Skip to content

It Is Not Over – Until The Skinny Lady Runs…

May 5, 2009

fridgedoor_2051_545502088

Am I enjoying the ride right now?  NOPE!  Not one bit.  

You guys know me.  I try very hard to be positive and optimistic and all that crap.  You endured my shit for 10 weeks while I ranted on and on about my broken TOE!  You listened and supported me.  Made me giggle and happy.  You saw my ugly TOE and xrays and heard it all.  My couch potato adventures were the bane of my existence for 10 weeks.  10 weeks folks.

So imagine my pleasure when I was finally given the go-ahead to run.  It is all I wanted to hear and do for 10 weeks.  I was ecstatic for a while.  Registered for races and met some cool running peeps.  I ran too.  Some great runs, some sucky runs.  But, I was running.  I was in the zone.  So what, I was running 10 minute miles.  Who cares really?  Well, I do but I digress.  

With the blink of an eye and the snap of your fingers it can all be taken away from you.  Oh snap YO!  That is what I said and here is what it means:

1. what you say when something happens that you didn’t expect to happen and you are shocked beyond belief and comparison and you have to say something so other people know how shocked you are 

Now I am all for rest days and shit but this has to stop.  I ran 3 times in Prospect Park AKA HILL RUNS.  This is the only thing I’ve done differently since I’ve been back at it.  3 runs. 

The pain started really innocently.  Just a bit of pain in my right shin.  I thought OK no biggie.  Just a fluke.  Not to worry.  It’s all good.  So, I did what any “runner” would do.  I kept on running.  ON IT!  On the shin that had some pain.  

I had a Prospect Park 2 loop hilly run coming up.  I really wanted this run under my jello tummy.  Ooops I mean belt.  Well its not like I wear a belt but the proverbial belt ya know?  I met up with Samantha and we entered the park.  It was 6pm, not my usual running time.  But thats not the point either.  I did stretch before the run.  A little.  Ok a second.  

We got going.  We said to each other we wouldn’t stop until the 2 loops (6.6 miles) were done.  I remember saying it and thinking it and even knowing it.  

I felt the pain immediately but after 20 minutes of running the pain subsided as pain often does.  I guess its the proverbial endorphins kicking in huh?  We got loop #1 done.  35.58.  I stopped and could not run another step.  Mentally I was spent.  I urged Samantha on and yelled to get it done.  I walked and a sad sight I must have been.  Sweaty, sad, lost, scared, confused.  Also I wanted icecream.  My walking turned into slow running for about 20 minutes and the hill I saw looming grounded me to a halt once again.  By now, it was almost getting dark and I was in an unfamiliar park by myself.  I knew I had to get back to Samantha.  So, once again I ran.  I passed one woman.  WOO!!  Then she passed me.  WOO BACK!

Ok, I see I am dragging this out.  I got loop #2 done with 20 min and then 10.02 min.  30.02 but i stopped Seth when I was walking.  Yeah so I cheated.   BUT, SETH was not cooperating with me.   The GPS was turned off.  I had forgot.  The mileage was not recorded.   It is really almost as if the run never happened.  

It did.  Samantha rocked it out too.  GOOD FOR HER!!  Not only is she funny, but that chick can run!!

Right now, I am having to have an MRI!  Here is what I was told what it could be:

Anterior tibial tendonitis which is a fancy term for shin splints.

I also feel this crepitus which is very freaky and annoying and scary.   It is so insane what happens to your body under stress ya know?  INSANE I TELL YOU!!

I feel frustrated and unhappy but I need to put this out there.  Here is what I wrote on my most recent facebook status: 

I may have anterior tibial tendonitis which is a fancy term for shin splits. I also have crepitus which is so annoying. Picture your shin grating and crackling every time you move it. NOT FUN! But hear this now – I AM RUNNING BROOKLYN HALF MARATHON WITH TED!! TED? NO GUILT!! NO QUITTING!! RUN ON!!

dsc01882

It doesn’t get any purer than that does it?  I know exactly what I am dreaming in that photo?  Can you guess??

A dear friend told this to me today:

1. When its over its over

2. When it begins is always the right time

3. Whatever i did today is exactly what needed to be done

4. Who ever shows up are exactly the right people.

Please give me a WOO or TWO!!!!

I also really want to congratulate Christie on a fabulous first race 10 miler.  She rocked that sucker.  I am very proud of you Christie.  And I am glad you listened to me and took before and after photos.  Go read her report and give her some props.  RUN ON RUNNING SISTA!!!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2009 1:30 am

    Hope the MRI turns out good!
    I can’t imagine being on the shelf as long as you have been this year.

  2. May 5, 2009 1:53 am

    take it easy on yourself… hate to say it, but maybe too much too soon? I know you *think* you’ve lost speed, but does it matter to you that much? I know you’re frustrated, I would be too.

    I hope that the MRI turns out well, and that a few rest days is all you need, but if you ‘enjoy’ running, work on staying injury free than being a speedster. Your body will appreciate it. Sorry if it sounds harsh or cold; it’s not meant to. But after the year I had last year, with one injury after another, I decided that I could care less about pace. Why? Will I make any money with running? NEVER. Will my finishers medal be the same as all the other people in front of me, HELL YES. Would I rather be running than in an air cast watching other runners happily pounding out the miles… OBVIOUSLY. Be proud of your accomplishments, and do what YOU can do, not what you can’t.

  3. May 5, 2009 2:04 am

    Mel is so wise. 🙂

    Celebrate what you CAN do. Running in and of itself is a gift and an accomplishment. How fast, how slow…really is nothing compared to being able to get out there.

    And always reamember – You Rock, sista!

  4. michjoy61 permalink*
    May 5, 2009 2:07 am

    Yes indeed it is all about what you CAN DO!!! I seem to dwell on the wrong things, but I am learning slowly.

    I just hope this setback is quick.

    You guys rock I love you all!!

  5. May 5, 2009 3:13 am

    Thanks for the shout out girl. Take it easy. And make ice your best friend. I just hope its not as bad as you think it is. Hang in there.

  6. May 5, 2009 11:35 am

    gah! Stooopid shins… Sometimes its hard when the table is turned to focus as hard on getting better as we did running. You got this!! Heal up nicely, and fast, and get ready for that HM 🙂

  7. May 5, 2009 1:56 pm

    Yo sista… I know setback is a real pain in the you know what. It is imperative that you maintain a strong mentality. Hope the MRI turn out good ! Rest well and ice that up baby… Before you know it, you will be back to running. Stay strong dudette !!!

  8. May 5, 2009 6:31 pm

    I’ve run myself into injury several times by not listening to my body and all I can say is take care of yourself and (fully) recover before pushing yourself too far. I really hope the MRI reveals something minor and your back fast.

    Great Blog (by the way).

    All the best,

    Ron

  9. May 5, 2009 10:16 pm

    Ouch. Shin splints are the worst. Hopefully the MRI just says that you need a few weeks off and you’ll be back to normal!

    Ice ice ice. That is the only thing that even remotely helped mine. I tried to run through them too… not good, not good… Us runners are a stubborn bunch!

  10. May 6, 2009 12:35 am

    Take care out there and hope the MRI gives you some answers soon. The thing about a big layoff is it’s easy to hurt yourself coming back. It could be too much too fast or it could be some weird thing out of nowhere… just listen to the doctor! 🙂

  11. May 6, 2009 2:25 pm

    I’m with Adam! Ice, ice baby!! Hopefully you’ll heal up soon chica! We want you back in top form 🙂

Leave a Reply

