Skip to content

Channeling My Inner Steve In A Speedo…

April 8, 2009

dsc01779

I have been running for a while now since I got the go-ahead.  I guess I had to have some sort of initiation – some way to be accepted back into the wonderful world of being a “runner” I first noticed something amiss about 3 days ago.  You know, a little rubbing felt through your kicks and socks.  The start of the dreaded blister.  Yo, I am tough I ran though it.  I sucked it up.  I am strong.

Next day it hurt more.  When I got home and ripped off my kicks and socks – I saw the darn thing.  Clearly, there was a blister happening.  Then today, I ran 4 miler.  It hurt but not so bad that I had to stop or anything.  Came home and again ripped off my kicks and socks – Wait What??  The darn thing was beet red and getting bigger.   Look at that thing.  WTF?  I was all like dude I am turning into Steve in a Speedo minus the speedo.  By the way, if your not already reading Steve’s blog, than you must.  He has ugly feet and is hilarious plus he is an incredible athletic.  Go now.  I’ll wait.

While my feet are much cuter than Steve’s – that blister there can rival anything he throws at us right?  I have no clue what to even do for a blister.  Do I pop the sucker?  Should I put a band aid on it.  Should I have it casted?  Have the entire foot cut off?  No clue.

So, my runs?  I am up to 5 miler.  My fastest mile so far is a 9.03.  But, I cannot maintain that for more than a mile or two.  

I am officially signed up for 3 races.  

Healthy Kidney 10K May 16th Central Park –  

NYRR Half Marathon – Brooklyn May 30th 

NYRR New York Mini 10K June 7th Central Park

And the best part?  I am going to get to meet TED!!!  Ted decided to run the Brooklyn Half Marathon with me.  I am so psyched about this.  He said he would run the entire race with me.  I feel so happy about that because now I know I will finish the thing.  Thank you TED!!

I will also be meeting Christie.  She has been consistently improving her pace during her runs.   She is way faster than I am and I am proud of her fast improvements.   I have a new running friend as well.  Her name is Samantha and she actually lives in the same apartment building that I live in.  We met on facebook.  I did not know her before we met.  How crazy is that?  I live on floor 4 and she lives on floor 2.  We ran together last Sunday.  3 miler in 30.58.

Steve in a Speedo if you are reading this:  HA check out my blister dude!!!

4 miles – 41.29 10.22 min/mile 479 calories burned.   It was so freaking annoyingly windy, I had a really hard time with this run.  

I want to thank every single person that has helped me, supported me,  listened to me bitch and gave me advice.  Believe me, it has not gone unnoticed.

The Universe told me today:

A flower doesn’t turn toward the sun because it needs to, but because it wants to, and so the process is effortless and joyful. 

All things considered, Michelle, what do you WANT?

    The Universe

Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits. Watch your habits; they become character. Watch your character; it becomes your destiny.


10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2009 7:32 pm

    Woooooohoooo!!! 7 more weeks till Brooklyn Half Marathon. I am truly looking forward to meeting you and other bloggers. It is going to be FUN. Now, you need to pop the blister. I am sure you used to love popping a pimple. If so, you are going to love it. That thing will really squirt so be sure to wear a goggle ! LOLLL !

  2. April 8, 2009 10:42 pm

    Wait a minute. Only 7 weeks? I better get training.

    I’ll take your feet over Steve’s any day. LOL

    Thanks for the shout out.

  3. April 9, 2009 2:14 am

    Love the tribute to Steve! LOL! DON’T pop the blister!

  4. April 9, 2009 3:05 am

    Wow, that’s quite the blister! I never comfortable popping them…

  5. April 9, 2009 11:55 am

    Wait… wait… wait…

    ….

    Your feet are CUTER than mine?!? No. Freakin. Way.

    😉

    OK, I’m a “popper.” So I say to pop it on the side and drain it. But do NOT peel the skin back until it’s ready – that’s just asking for an infection.

    Great pic!!! 😉

  6. April 10, 2009 9:55 pm

    I just tagged you! Feel free to play along!

  7. April 11, 2009 3:01 pm

    ewwwwwwwwww blisters!!!

  8. April 11, 2009 9:24 pm

    I have no clue what to do for a blister. I’ve lost plenty of toenails due to running but have never had a blister.

    BTW, what is a mini 10K? Do you have to be small to enter it? Do they only allow owners of Cooper Mini’s to enter? Is it a mini-width trail and once you get your spot you have to keep up or get run over because there’s no room to pass?

  9. April 15, 2009 12:31 am

    I’ve been out of the blogging loop for a week or so, so I’m just now catching up on your posts! That’s one nasty looking blister. I hate just thinking about how that feels!

  10. April 15, 2009 8:47 pm

    Hey!! Looks like I’ll be seeing you in BK (and Ted and Christie) I’m planning on the half!!

    Woo-hoo!

Leave a Reply

