Skip to content

Going The Distance…The Good Eggs Of The World….

April 18, 2009

funny-pictures-good-egg

A true friend is someone who thinks that you are a good egg even though he knows that you are slightly cracked. 

I live by this.  I like to think of myself as a “good egg” who unfortunately is slightly cracked.  Nothing wrong with that right?  I embrace my crackness!  It makes me who I am and different from everybody else.   Sometimes, I even eat that cracked egg in the carton.  Add some cheese and a vegetarian sausage and you’ve got yourself a post run treat!

I also know for a fact that all my RBF or BRF well blogger running friends and buddies, your all “good eggs”.  I don’t know what it is about runners.  I’ve never met a runner I didn’t like.  EVAH!  I love the quirkiness and the intensity that all of us share.  I love how each and every one of us good eggs are so supportive of each other.  Cheering each other on no matter what.  I love that shit.  I eat it up along with an egg or two.

Non-runners JUST.DON’T.GET.US. do they?  Do they?  I can talk for hours to Ted about running stats and fartleks and GU and all sorts of stuff.  Engage a non-runner in that sort of conversation and in a matter of moments I am hearing the sighing and yawning and uh huhs.  Sure, non runners are “good eggs” too.  Some of my best friends are non-runner good eggs, but I still love to talk running with runners.  They get it.  I get it.  

So, I went for my last (hopefully) Xray yesterday on my 12 week old broken toe.  I had no idea what I would see.  In the meantime, I was handed these fabulous paper slippers which are all the rage I hear.  What do you think?

dsc00255

Nice right?  So, the news was good.  IMHO anyway.  Dr. Toe asked me to hop off the table, and as I did I made sure not to break any toes, and he pointed to something on the Xray I hadn’t seen before.  Bone filling into the separation.  Not a lot but enough that I saw it and he saw it.  And I think 4 eyes seeing the same thing makes it real.

So, now I am running with sheer joy.  Just being out there makes me happy.  It is a special thing.  To run.  To be moving.  Sensational.  

“Good eggs” each and every one of you, I love you!!

113thmarathon

I am rooting for Hall – I am rooting for Goucher BUT mostly I am rooting for all the great bloggers out there running Boston on Monday!!  Run the race of your life guys!

GOOD LUCK TO YOU ALL!!!  I am feeling the excitement just thinking about it and I will be watching on TV.

My run yesterday:

4-16-09   5 miles   49.03   9.49 min/mile  595 calories burned

 

Splits
MILE PACE (MIN/MILE) SPEED (MPH) ELEVATION
GAIN
ACTUAL +/- AVG ACTUAL +/- AVG
1 9′ 42 -0′ 07 6.2 +0.1 +3 ft
2 9′ 42 -0′ 07 6.2 +0.1 -3 ft
3 10′ 02 +0′ 13 6.0 -0.1 +3 ft
4 9′ 49 +0′ 00 6.1 -0.0 0 ft
end 10′ 00 +0′ 11 6.0 -0.1 0 ft
Versus average of 9′ 49 min/mile:       Slower     Faster

Cake – The Distance
he’s going the distance.
he’s going for speed.
she’s all alone
all alone in her time of need.
because he’s racing and pacing and plotting the course,
he’s fighting and biting and riding on his horse,
he’s going the distance.
11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2009 6:02 am

    Is that egg in the front George W? Or maybe I’m just seeing things.

    So are you still doing your at home toe treatments? I haven’t heard you mention it in a while. Whatever you’re doing, I’m glad it’s finally working.

  2. April 18, 2009 5:15 pm

    That is very good news about the toe.

    did you get to keep the slippers? LOL

  3. April 19, 2009 12:21 am

    awesome news about the toe… 😀

  4. April 19, 2009 1:08 am

    Your the bomb – you warped little weird cracked egg.
    I’ve never seen the weird slippers before – If you can’t afford real ones I’ll buy you some. haha
    I almost forgot about the Boston marathon – almost…

  5. April 19, 2009 5:36 pm

    One of my next posts is going to be about shoes, and I can’t believe those slippers! They would be so cool to have for around the house. Maybe instead of after race Crocs or sandles, you could have a pair of bag slippers. That would be so cool because you could draw whatever you wanted to on them. I think you are onto something, here.
    Glad to hear about the healing. Happy running!

  6. April 20, 2009 10:51 am

    The slippers are the new recovery socks! Glad your toe is healing.

  7. April 20, 2009 5:24 pm

    It’s our crackedness, and the degree there of, that makes us unique 🙂 Good egg or not!

  8. April 20, 2009 8:39 pm

    Hmmm… I like to think myself as a fried egg. Just kidding. I love your post. True… I do like to think myself as a good egg with a major crack around it.

    P.S. I have enjoyed texting back to you this morning on Boston Marathon. Wasn’t the race TERRIFIC ??? Kara was sensational. Kudos to all the runners who have completed the marathon today.

    P.S.S. I am delighted with your toe’s recovery process !!!

  9. April 21, 2009 1:46 am

    So may running, somehow, actually helped the break. And now I’m craving an egg…

  10. April 23, 2009 2:31 am

    I consider myself a runner. I love to run. I can talk to runners about the feeling of running, the catharsis that overcomes a runner after a great run, only they can undersand. However, when I write, I feel that non runners understand me better. Runners only focus on running, and I don’t. I run because I love life. But running is not all there is in my life…did I make sense?

  11. May 4, 2009 5:01 am

    Hi, good post. I have been thinking about this issue,so thanks for sharing. I’ll certainly be coming back to your posts.

Leave a Reply

