Skip to content

Foto Friday…

May 8, 2009

DSC00017

It seems as though spring has sprung in my “hood”.  This is a Brooklyn sidewalk and all I see is green.  Well, green and people.  Not green people, folks.  Get with the program. It kinda overwhelmed me for a second.  In a great way.  The smell was pure “green”.  Made me have a spring in my step for about 3.2 seconds.   Then I was all like dude so what?  It is just some bushes and stuff.  

DSC00023

This is where the Brooklyn Half Marathon is run.  Well, part of it.  A lot of it.  This is towards the end heading towards my boardwalk.  YES MY BOARDWALK.  I own it.  I love it so that makes me part owner.  Anyway, this is Ocean Parkway.  This street will be closed to cars when us runners will be running down it or up it or on it.  

DSC00015

This is a secret trail in Prospect Park.  I say its secret because it is sort of hidden and I am thinking that if I ever turned down to run on this trail, I would be lost inside of it forever.  Or until somebody rescues me.  Unless, I decided to live in the trail and set up my own community of lost runners.  We would have plenty of food by foraging the greens and making nice salads.  No salad dressing of course because we are lost in the trail but it would still taste good because I would find some mint and basil and make a pretend pesto without the garlic and pine nuts of course because we are lost in the trail.  

I am still an MRI ALIEN MICHELLE OR MRIAM for short.

I am on the injured list once again.  What else is new?  It is my tibia shin area stress fracture shin splint edema.  You can call it TSASFSSE for short.  Don’t worry I won’t ask you to pronounce that word.  I can’t either.

I must rest it and ice it and lightly stretch it.  You know, all the things I wasn’t doing before, is what I should be doing now.  

BROOKLYN HALF MARATHON – MAY 30th.  I am not counting myself out just yet.  As I told Samantha, if I say I am not running it then it is real.  If I think perhaps I may be able to, then that is my real.  You know the mental games us runners play right?  Today, I am playing that game.  If anybody wants to join me that would be cool.

In other news, Seth is being used and taken good care of.  I felt it was time to let him go for a bit.  Just a bit.  When I am back he is back.  He was really itching to get out there.  He is in good hands.

The Universe told me today:

It’s not what’s happening around you, Michelle, that determines your health, finances, or hotness, but what’s happening inside of you – exclusively.

 

You hottie, 
    The Universe

Yeah, I am kinda hot now that I think about it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 8, 2009 7:56 pm

    Never been to NYC so I hope to see this incredible city if/when I get picked to run the Marathon (this is my second year in the Lottery). Love the “greenness” of it all. I wanted to recommend Jeff Galloway’s run/walk program for you during the recovery phase and maybe even for the 1/2 marathon. He has some great advice and has help a bunch of people avoid injury (little late for that now, I know). Google him and see what he has to say. The sooner you recover the sooner you can enjoy being outside in good weather.

    Any luck with Ace Frehley?

    Take care!

  2. michjoy61 permalink*
    May 8, 2009 10:46 pm

    HeyI am definitely interested in checking out Jeff Galloway’s run/walk
    program! I think it will do me good!!

    It would be so cool if you get into the NYC Marathon! GOOD LUCK! I will
    keep my fingers crossed. I am in the lottery too but I think with the way
    things are going, I am going to bow out if I do indeed get picked.

    No luck yet with Ace, I am working on it!!

  3. May 8, 2009 11:23 pm

    You should get some of those bouncy boots. That’d be fun to stroll down those trails in for a while 🙂

  4. May 8, 2009 11:39 pm

    I am so sorry to hear that you are having a setback. No fun. Most importantly, rest well, ice well and eat well. Love the pictures. At least, I get some idea where the Brooklyn Half Marathon would be like. I do hope you recover faster.

Leave a Reply

