Skip to content

I Ran A Marathon Minus 13.1 miles….

May 31, 2009

I like to listen to my ipod for a bit before I drift off to sleep.  Last night as I crawled into bed and put my ipod on,  the song Hallelujah was the 1st song to play.  Hallelujah’ is considered the most joyful word of praise to God.  I am not a religious person but as that song was playing – I let my mind finally rest and the tears came.  This day was great in so many ways.  I finished the Brooklyn Half Marathon.

Blisters – Check

Soreness – Check

Happy – Double Check

Ted arrived bright and early to my house and got himself ready.  Sunblock and powerbars and all sorts of pre-race goodness.  I was struggling to put my race bib on.  Yeah, I am that dorky.  We left at 6.30am and met up with Samantha and we were on our way to the subway to ride to Prospect Park.  It was a glorious day the sun was shining and on the train were other runners nervously awaiting the stop to the park.  Ok, I have no idea if they were nervous but let’s just go with it for the sake of this story.  So, of course once we left the train and I saw the park looming I needed to use the restroom.  Cool, there is a nice muffin place across the street so I ran over to use the restroom only to see a line up of other runners waiting.  Here are the questions I was asked on the line:  “So, are there hills in Prospect Park’?  Ummm, like yeah!!!  “Is this a walking race”?  Ummm, like no!!!  Oh and as I was departing “Is it clean in there?”  Yikes.

We then walked over to the starting area.  It was a bit of a walk but it felt good to keep moving.  The lines for the porta potty was incredibly long.  

DSCN0492

I am standing a bit off to the side in purple shorts and white hat.

DSCN0487

Samantha – Michelle – Ted before the start.

After going potty it was no time before the race horn blew and we snuck into the corrals and starting moving.  Ooops I mean running.  I started Seth and we were off.  I don’t think I can write a mile by mile report but I think I ran about 3 miles before the first gatorade/water stop.  I sure needed that break to gulp down those liquids.  I was sooo hot and thirsty and drank a full cup of both gatorade and water.  Resume running.  Unfortunately at about mile 4 we lost Samantha.  Don’t worry we found her later in the day.  But, I was happy that she found her stride and ran an amazing race.  More on that later.

Prospect park, while beautiful and dazzling to run in, was for me the hardest part of the race.  I am not a hill runner.  I could be – but right now I hate those hills with a passion.  They suck.  They are mean and relentless.  I gave the hills the finger and Ted thought that was hilarious.  I meant it.  I would give them the finger again.  And again.  We were in that park for 7 miles of the race.  It was never ending.  

Once out of the park we entered Ocean Parkway which is about a 5 mile stretch of flat running.  Perhaps a slight incline but no big hills at all.  It was really hot and sunny at this point and there was some sort of misting station at miles 8 and 10 and I ran right in front of it to get wet.  It felt awesome.  

DSCN0515

Here I am running towards the water.  RUN MICHELLE RUN to the water.  

I stopped running at mile 6 to walk, mile 9 to walk, mile 11, three walking breaks that were way too long IMHO.  This concerns me.  That I feel the need to stop.  Why can’t I just keep running?  Why?  I need to get over that.  

I do remember feeling really tired in my legs.  At some points I felt I couldn’t run another step and that I would never finish the 13.1 miles.  I was plotting in my mind where I could perhaps find a bus stop but then also realized I did not have money with me and then realized that if I did take a bus home – I would not be able to write this race report and fuck that I was going to finish no matter what.  Ted is an amazing man.  Full of enthusiasm for the love of running.  He runs like a gazelle.  Very beautiful stride makes it look easy.  He won’t admit it, but I know he was wanting to finish the thing.  He was so nice to stay with me the whole way.  He took tons of photos and kept telling me how many miles we had left.  I think at one point he said we have 2 miles and 3/10th.  I was like huh?  What does that mean?  When I run my math skills disappear.  And yes, I do have mad math skills.  

DSCN0495

Cool photo of the start.  Those runners are pretty darn speedy.

DSCN0528

Finally, we headed towards my boardwalk.  Yes, remember I am part owner because I love it.  I saw it up ahead and thought to myself “YES, the end is near”….Up the ramp to the boardwalk.  The finish line was way in the distance.  I saw it but it seemed to keep on moving further back.  Every time I thought I was near, it was gone.  Then back.  I just kept on moving.   I knew my sister would be at the finish line waiting to take some photos and give me a high five.  I MADE IT.  I crossed the finish line.  I sooo wanted a sub 2.30 or at least a 2.30.  Crossed the line in 2.40.18.  Those darn walking breaks!!

I am happy and fine with my time because finishing is the respectable time.  Or as a friend said: 

signing up is respectable, showing up is respectable, starting is respectable., finishing is awesome!!

Ted says:

Most importantly, enjoy your run. Run is supposed to be enjoyable. Don’t take your frustration with your run. If you are going to be frustrated with your run, you are not going to enjoy it. Take the frustration out. Like I said “I live to run and run to live”. I just love running. You could see that I was chasing and taking pictures. I was enjoying it. If you inject love into your running, you would be running wild like I did yesterday. 

He does run wild.  But in a good cool kinda way.  Like he just loves it so.  

I did not beat anybody.  I was beat.  

Samantha finished in a blistering 2.26.21  AWESOME!!

My buddy Chris finished in awesome time 2.34.18

Ted and I in 2.40.18.

