Skip to content

A Dear Legs Letter…

May 19, 2009

Photo 238

DSC01343

Dear Legs,

I see it’s been a while since I wrote to you.  I apologize.  I have been busy trying to heal you up so you can, you know enable me to run on you.  Yep.  Since January dude.  It has not been easy.  Not at all.  In fact, you fought me every step of the way and continue to fight me even now.

Why?  Summertime is practically here and all I want to be able to do is to run on you.  Perhaps, complete a few races in good times and live to blog about it.  

Ok, I admit the TOE was my fault.  It was.  BUT LEGS why did it take so very long for that TOE to heal up?  Would it have been hard for you to heal TOE up in 1 months time?  WHY on why 4 months??  The shin.  NOT MY FAULT.  Well perhaps just a little.  NO NOT EVEN A LITTLE.  

Dude, I am training for a half marathon and I needed to get the hilly loops of Prospect Park done.  Yeah, DONE!  I ran the hills and the hills hit the shins hard, but LEGS you could have just overlooked that and let me be.  Perhaps, you were tired that day?  I pushed you too hard?  You have to talk it out bitch.  I am here, I hear you and will listen.  BUT, I won’t listen when I have to have xray after xray and scary MRI’s.  FOR WHAT??  

Now the thighs are giving me aggravation.  It was pointed out to me LEGS that my pains are moving upward.  So, does that mean that soon LEGS will be free and will allow me the pleasure of running??  Gosh, I sure hope so LEGS?  Think about it.  Long and hard.  Summertime is here.  The weather is sensational most days.  LEGS, where do you want to be?  Perched vicariously on the couch never in a comfy position with a laptop always on top of you OR outside in the sunshine with cool breezes coming off the ocean, gently massaging you?

Sure, you may want to take the easy way out and not WORK but dude, this is my body, my summertime and my running.  NOT YOURS.  I own you dude.  Think about that bitch.  And I am calling you bitch in the best possible way.  

So, LEGS please be good to me this summertime.  I promise once the races are over, I will give you a break and just run.  No hilly hills or 10 milers.  None of that.  Just running because really, LEGS  – what else is there??

Love 

Michelle

Todays run:

4 miles – 41.48  Last mile 9.45 I’ll take it.  

 

 

 

 

Just up on my boardwalk.  Slow and steady.  

At this moment in time I so want the Brooklyn Half Marathon to be upon me.  TAKE ME.  I have no time goal but I want to finish the race in a respectable time.  The hills in Prospect Park are vicious and hilly and mean to me.  I do not like mean.  Mean sucks.  It’s not like they are even nice hills.  I’ve met nice hills.  I have TED with me though and in all honestly TED is going to help me.  Just by him being there running it by my side, I know in my heart I will finish it.  :O)

I want to take this opportunity to wish TED really really good luck this coming Sunday.  He is running Vermont City Marathon and I know he is going to rock that sucker out.  RUN ON BRO!!!

I really want to hug it out bitch with my LEGS.  Not sure I can though, I am not yet very flexible.  

Oxymoron_1680

 

 
11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2009 8:39 pm

    this is awesome! I’d write a letter to my legs, but they can’t read. Sad, really.

  2. May 19, 2009 9:37 pm

    cool letter!
    Good luck in the 1/2 & I too hope Ted rocks this Sunday!

  3. May 19, 2009 11:33 pm

    Great post! I hope the legs begin cooperating with you!

  4. May 20, 2009 12:40 am

    Terrific post !!! Hey sista.. THANKS SO MUCH FOR THE SHOUTOUT. Much needed. Thanks so much !!!

  5. May 20, 2009 2:15 am

    can you postmark that letter to my legs too please. LOL

  6. May 20, 2009 12:14 pm

    Your thighs might be hurting because you are compensating for your shin, but agree. Make dem legs get with the dayum program….

  7. May 21, 2009 12:16 am

    I’ve written letters to my feet, my stomach, Mother Nature … they never listen. I hope they listen. Maybe your legs and my feet need to have a talk.

  8. May 21, 2009 12:58 am

    You tell those legs who is boss!

    You’re going to rock the Brooklyn 1/2. I can feel it. You will!

  9. michjoy61 permalink*
    May 21, 2009 1:16 am

    Thank you Adam, I sure hope so!!

  10. May 21, 2009 11:13 pm

    Very well said.

  11. May 23, 2009 9:43 pm

    (John at Hella Sound): Maybe your legs would listen to a podcast.

    Michelle — I hate to hear that you’re still having trouble with nagging pains. I hope it all goes away by mid-week.

    My hamstring decided to remind me that they weren’t happy this week. I had to stop at mile 3 on Tuesday, then couldn’t run on Wednesday. I was able to dial it back to a slower pace on Thursday, Friday, and today and I’m back to ache/pain of 2 on a scale of 1-10. I see the Doc again on Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

