Skip to content

Shore Parkway + 1 + GU + Sam = AWESOME!

June 28, 2009

24_medium

It tasted like chocolate pudding going down.  All I needed was some cool whip and an ice coffee and I would have breakfast on the run.

This was my very first ever experience with GU!  You can say I was a GU virgin.  It was good.  It was really good for me.  Very special first time.  Made me feel tingly all over.  OK, NOT!!!

But, it was not as bad as I had feared.  It gave me the extra oomph to finish up a 7 miler today.  I ran with Samantha – a new and different route for us.  It is basically a 5 mile stretch of bike and running path with water on one side and the Belt Parkway on the other side.  We ran underneath the Verrazano-Narrows Bridge which we all know is the start of the NYC Marathon right?  So, that was cool.

It was hot but not humid.  At least IMHO.  But, the sun was strong upon my face and shoulders.  It was out full force and kept reminding me that it is indeed summertime.  So, that was cool too.   What was not very cool was the fact that there were no water fountains available.  I found this a bit surprising and disturbing.  This is a heavily populated running/biking area so you would think there WOULD be some water fountains along the way.  The one water fountain I did see (at the end of the run) I sprinted over to it all happy only to find out it was not in working condition.

I may have to do something about that.  Get some petitions signed or speak to my congressman.

This is an enjoyable route and I did enjoy it.  I may consider it for my 10 miler.  I will bring my own hydration.  I did have a water bottle but it just wasn’t enough at 12oz.  That sucker was gone before I knew it.

This is how it went down – 6 miles Shore Parkway and we thought we were done.  But, as I was driving home I wanted to check out the 5K race that was happening up on my boardwalk.  Yes, remember I love it so that makes it mine.  The race was about 20 minutes into it and Samantha looked over at me and said something like &^$%(@*$(?? And I said sure. Translated “Wanna run another mile up on the boardwalk?”.   So, we did and ended up with our 7 miler.  WOOT!!

Activity
Route: Elev. Avg: 4 ft
Location: Staten Island, NJ Elev. Gain: +6 ft
Date: 06/28/09 Up/Downhill: [+147/-141]
Time: 08:23 AM Difficulty: 2.1 / 5.0
Weather: Partly Cloudy
72 F temp; 68% humidity
72 F heat index; winds NE 13
Performance
Distance: 7.00 miles
Time: 1:13:23
Speed: 5.7 mph
Pace: 10′ 29 /mi
Calories: 665
Map

Elevation (ft)

Pace (min/mile)

Splits
Mile Pace (min/mile) Speed (mph) Elevation
Gain
actual +/- avg actual +/- avg
1 10′ 41 +0′ 10 5.6 -0.1 +3 ft
2 10′ 25 -0′ 04 5.8 +0.0 0 ft
3 10’41 +6′ 39 3.5 -2.2 -4 ft
4 10′ 48 +0′ 16 5.6 -0.1 -3 ft
5 9′ 46 -0′ 43 6.1 +0.4 +3 ft
6 10’34 +0′ 43 5.3 -0.4 -6 ft
7 10′ 24 -0′ 02 5.7 +0.0 0 ft
Versus average of 10′ 29 min/mile

Posted from bimactive.com

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2009 10:41 pm

    That runs looks very cool. But Staten Island, NJ?

    And be warned about the espresso flavors. I’ve not tried one, but I’m told they can wreak havoc on one’s system. Best to stick with more neutral flavors.

  2. June 28, 2009 10:41 pm

    good job.

    i don’t think i’d like that particular gu. i’m partial to strawberry banana powerbar gel which i think tastes like yogurt. but for the most part, i’m not a gu or gel gal. lol

  3. June 28, 2009 10:54 pm

    glad the GU worked for ya, I think I’ve tried that one too…. and liked it. I wouldn’t rely on water sources, especially in this heat and humidity… especially during the summer, bring your own. Just my 2¢. Great running!

  4. Cris permalink
    June 28, 2009 11:06 pm

    I agree w/ the neutral flavors. I use an unflavored gel. And yeah, sorry I didn’t warn you about the route not having any fountains. I always bring my own hydration, so I forgot. But isn’t it nice out along the bay?

  5. June 29, 2009 1:02 am

    glad to hear your first experience with gu worked for you. great job on the 7 miles! be sure to carry enough water in this heat!!!

  6. June 29, 2009 3:21 pm

    Yes! Always bring your own hydration. I, for one, was glad it wasn’t raining there at least 🙂 A good run is a big bonus!!

  7. June 29, 2009 6:56 pm

    great job on the run!!! so glad your first gu experience was a good one 🙂 I always carry my own water with me too, especially in the summer.

  8. June 29, 2009 10:39 pm

    I love that flavor. Yum!
    http://www.seejessrun.com

  9. June 30, 2009 12:50 am

    i love gu! nice job adding on a mile at the end. can’t let all those people take over your boardwalk – that’s for sure!

  10. June 30, 2009 11:22 am

    While I am not a coffee drinker, I never touch the stuff, I do use the GU expresso, and love it.

    Nice job on the run, and kudos to adding the extra mile.

  11. June 30, 2009 10:27 pm

    Wow – they don’t even have water fountain along the way. Hmmm.. how about drinking the water from the Bay? Me bad. Not a good idea. However, I think its a great idea to bring the hydration bottle with you. Glad you and Sam had a good run.

  12. June 30, 2009 11:11 pm

    While I like gels in general, I don’t like GU. It always seemed to thick for me. (that’s what she said – ZING!)

    I like the new, cool, updated, graphs / maps / etc. I’m a sucker for numbers and you provided plenty! Nice work on the run!

  13. July 7, 2009 9:40 pm

    LOVE me some caffeinated GU! My dream: To provide long-distance runners with glucose replenishment, caffeine for energy and some painkillers to make it to the end of the race (just kidding! (not really … )). Somehow, I think the FDA would disapprove … ah, well. Glad the GU worked for you. The longer you’ve run, and the more water you take with it, the better.

Leave a Reply