We had fun after too.  We all met for a nice lunch on the boardwalk.  Christie joined us.  She was going to run but was nursing a (vodka) injury and made the right decision to not run the Half.  THIS TIME……We all toasted each other with ice cold vodka.  I think I got drunk.  I think we all got drunk.  A little!!!  :O)

DSCN0539

I had an awesome day.  One that I will always remember.  And best of all while yes today I am sore in places I never knew existed – it is a GOOD SORE.  No injuries during the race or after.  My toe is awesome.  My shin feels no pain.  I am ready to rock and roll!!!

Thank you my buddy TED!!  You are an awesome person.  Thank you Samantha for your company during those hilly runs in the park.  Thanks sista for being there.  Thanks Christie for making me laugh!!

23 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2009 2:42 pm

    AWESOME race! Walk breaks are becoming very common – people are finding that it actually HELPS your time – don’t feel like it was a BAD thing. I wish I had water to run through on my long runs. I get SO hot.

    Congrats! again!

    Gina

    PS: Love the purple shorts – I need purple!

  2. May 31, 2009 2:58 pm

    Well done… you should feel nothing but pride. Glad you got to run with Ted too 🙂 Congrats!

  3. May 31, 2009 3:03 pm

    Nice blog! Nice race. Don’t be afraid of the walk breaks. They are fine. You might think they slowed you down, but in fact you probably would have had a slower time if you hadn’t taken them. My fastest marathon (out of 4) I got by taking walk breaks at every mile at the water tables. This let me run faster in between. My 2nd fastest marathon I got also with walk breaks.

  4. May 31, 2009 3:40 pm

    Race reports always make me cry, especially when someone runs a great ‘first’! Congrats! I’d love to run with you when I get back to NYC someday…

  5. May 31, 2009 3:51 pm

    Yo Michelle…. I had a blast! Terrific post-race report. I have enjoyed it every minute of it. I think the vodka part really nailed me right down to the boardwalk. I just love the sound of Christie’s laughter. It was a terrific way to wind down after a good long run. Christie made it all the merrier for all of us. Kudos to you for getting the job done. Let me know when you want to do another run. I will be gladly to join you again.

    (((((Hugs)))))

    Ted

  6. May 31, 2009 4:19 pm

    Hoooray, you did it!!

    Why are you concerned about taking walk breaks? Nothing at all wrong with that. 🙂

  7. Big B permalink
    May 31, 2009 4:52 pm

    Awesome job!! Sounds like a tough course but you had some great support! I smell 26.2 in your future 🙂

  8. May 31, 2009 6:23 pm

    Congrats!!

  9. May 31, 2009 7:12 pm

    Happy – Double Check!! That’s the most important part. I’m glad you did it. And I’m glad Ted was there with you. I wish I could have run it too. Too bad Ted isn’t a girl so he could run with us next weekend. Oh well. Maybe another time we’ll all get to run together. Luckily, we got to hang for the post-race activities. That was a good time!

  10. June 1, 2009 12:04 am

    In response to Christie’s message… Shall I put the bra on so that it sticks out and apply some makeups so I can run with all of you next weekend??? Hmmm.. Does this sounds like Tootsie going out for a run kind of thing?

  11. June 1, 2009 2:37 am

    Michelle, that is AWESOME that you knocked out that 13 miler (and then knocked back a few)!

    Congrats on the race! Yo go girl!!

    Loves!

  12. June 1, 2009 2:45 am

    congrats!!! great report 🙂 way to tough it out so you could tell us all about it. it’s hard to run when it’s hot out and the sun is beating down on you, but that misting station looks amazing! congrats again

  13. June 1, 2009 3:19 am

    Congrats! Way to finish strong!

    I totally can’t do math when I run either. But I also do not have mad math skills.

  14. June 1, 2009 2:24 pm

    Woo-hoo!! Sounds like you had an AMAZING race!! I’m bummed I bailed, but there’s always the next one! I’m running the womens 10k next weekend in central park, and of course the NYC half…hopefully we can all meet up!!

  15. June 1, 2009 3:56 pm

    CONGRATS CHICA!!! Sounds like a fabulous time and you’re so lucky to have met and ran with all those very cool Bloggy peeps

  16. June 1, 2009 5:11 pm

    AWESOME!!!! CONGRATS! So happy you are injury free, and what an awesome accomplishment! GREAT JOB!

  17. June 2, 2009 4:32 pm

    Congratulations! I am glad your toe healed well enough for you to run. I know this was important to you. I am proud of you for doing it!

  18. June 2, 2009 10:49 pm

    You have such a great attitude! Running is really fun and I love it too 🙂

  19. June 3, 2009 2:46 am

    That is GREAT!!!! Walking during races like that isn’t a big deal at all. In fact, 6,9,11 seems pretty consistant to me. I LOVE the quote “signing up is respectable, showing up is respectable, starting is respectable., finishing is awesome!!” That is SOOOOO true.

    Post race vodka HAS to be the best recovery drink of all! Nice work! You DID rock it’s face off!

  20. June 3, 2009 2:50 am

    BTW, totally the first blog I read 🙂

  21. June 3, 2009 12:47 pm

    Well done! If you are happy, I am happy 🙂

  22. December 18, 2009 1:03 am

    итак: прелестно..

Trackbacks

  1. Race Report Round Up: Brooklyn Half Marathon | The NYC Running Blog

Leave a Reply

