Skip to content

In My Dreams….Sub 50 5 Miler….Reality….

April 11, 2009

In the last few days, I have been evolving back into the elite runner I once was.  It is evident is so many ways.  Starting with but not limited to my amazing come back into the world of running.  It’s simple really.  I was great – I took a running break – I was still great – I started running again – I am still great.  See, simple.

What amazes me most is how fast I am.  How agile I am.  How I look when I am running.  How professional I can be.  I am also quite imperturbable and unflappable.  Ok, I just wanted to use those big words in this post.  What I meant to say is I am calm and unruffled.  I look the part.  I look like the elite runner I once was.  

I am lean and tall, in my mind.  I am faster and more gazelle like, in my mind.  I am aloof.  I am a cut above everybody else on the boardwalk.  In my mind.  As I run, I am graceful and at ease.  My legs turn over and over and I cannot be caught.  In my mind.  I accelerate and move forward and there is nobody that can catch me.  

In my mind, I am an elite runner.  Elite in the sense that I am the crème de la crème – I am royalty.  

SHUT UP…………YIKES………….MY ALARM IS GOING OFF…………PRESS SNOOZE…………..FUCK………..IS IT TIME TO GET UP TO RUN………..I DON”T WANT TO………..

I HATE RUNNING…………IT’S RAINING…………….IT’S COLD……………MY TOE HURTS…………..FUCK…………RUNNING SUCKS………….I AM SLOW…………….

FUCK…………SHUT UP ALARM………….MY BLISTER HURTS…………..SNOOZE…………..SHIT……………RAIN RAIN……………RUN RUN……………OK OK OK!!!!!

That was some dream I was having.   I am glad I awoke.  I know my reality.  I know where I came from and I know where I must go.   I know how running makes me feel.  I know how far I’ve come.   This is my reality and it is much better than my dreams. 

4-10-09     5 miles    49.51    9.58 min/mile   595 calories burned

Splits
Mile Pace (min/mile) Speed (mph) Elevation
Gain
actual +/- avg actual +/- avg
1 9′ 34 -0′ 24 6.3 +0.2 +3 ft
2 9′ 50 -0′ 08 6.1 +0.1 -3 ft
3 10′ 01 +0′ 03 6.0 -0.0 0 ft
4 10′ 07 +0′ 09 5.9 -0.1 0 ft
5 10′ 16 +0′ 18 5.8 -0.2 0 ft
 

 

“Every blade of grass has its angel that bends over it and whispers, ‘Grow, grow.’”
The Talmud

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2009 4:35 pm

    Now that I see the numbers, I see what you mean. I could help pace you in the beginning of the race.

    So did you decide what you’re gonna do about that blister? I’ve never had one that big, and definitely not on the bottom of my foot. How do you go 5mi on that thing?

  2. April 11, 2009 5:18 pm

    good five mile run. you are a gazelle!

    i actually got out and ran 4.25 miles in the rain. Slow as a snail, but I got out there.

  3. April 11, 2009 9:27 pm

    Nice job on the run! Wahoo! Hope you are having a wonderful weekend!

  4. April 12, 2009 1:22 am

    You are back!! You are driven! That’s where the running has come from. You have been preparing mentally since your injury to be where you are now. The mind leads the body.
    You are doing a few easy runs aren’t you? It’s okay -you know. You don’t always have to be so damn fast.
    😉
    She’s back and stronger than ever. (That’s the opening comments of your new movie.) The Michelleanator!

  5. April 12, 2009 12:31 pm

    You’re too funny. I think I’ve had a dream like that once, alarm clock woke me up too 😀 Glad you’re back!

  6. April 13, 2009 7:00 pm

    Ohhhh girl CONGRATS!! ;D ;D WHOOOO HOOOO!!

  7. April 13, 2009 8:31 pm

    Very good !!! Your post cracked me up. I guess the most important thing is to follow your dream and your feet will follow. As per sec to Christie’s comment, yeahhhh… what’s happening to your big blister? Did you pop it?

  8. April 20, 2009 10:47 am

    Funny post. In my dreams about running, I’m always running uphill (serious hills), against the wind (gales, actually), and through very soft sand and my pace reflects that — it’s more slogging, barely even walking, total effort to move my foot forward. I wake up exhausted.

  9. May 6, 2009 12:24 pm

    Hi, nice post. I have been thinking about this topic,so thanks for writing. I will definitely be coming back to your posts. Keep up the good posts

Leave a Reply

