Skip to content

Now What?

June 3, 2009

 

National Running Day

Well, sure.  But, to me – everyday is a running day.  Unless of course, it’s a rest day.  Still, its great.  Join us as we take strides as a nation towards healthier, fitter lives. 

I wonder, now that the Brooklyn Half Marathon has been run and is all over, what shall this blog become?  What shall I talk about?  Will my running become mundane and boring to talk about here?  Will my quest for speed put even the fastest of runners, to sleep?

I am still thinking about the half marathon.  It was a wonderful day full of love and laughter and support.  My friends became friends with each other.  The connections were immediate and will be long lasting.  Running does that.  Even my sister, the golfer/tennis player had a blast and said we were all just so “cool”.  Runners are like that.  Runners are cool.  Runners are like that.

I just fear my posts to become something boring and typical.  Sure, I need to talk about my running.  My stats.  My mile splits.  I need to do that here.  Document it.  Make it real and lasting.  

I am planning on some cool guest posts here.  Stay tuned for that.

I took the day after the Half Marathon off from running.  I awoke hurting all over.  And I mean all over.  My ribs, my shoulder blades, my thighs, my biceps, yeah WTF?  Like I lifted weights or something.  So, I did what every runner does after a race.  I walked.  Ok, well that is what this runner does.  I walked 3 miles.  Sure, I tried to run but my legs screamed FUCK YOU and then my cell phone rang so I was saved.  By the bell, I guess.

Monday’s run:

4 miles 41.22

Splits

 

1 00:10:14 1.00 38 55 10:14 09:18 93
2 00:10:46 1.00 52 74 10:46 09:43 97
3 00:10:40 1.00 150 151 10:40 08:09 95
4 00:09:40 1.00 54 19 09:41 08:03 93

Consistent but not as fast as I’d like it to be.   Again, I am not complaining.  Nor will I ever complain.  Well, perhaps if my blood blister makes another appearance.  Or perhaps if I run out of body glide or vitamin water or stuff to say here.  Then maybe a complaint or three.

Tomorrow will be kinda cool.  Unless, there are thunder storms.  Otherwise, I will be meeting up with Chris to ride over to Central Park for a group run hosted by Deena Kastor.  It’s National Running Day, after all.  If anybody is in the NYC area, come by and say hello and run!  

“Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore!”

 

 

 


10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2009 2:38 am

    Well, look you’ve inspired me to start running! Okay, really walking and jogging to start. I started earlier in the winter and then just crawled back under the covers. No excuse this time. I’ll let you know how it goes tomorrow!

  2. June 3, 2009 3:59 am

    Thanks for popping by my blog, I’m so looking forward to reading more of yours. I don’t imagine a running blog could ever get boring – there’s always a new race to train for and a new goal to be had. The thing I love about running blogs is the sharing of advice, encouragement and watching people achieve their dreams! And look, you’ve inspired Pop and Ice! How cool is that?

  3. June 3, 2009 7:07 am

    Dontcha love that soreness? It’s like an extra finisher’s medal, a minute-by-minute reminder that you just did something super-hardcore. Congrats on the half finish, and have fun with Deena Kastor!

  4. June 3, 2009 12:16 pm

    It’s national running day!! Woot!!

  5. June 3, 2009 12:25 pm

    happy running day! 🙂

  6. June 3, 2009 12:47 pm

    Yup. Must run today. I’d like to run behind errr with Deena Kastor 🙂

  7. June 3, 2009 3:15 pm

    Happy Running Day! Have fun w/ Deena 🙂

    I always wonder what I will blog about when I’m not training for a race. Sometimes I fall out of it but then there ends up being something to talk about 🙂

  8. June 3, 2009 11:04 pm

    Enjoy a week of recovery, then worry about what’s next. Pick a race late summer/early fall and then go for it. Travel south to the Rock ‘n’ Roll Half!

  9. June 4, 2009 2:10 am

    yeah i think i would’ve stayed in bed! hopefully the walk helped jumpstart the healing process in your muscles. i almost always have post-race soreness, even after 5k’s, so it sounds normal to me?

    what do you mean you don’t know what to talk about? you haven’t been bitten? you haven’t signed up for 12 more races already? 😉 what’s next!

  10. June 4, 2009 3:15 am

    Being sore is awesome! That is how you know that you gave it your all.

    Runners ARE cool. I know that we both are! 🙂

Leave a Reply

