Skip to content

100% Possible..

June 16, 2009

b1fe7badd2195a3489f150dcf3a7d5cc

Ordinary people believe only in the possible. Extraordinary people visualize not what is possible or probable, but rather what is impossible. And by visualizing the impossible, they begin to see it as possible. Cherie Carter-Scott

I am by no means, extraordinary.  I just believe.  

Since January 21st of this year when I broke that dang TOE of mine, most if not all of my running confidence flew out the window!  My mojo was gone.  All the hard work I put in the year before came crashing down on my TOE.  It hurt more than the TOE itself.  

No more TOE talk, but I use that as a way of explaining that it took this long – almost 5 months to feel that perhaps I am getting back a bit of my mojo.  My be patient grasshopper mentality does not work in my world of running.  I am way to impatient and I long to see results immediately.  But, I know better and I know that is not the way it happens in running or in anything.  

That old saying that “good things come to those that wait”  is very apropos yet so very annoying don’t you think?  I do think that I think too much and overanalyze everything.  Seth is both a blessing and a curse to me.  I have a love/hate relationship with him.  Would never leave him home yet sometimes I want to rip him off my arm and fling him in the air.  But being he is a GPS I think he would always find his way back to me and the safely of my left wrist.  

I have been happy with my last few runs.  I am running a 5K race in 2 weeks and my goal for that race is to sub 30.  I believe I can do it.  I know I can.  it is 100% possible.  

On Sunday I ran my own 5K and here are the stats:

3.1 miles   30.54   9.56 min/mile

 

1 00:09:52 1.00          
2 00:09:55 1.00          
3 00:10:01 1.00          
4 00:01:05 0.11

Then on Monday I did the exact same mileage only running it 1 min slower.  I call this my caught in the rain 5K.

3.1 miles  31.53    10.15 min/mile

 

1 00:10:24 1.00          
2 00:10:16 1.00          
3 00:10:12 1.00          
4 00:00:59 0.11

And that brings me to today:  My nice 5 miler

5 miles   51.25   10.17 min/mile

Mile 1 10.41 
Mile 2 10.51 
Mile 3 10.18 
Mile 4 9.56 
Mile 5 9.35 

And so it goes.  I am happy with these runs and will feed off of them as I now go into training for the NYC Half Marathon on August 16th.   I am feeling more and more confident that I will run a good race.  I am surrounding myself with only positive energy.  You think you can bring me down?  Just try!!   :O)

For feel good positivity I will leave you with this video of Roger Bannister breaking the 4 minute mile barrier.  May 6th 1954.  Its exciting!! Bannister’s time was 3 min 59.4 s.

Wherever you are, be there totally. If you find your here and now intolerable and it makes you unhappy, you have three options: remove yourself from the situation, change it, or accept it totally.
Eckhart Tolle

 

 

 

 

 

 


13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 16, 2009 7:06 pm

    If you can do a 5K on your own in just over 30 minutes, you can totally run a sub 30 in a race situation. I have no doubt whatsoever that you will make your goal! Just keep an eye on those toes.

  2. June 16, 2009 10:34 pm

    Great job! Yes, “be here now”. Great mantra!

    (Msv1959=Twitter)

  3. June 17, 2009 12:30 am

    two 5k’s so close to your sub-30 goal! the crowd, competition and adrenaline will surely help you find those extra few seconds – you practically did it all alone!

    i am impatient when it comes to seeing running results as well. i am getting better at taking a step back and ‘refocusing’ on the bigger picture so i don’t get too disappointed in myself or caught up in unrealistic expecations.

    for a second there i thought seth was a child 😉 glad he is just a gps!

  4. June 17, 2009 1:17 am

    I like the negative splits in the 5 miler!
    It shows you are bacck on track!

    I know when I couldn’t run for a few weeks back in Dec/Jan, it was a killer! I couldn’t imagine being on the shelf as long as you were.

  5. June 17, 2009 2:23 am

    Nice running and happy thoughts. You CAN do it!

  6. June 17, 2009 2:38 am

    While I am no longer a runner (66 years of bad knees), as the author of “Living an Extraordinary Life” I’m a big fan of anyone with “extraordinary” goals.

    Robert White

  7. June 17, 2009 3:11 am

    Sounds like you are starting to get your mojo back as we speak! I agree w/ Gazzelle – if you can do a sub 30 5K on your own, then I’d be searching for a sub 29 5K @ the race!!!!

  8. June 17, 2009 1:06 pm

    O, the sub-30 is TOTALLY within your grasp, sister!

    I hear you on the injury front! I had tendinitis at the beginning of the year and it seemed to take FOREVER till I could run again, and that first run post-PT absolutely sucked donkey’s, but slowly … slowly … it got better.

    And I too can be impatient, but this kinda taught me, yes BE impatient, because just sittin’ on yer @$$ won’t get you much … but also, perhaps paradoxically, be willing to take the long view at the same time.

    Did I just blow yer mind?

    But I think it helps me when I remember to do both. The little setbacks in the NOW won’t dog you forever … take the long view.

    You’ll get there. The setbacks are temporary.

    Good luck in the 5k, sister!

  9. June 17, 2009 3:34 pm

    You know you are a runner when you talk about Garmin like it’s a person and a really good friend of yours 😉

    Love the positivity, love it!

  10. June 17, 2009 3:34 pm

    I think positivity is a word, haha!

  11. June 17, 2009 11:13 pm

    Hey sista… it is imperative that you treat Seth with ultimate care. If you give him plenty of TLC, you are well within your reach of your goal. I love it when you email me your daily stats. I do notice that you are making NICE improvement. Before you know it, you will get it under 30 min. I am excited about your progress.

  12. June 18, 2009 12:44 am

    Bringing Mo-jo back! Anything IS possible!

  13. June 20, 2009 8:40 pm

    This post sounds like me in so many ways. haha
    I think you are correct by saying that being patient when it comes to running is a faux pas. You gotta grab it “by the horns and wrestle it down and then pulverize it with your fist!” That’s our running!
    Give it hell!

Leave a Reply

