Skip to content

Guest Post – Numero Tres

June 18, 2009

WORK IT!

Continuing the guest posts on my blog I’d like to introduce you to Samantha.  She is a cool running buddy I actually met on facebook.  But get this, we live in the same apartment building, Sam on floor 2 and I on floor 4 and we had never met before nor have we ever seen each other before.  I still sit here scratching my head.  How did I miss Samantha?  She is pretty, funny and a RUNNER??  What up with that yo??   But, I am really glad we connected and became friends.  She is cool, kinda like me!!  So, please check out her very cool guest post right here, right now!!

DSCN0499

#10119  Samantha!

 

So Michelle has been cool enough to give me to honor of guest posting on her blog! Like others, I am not sure what to write about, so I asked Michelle if there were any questions that she had, and she came up with a great list, and I added a few things of my own, too!  

Samantha, 24, Running since July 08′
  

 

What is your motivation to run and do you love it each and every single run even the really hard runs?? I can tell you, I certainly do not love it every run. There were days I was training for the BK Half Marathon that I didn’t even know why I was doing it. I would curse at myself all the way up Zoo Hill!

 

Why do I run? Sometimes it’s to relieve stress. The euphoria that I feel after a good run is amazing. Running has given me confidence in myself. Sometimes I run just to stay fit and healthy and active. If I’ve had a slow day at work (sitting at a desk job) I literally feel itchy, like I NEED to run to blow off some energy. 


The only running shoes for me: My Asics 2130. They are the first/only running sneaker I’ve ever had, and from the moment I put them on I was in love. They are so light, and cushioned just enough. 

 

 

Favorite post race nosh: Either eggs, toast, turkey bacon and coffee, or a bagel with cream cheese and lox! Or sometimes just some chocolate soymilk. 


Favorite pre race meal: Usually something pretty light. I love the Oatmeal Raisin bar LUNA makes. Clif bars are great too. But don’t get me started on GU. NO GU!

 

 Flat course or hills: Downhill!! Or with the wind to my back, please!

 

 Run alone or with a partner: It depends really. On longer runs I love company, but I always need one or two runs a week by myself to listen to my iPod and just clear my head and focus on me/my running. I have met some truly amazing people through running, and I am so grateful to have extended my group of friends. 


Favorite songs/artists to run to:  A few of my favorites Cake “the Distance”, Britney Spears “Womanizer”, Missy Elliott “Work It”, Kanya West “Golddigger” remix, Beck, Radiohead, NIN

 

Name of your Garmin: Big Blue! My good old 205, I am so happy with it. I bought it the Thursday before the BK Half and paid $20 extra so I could get it delivered to me Friday afternoon. Sometimes I am impulsive!

 

 I run, therefore I know there nothing out there that I can’t do if I try/practice enough.

 

I hope this was fun for everyone to read, I enjoyed filling it out! I don’t really have a running blog per say, but I am on dailymile so if you’re interested in reading more of my running chronicles while I train for the NYC Half Marathon this August, feel free to follow me there!

 

EDIT:  To friend Samantha on dailymile find her at her name Samantha G. 

DSC02026

 

Thanks Sam, RUN LIKE HELL sista!

 

 

 

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2009 1:23 pm

    Great post. I am very fortunate to have an opportunity to meet both Michelle and Samantha at the Brooklyn Half Marathon. It is no question that Samantha will enjoy many years of running. It is a terrific outlet. May you have many years of enjoyment !

  2. Samantha permalink
    June 18, 2009 1:59 pm

    Thanks again for giving me the opportunity to share myself with your fellow bloggers!

  3. June 18, 2009 4:10 pm

    Another interesting Guest Post.

    Good luck to Samantha.

    Haha! The fact that she was two floors below you and you didn’t know it reminded me of the Tony Orlando & Dawn lyrics:

    Two Floors below me
    You don’t even know me
    I love you

    Hahaha! I had to add one floor to the original lyrics to make it work.

    You guys aren’t in love, either. Are you?

    If yes, Knock Three Times!

  4. June 18, 2009 5:07 pm

    I lurve coinkydinks like this….

  5. June 18, 2009 9:49 pm

    small world heh?! Very cool

  6. June 19, 2009 1:13 am

    it’s your fremnepaveurnette. or whatever it is that she says in that song. 🙂

    nice to meet you sam! keep up the good runnings!

  7. June 21, 2009 8:17 pm

    awesome! who knew she lived right below you???

  8. June 22, 2009 4:33 pm

    Having someone to run with makes all the difference in the world!

  9. June 30, 2009 11:03 pm

    Still getting caught up on blogs….

    Great guest post! Wow – eggs after a race!? That is hard core, not sure I could stomach those.

Leave a Reply

