Skip to content

FOTO FRIDAY on Friday.

July 3, 2009

My blogger buddy and awesome friend over at NikeMom has asked me to host Foto Friday and how can I turn down a woman who runs/bikes/swims as much as she does.  So, comment or whatever and I will link you up here.

chadintheazdesert

marleneontherun

hefferblog

DSC02132

I call this Pink Lady – In my juicer:  Beets – ginger – pears – apples.   Delicious and oh so healthy.  Go easy on the ginger if you do not like it really spicy.

DSC02095

Homemade almond milk.  Really tasty.  Soak almonds overnight.  In blender the next day add almonds and 3-4 cups of water.  If you prefer a sweeter milk add some dates or vanilla or agave or even honey.  Just a bit though.  Christie says to add a pinch of salt and I agree.  It balances it out.  Then blend for about 3 minutes.  Here comes the fun part.  You need to strain the milk so that all the almond pulp is out and what your left with is a beautiful silky milk.  Enjoy it on cereal or in smoothies.

DSC00105

BROOKS ST 4 Need I say more?  Well, I am off for my first run in them.  Now.  Need I say more?

HAPPY JULY 4th TO ALL MY BLOGGY AND REAL LIFE FRIENDS!!!

Actually, Michelle, everyone is reasonable.

They just have their own reasons.

And usually it’s worth trying to learn what they are to maximize chances of a full-blown, 60’s style, psychedelic lovefest. Which is always a good thing.

Groovy you,
The Universe

Tears streamed down my face as I crossed the finish line, I was a new person, a runner!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2009 11:50 am

    Nice kicks – I am a die hard Brooks guy. Every once in a while I am seduced into buying some other brand shoe and always end up disappointed.

    Enjoy your 4th!

  2. July 3, 2009 3:13 pm

    enjoy the new kicks! As brooks says – Run Happy! Happy 4th of July!

  3. July 3, 2009 4:45 pm

    Happy Fourth to you!! Don’t burn them new kicks out in the first few runs!!

  4. July 3, 2009 5:51 pm

    I’ve never made almond milk. Sounds interesting. May have to give it a try.

    And have a fabo 4th Michelle!!

  5. July 3, 2009 7:13 pm

    Thanks for hosting Photo Friday. My picture is posted.

  6. July 3, 2009 8:16 pm

    Thanks for hosting this week! My photos are up.

    Happy 4th!

  7. July 3, 2009 8:49 pm

    Yum! Sounds good! I’m gonna make some now!

    Thanks for hosting Foto Friday for Nike Mom. I’ve linked to both your blogs on my blog!

    Happy 4th!

  8. July 3, 2009 11:04 pm

    I would love to try the Pink Lady and the Almond milk. *droooooling* Great pix!!! Have a Happy 4th of July !!!! Can’t wait to hear all about your new kicks soon. Good Luck !!!

  9. July 4, 2009 1:10 am

    Beets huh? Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm….. Not sure that i’m totally sold on those yet. 🙂

  10. July 4, 2009 2:22 am

    mmm i really need to get on the smoothie boat. they are soo good. you are making me hungry now. 🙂

    happy 4th and hope you are having a great weekend!

  11. July 4, 2009 9:24 am

    Hahahaha! Looks like you could sell that first drink as Dr. Meesh’s Homemade Pepto-Bismol-Like Magickal Elixir For Teh Facilitating of Eupeptic Bodily Properties! I’d never buy it, but I bet a lot of foax would! (Idiots, mostly because … beets?!1?)

    I have a pair of Brooks right now. I bought ’em because I got ’em cheap (I am motivated in life by exactly two things: 1) Cheapness; 2) Beer) so I strayed from my usual Asics. The Brookses made my “F*ck You” toes (which are the second ones, not the middle toes, as most people think, because it’s different with the toes) hurt and then the nails turned black and just last week the nails fell off.

    Good times.

    But I think that may’ve been because my first run in them was like a 12-miler.

    So you probably think it was MY fault, right?

    Typical! BLAME THE VICTIM!1!

    But now I wear them to run and they’re fine. And I barely miss my toenails …

  12. July 8, 2009 12:46 pm

    The thing with brooks is that they have good construction, but generally run 1/4 size small, so you have to buy 1/2 size bigger than usual. Also, I’ve found that they benefit from an early run in a soaking rain. I now they shouldn’t because they’re synthetic, but it has been my experience.

    Also, my black ones are cooler. 🙂

Leave a Reply

