Skip to content

Fun Hilly Run With A Funny Friend..

April 25, 2009

1233043000553

We had 2 loops planned.  Here is what I promised Samantha.  No looking at Seth over and over again AND no stopping.  Umm, well I will say this.  I did not look at Seth until 1 mile passed.  I did not stop until 3 miles passed.  Did I accomplish what I set out to do and what I promised I wouldn’t do?  Yes and No.  

2 loops of Prospect Park is 6.6 miles.  I just could not get it done.  I couldn’t really blame it on the warm weather because it was actually quite pleasant during the run.  I am not even sure I can blame it on the hills because I really think I could have pushed though, but somehow I couldn’t and didn’t.  

My breathing seemed labored too.  This concerns me.  

We did get to meet up with Chris who had ran from his house to the park 1.7 miles.  We had a nice chat (too short) and then started running.  He was a bit ahead of us and that was totally cool.  Looking good Chris.  At about 1/2 mile he has to stop for a bit, so we kept on.  

During the really hilly section, I found myself cursing under my breathe.  Like FUCK YOU MICHELLE!   What the FUCK do you think you are doing?  Then mercifully Samantha pulls me out of that horrible mind grape and said to me “Wanna hear something sad, but funny?”   And I’m all like “YES PLEASE”.  So, she said that for the last two days, she wasn’t thinking about the upcoming run, she was thinking about the bagel she would be eating post run.  What the what???   Are you cereal??  

She was.  She was cereal and I then realized we were a match made in heaven.  Who cares about the run??  It is all about the bagel afterwards.

We tried to negative split but came up 11 seconds short.   No biggie.  We are on to bigger and better things!!  All in all a fun hilly run with a funny friend!

Split
Total Time
Total Distance
Elevation Gain
Elevation Loss
Average Speed
Max Speed
Average Heart Rate
Max Heart Rate
Summary 01:03:56 6.00 1,413 1,482 10:39 07:10 161 161
1 00:31:52 3.00 864 888 10:38 07:10 161 161
2 00:32:03 3.00 549 595 10:40 08:13 161 161

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2009 11:20 pm

    Both halves were pretty consistent. Sweet.

    That reminds me, I don’t have any cream cheese.

  2. April 26, 2009 1:31 am

    those fun runs are the best, great job!

  3. April 26, 2009 1:53 am

    you are running fairly even. wish i could do that!

  4. April 26, 2009 3:24 am

    Nice run, Michelle!

  5. April 26, 2009 10:55 am

    Running with friends is great! I did about 5 miles of my long run yesterday with strangers I just met … and enjoyed chating with them the whole way!
    Great Run!

  6. April 27, 2009 1:50 am

    Not bad at all. Wish I could do that.

  7. April 27, 2009 11:49 am

    Glad you had a good run. I am glad I am not alone. I do think about having bagel with peanut butter frequently at the end of my run.

  8. April 27, 2009 3:05 pm

    It IS all abotu the bagel afterward 🙂

  9. April 28, 2009 5:07 pm

    Don’t get down on yourself. You’re still only a few weeks back into it. It’ll come back.

    You are really consistent during the miles that you are getting in which is really really good!!

    Besides, hilly runs are supposed to suck, right?!

Leave a Reply

