Skip to content

Consistency Is Key….

April 23, 2009

13runneredit

Let’s talk about consistency!!  Or to be consistent….

  marked by harmony, regularity, or steady continuity : free from variation or contradiction.  

I have been told many time, by many people that my running is all over the place, pace wise.  And it is.  Or was.  

When I watched the Boston Marathon, I saw how very consistent the elite runners pace was.  Not every mile was the same pace but it sure was close.  I wonder to myself why I am so inconsistent in my running and I think perhaps because I am like that in my every day life.  Perhaps, it carries over to my running?

It’s hard sometimes keeping a consistent pace because somehow even though I think I am going fast, it is always slower.  I have never been one to follow a training schedule and I am still not sure I want to.  I do know that those that do follow a training regimen are much more consistent in pacing.  They know what it “feels” like to run a 9 minute mile and they go with it.  A systematic plan is in place.  They know that today they need to run for 40 minutes because its on the schedule.

I am of the belief that plans and schedules can be broken.  I just run.  What I am trying hard to do is just be consistent.  And by consistent I don’t only mean to run every day.  I mean to stay within a certain pace without being all over the place.  It’s too hard and it doesn’t make for a good running partnership.  Yes, I want to play nice with others.  I want to be able to play in the sand box and not get sand kicked in my face.  I know I can do it.  Consistency is key.

It’s all up to me.  I can make it happen if I want it bad enough.  Sometimes, I wonder if I should just run solo.  And sometimes, I love running alone with my thoughts.  It’s therapeutic.  It’s a beautiful thing, this running.   What I want most out of it is not to feel pressure to run – I just want to run for the love of it.  For how wonderful it makes me feel.  For the beauty of meeting other runners.  For the cool looking kicks I get to wear.  Just all of it.  

But, consistency is key.  Key to most things in life.  

I am planning on a 7 mile run this Saturday in hilly Prospect Park.  My goal is to not stop until i reach the mileage.  I have been making a bad habit out of stopping to walk after 3 miles.  The stopping needs to stop.  My friend Samantha said she would run in back of me to make sure that I keep on going.   Yikes!!

The best part is my TOE has been so very good to me.  No pain.  I am so over that broken toe.  

Garmin is finally Mac compatible.  How cool is that?  And it works so much faster and better than on my PC!!!  Seth has been good to me!!!  I am so glad I bought Seth.  Someday I will learn to run with out him (on occasion).

4-23-09    5 miles    52.40    10.32 min/mile   595 calories burned

Mile 1   10.56

Mile 2   10.50

Mile 3   10.47

Mile 4   11.52

Mile 5    9.58

Not very consistent huh???

f1024711


 

 


 


6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2009 9:01 pm

    This is quite interesting Ms. Running Down a Dreamer !!! When I first started running four years ago, my pace fluctuated. My chart looks like a choppy water. It was not consistent. It took me about a year and half and it kind of pan out nicely. It comes with time. The longer you do it, it does become more consistent. The only investment you need is time. It will pan out.

  2. April 24, 2009 2:05 am

    i love that you appreciate running. period. 😀

  3. April 24, 2009 2:54 pm

    I think if you learned to control your cadence, that would help with your pace 🙂 I am currently training with a cheap electronic metronome, and it is a good thing!

    BTW: I don’t think walking is a bad thing!!

  4. April 24, 2009 8:46 pm

    Yeah, I honestly was super inconsistent when I first started too. I agree that it just comes with time and getting your ‘internal speedo’ calibrated to know what a certain pace is supposed to feel like.

    It’ll come with time – especially if you keep knocking out 7 milers!

  5. April 25, 2009 1:05 am

    i’ve never thought your pacing was all over. you should run with me. ha! i’ll show you pacing all over the map!

  6. April 28, 2009 5:55 pm

    I’m scratching my head a bit here (no, I don’t have fleas or lice). If you just want to run for the love of it, why the felt pressure to be more consistent? There’s nothing wrong with being consistent but I’m not sure there’s anything wrong with being inconsistent, either.

    Then, I’m not sure that you’re as inconsistent (and certainly not as abnormal) as you think. The first 3 miles of your 5 mile run were very consistent — a 6 second per mile variance from fastest to slowest. I’m guessing that you walked some during mile 4. Then, because you were warmed up and rested and seeing the barn, you ran the 5th mile faster.

    I don’t run a steady pace throughout most of my runs — well, I also don’t look at my watch during most of my runs — I start it when I start running, stop it when I stop running, and then calculate the pace for my running log. For instance, yesterday, I ran 4.6 miles. The first mile was something like 9:05; the 2nd was about 8:55; then I didn’t look at my watch again until I finished. My average pace for the whole run was 8:26 which means that I ran the last 2.6 miles at an average pace of 8:06. I suspect most non-elite runners would have similar stories.

    I’m neither a coach nor a trainer but my advice is to work toward running the whole 5 miles and I think your pace will take care of itself.

Leave a Reply

