Skip to content

Tax Day ~ The Day To Come Clean…

April 15, 2009

runners

So, twice now I ran with a new friend.  A lovely lady that lives in my apartment building.  And twice now I did something that I promised myself I wouldn’t do.  

We met at the pre-determined time.  We both started our GPS devices and started off.  I, immediately said “you set the pace”.  Simple words really.  And simple to follow.  And I did.  For about 5 minutes.  Then I did what I ALWAYS do.  I started running ahead.  And, this is not to say that she runs slow.  Quite the contrary.  

I am obsessed with the numbers.  The time.  The garmin is both a beautiful thing and a curse.  To me, anyway.  Instead of embracing the run, I make it stressful for myself.  And I fuck up what should be a nice run with a new friend.  

I do not think I am a better runner than anybody else.  I am not.  I just become somebody who every few seconds glances at Seth (Garmin) to see if I am in the “range” or whatever the fuck that even means.  I know my pace.  I know where I am at right now.  So, why look? 

I have had a 10 week break in running and now I am attacking it as though  perhaps it will be taken away from me again.  This is not the way I want to run.  I love it and love the way it makes me feel, if I let it.  I don’t want to be the runner that everybody hates to run with.  And you know I wouldn’t blame my new friend if she said to me that she’d rather run on her own.  It certainly wouldn’t surprise me.  

I am not a new runner but I have a lot to learn.  When I say “you set the pace” I need to mean it and I need to run “with” another not run “ahead” of another.  It is common courtesy and it is what I strive for.   I would want it done for me.  

So, new friend next run is our run.  Not your run and my run!!

And speaking of running, I’ve been doing just fine.  No toe pain at all.  I was joking to someone that my blister hurt much more than the darn broken toe did.  The blister has now turned into a big ugly patch of dead skin that for some reason doesn’t want to peel off.  It is a funky color and its ugly so I will spare you the visual.  I guess it just has to be ready to peel huh?

I am keeping a 10 min/mile pace give or take.  I just read some cool news today about the Brooklyn Half Marathon:

This years half-marathon in Brooklyn on Saturday May 30, is going to be the best one yet.  Come out to the borough that features Prospect Park, Coney Island, and the famous boardwalk, where the half-marathon will END this year.

The race is ending in MY HOOD!!!  Five minutes from where I live.  I am excited to be able to show Ted where I grew up.  YO!  My hood.  YO!  That is cool!   I am looking forward, with nervous excitement, to running this race.  The first time I will be running the Brooklyn Half Marathon that is ending in my HOOD!!!

Stats for my last run:

4/14/09   5.39 miles 56.03 10.24 min/mile 637 calories burned.

Does anybody use LogYourRun?  Just wondering.  I use Garmin Training Center and BIM active.    I also heard that the garmin 405 is now compatible with Mac book!  Is this true?

Mile (min/mile) Speed (mph) Elevation
Gain
actual +/- avg actual +/- avg
1 10′ 28 +0′ 04 5.7 -0.0 0 ft
2 10′ 53 +0′ 29 5.5 -0.3 0 ft
3 10′ 53 +0′ 29 5.5 -0.3 +3 ft
4 11′ 34 +1′ 10 5.2 -0.6 -3 ft
5 9′ 32 -0′ 52 6.3 +0.5 0 ft
end 10′ 00 -0′ 24 6.0 +0.2 -3 ft
Versus average of 10′ 24 min/mile:       Slower     Faster

The Universe told me today:

Give it thought, Michelle. Consider every angle. And then speak your mind.

You’ve not been drawn into anyone’s life just to listen.
Loud and proud,
    The Universe

“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.”

Please, take that step!

I may be securing a cool G-Post.  Stay tuned.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2009 4:39 pm

    Why is this blog not on my roll? Grrrrr! 🙂 When I started training for Ironman, I took pace off of my Garmin. Heart rate is the only way to go!

  2. April 15, 2009 6:55 pm

    sometimes the garmin is NOT your friend. I left mine at home on Tuesday and had the pleasure to run WITH someone also. How awesome it was to not know or worry about the pace, but to simply run with a buddy. 🙂

  3. April 15, 2009 8:22 pm

    Looks like a good run, if a little slow for your norm. If you run with me, you’ll also have to slow down. but you know that already.

    Your preoccupation with the numbers is a blessing and a curse. I think it could take away from the sheer joy of running, but… if you’re really good at being able to hold a pace, you might find an informal career as a pace group leader, like my friend in Chicago.

  4. April 16, 2009 1:36 am

    Bad Michelle. You know your mama raised you better than that 🙂

  5. April 16, 2009 12:23 pm

    I agree with the others. Sometimes taking G off is a good thing. I try and do it at least once a week. Like you, I’m always looking down at the thing *sigh*

  6. April 17, 2009 1:23 pm

    I am just guilty as you for watching my garmin. Way too much!
    But I won’t take it off unless I’m trail running.
    I know that you are running the half.
    Have you started your long runs yet? Don’t worry about speed for the long runs. If you run too fast your body won’t be able to build your stamina.

  7. April 17, 2009 1:25 pm

    oops one more thing. I read on facebook that your toe is growing new bone. Yahoo!! healing it is..
    Great! So my theory on your bone being completely separated wasn’t true. That’s great news!

Leave a Reply

