Skip to content

14 Weeks Today…

April 29, 2009

dsc01905

You can see it in my face!  I am getting ready for my morning run.  I think I was searching for my running kicks.  I guess I thought they were on the bed.  I am pretty sure it was an awesome run.  I think I got in a good 30 seconds of running that day!  

So, today marks 14 weeks since I broke my TOE!  Yeah, you all know that crazy ass Michelle that broke her TOE and became a expert at couch potatoing!!  That would be me!  3 1/2 months  ago.  Seems like just yesterday.  So, I’d like to reminisce a bit.  Come with me, won’t you?

January 21, 2009  – Michelle kicks door (long story) and breaks big TOE right foot.  OUCH!!!

January 22nd, 2009 – Broken TOE confirmed by Dr. TOE!  He said 4-6 weeks.  He lied.  

dsc01544

January 23rd, 2009 – Michelle sits on couch with her laptop and snacks and doesn’t move for 10 weeks.  Ass grows bigger and bigger.  Couch has nice indent of Michelle’s ass so that when Michelle does move and then comes back, she fits in nicely.  Her ass that is.  

Feb – doctor – xray – xray – doctor – ultrasound machine – doctor – xray – couch – snacks – cursing – walking – running – getting yelled at – xray

dsc01766

March 31st, 2009 – Dr TOE says RUN ON MICHELLE!!!!   Michelle claps and runs.

End of story.  

Thank you for coming with me down memory lane.  

Then of course you have the dreaded but cool looking blister!

dsc017791

Which turned out to be a cool blood blister.  Blood baby!!   So, I let it be.  I decided not to pop it for fear it would get all over my running socks.  Can’t have now can we!!

dsc00281

Where did the blood go?  I fear some of it got on my dry max socks.  Just a little bit, its almost pink.  I will leave it as a sign of courage and determination.   By the way, I sent this photo over to Christie and she was pleasantly surprised at seeing this beauty.  I think she told me she may print out the photo and keep it with her on her runs.  You know, for motivation and stuff.

What’s that?  You want to hear about my running?  Well, OK!  It is going ok.  After Saturdays run in the hilly park with my funny running friend I took the next day off.  Yeah, so?  

I ran Mon-Tues-Wed.  Tomorrow another hilly park run with funny friend.  Friday I will take off.  Yeah, so?

I am having some annoying unwanted right shin pain.  I must stretch and lubricate and oil my body.  I must keep my body in perfect running order.  I must.  :O)

Todays stats:

April 29, 2009  3.1 miles 32.48  10.33 min/mile   369 calories burned

Just as a comparison and because I want to tell you:

November 23, 2008  3.1 miles  27.55  8.59 min/mile  366 calories burned

Just goes to show you – DO NOT KICK A DOOR – BREAK YOUR TOE – NOT RUN FOR 10 WEEKS!

Michelle, it’s so ridiculously, yet painfully simple, that you’re going to have a knock-down, hair-pulling, tongue-twisting, feet-stomping, baby-pouting, screaming fit (this happens all the time here), when you see that all you truly ever had to do to get heaven and earth to shake, rattle, and roll, was hold in your mind what you wanted, feel its emotional reality, and behave as if you already had it.

Just thought I’d warn you. 

Affectionately, 
    The Universe

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2009 7:51 pm

    It is against my principals to kick the door… unless it deserves it… there 🙂

  2. April 29, 2009 10:56 pm

    Girl, you crack me up! No matter how hard you try, you can’t out-couch potato me. I’m the Queen.

  3. michjoy61 permalink*
    April 29, 2009 10:59 pm

    No Christie! Do you have your ass imprint in your sofa?? Didn’t think so!!!

  4. April 30, 2009 1:27 am

    Great post, Michelle!

  5. April 30, 2009 2:16 am

    will remember your advice about the door.

  6. April 30, 2009 1:10 pm

    I cannot recall the last time I kicked the door. Probably back in college days !!! Terrific post !!! Now, how many more days tilll Brooklyn Half ???

  7. May 1, 2009 9:29 pm

    Psh, if any door comes talking smack to me, they better expect to get kicked – running times be damned! 🙂

    I laughed about your ass comment. 🙂 “Michelle didn’t move for 10 weeks”. Sounds like you are moving a lot now!!!

  8. May 1, 2009 9:35 pm

    do not kick door. okay. got it!

  9. May 3, 2009 11:09 pm

    Sorry for the shin pain — and just when you were back to running after the toe fiasco. I’m not a doc nor a trainer, but I’d guess your shin is just complaining about having to run again after 10 weeks of relative rest.

Leave a Reply

