, I have tasted POM and it is outstanding. However, it comes with a hefty price. You might want to check into Acai drinks.

  7. April 7, 2009 5:23 pm

    Thank you everyone for your feedback. We do take pride in making sure we provide the highest quality and most healthy product. I know we have bloggers who follow michjoy61 by mixing their POM with club soda and even more who buy their POM in larger bottles to save some money. We have 48 oz and 60 oz bottles that people have found more cost-effective. Check in your local grocer or big box store, like Costco.

    Cheers,
    POM Blogger

  8. April 7, 2009 6:02 pm

    I really like pomegranate fruit with its sweet/tart taste, so I’ve wondered about the juice. Most pomegranate “juices” are loaded with sugar or hfcs. I’ll have to splurge and try the POM.

  9. April 8, 2009 3:03 am

    Molly did the same for me. Love the POM juice.
    If you are reading Molly, I will get my review up soon…
    Sry I’m behing Michelle. I just now posted on your April 1st entry.

Leave a Reply

