Skip to content

Running In Circles – No More..

July 15, 2009

funny-pictures-speedy-cat

I’ve been running in circles.  Around and around, getting nowhere fast.

I have had numerous conversations with my running/friend/mentor over the last few weeks about (what else) running.  She feels, that just getting out there every day and running the exact same pace and distance is enough FOR HER.  And I agree.  FOR HER.  She tries hard to explain to me that there is no reason to run races or to run faster or to run longer distances.  And some days, I agree with her.  But, most days I don’t.  Agree. With her.

I am the type of person that needs a goal.  I need to see something ahead and work for it.  Strive to get to that point and then move on to bigger goals.  No, I am not thinking of running Badwater or Ultras any time soon.  Actually, never will I think to run those, but I do think to run Halfs and trail races and I also think to increase my speed and distance.  To me, it is a natural progression as a runner.

Think about it.  A child learns to crawl.  A child learns from crawling to shakily stand up and move forward.  Walking.  Then, quite naturally a child runs.  Then runs faster.  So, as a runner I should be striving for that as well.  Or should I?  Is this just crazy talk?  The talk of a person who thinks she is all that and more?  The talk of a runner who has no idea what she is doing?

I am not a new runner, but I am a different runner.  Prone to injury with every step I take.  Yet, I love it so.  Running has given to me something I cannot put into words.  So, I won’t even try.

Anyway, lately I feel as though I am running around in circles.  Sometimes, the circles are big and other times the circles are so small they suffocate me.  I have been looking unto different things to bring my running up a notch.  Or two.  Or ten.

I discovered this RUN NYC sponsored by Nike.  They meet:

RUN NYC Training Run Schedule:

Mondays @6:30pm: NY RUNNING CO.+
Tuesdays @6:30pm: NIKETOWN+
Thursdays @6:30pm: NIKETOWN+
Saturdays @9:00am: NIKETOWN+

PLUS: NIKE Speed Series Schedule:

Wednesdays @6:30pm: Paragon Sports+ HOLLA!!!!!

Check out this workout: (last night)

Tonight it’s a Crosswalk-Interval workout:
We’ll warm up to 65th Street.. Starting at 65th Street, we’ll run to the first crosswalk, then pick up the pace and keep that elevated pace till the next crosswalk. We’ll continue that “off-on” Interval as we reach each crosswalk.
*3 Mile Interval – 65th St. to Engineers Gate (E.90th) and Back
*4 Mile Interval – 65th St. to E. 102nd Transverse and Back.
*5 Mile Interval – 65th St. to E.102nd cross & south on Westside, through lower loop

Fun and different.  Plus, I know I will meet some cool runners.  Because, lets face it – all runners are cool.  Some cooler than others but all cool in their own way.

While I love my daily runs I just feel that I need some extra added motivation and a bit of a change.  Am I taking crazy again?  Crazy talk?  Am I crazy?  Am I even a runner?  Who am I?

So this is my plan, and I am sticking to it.  I have NYC Half Marathon in about 32 days.  I am also signed up for this THE RAT RACE! WIth my bro TED.  Sept 19th. I am really looking forward to that 10 mile trail race.  Even more than the NYC Half.   Plus, the RUN NYC workouts.  And speed workouts as well.  Weekly.

Also, last week I had the pleasure of my first runner – blogger – NYC meet up.  TK organized it and I got to meet some cool (yeah) runners.  You should check this guy out BrandonsMarathon.  He does podcasts too and next week for his 50th podcast he had the amazing fortune to interview Christopher McDougall – the author of Born to Run.  An awesome book.  Go check Brandon out.  He is a cool guy and very nice to boot!!

You can follow me here DAILYMILE. I write all my workouts and stuff.

I also want to give a shout out to this guy.  Punkrocktriguy.  He deserves some props for what he just accomplished.  He fucking rocks!!  I am going to use his quote:

I’ll leave you with this: Turn your back on your internal spectator and participate in life every chance you get. People ask me all the time why I do these silly things and I now know that the answer is simple – I can’t live with the alternative of not doing these silly things.

FUCK YEAH!!!  Ron – you said it straight out.

Sitting on my butt is NOT.AN.OPTION.

In the day we sweat it out on the streets of a runaway American dream
At night we ride through the mansions of glory in suicide machines
Sprung from cages out on highway 9,
Chrome wheeled, fuel injected,and steppin’ out over the line
h-Oh, Baby this town rips the bones from your back
It’s a death trap, it’s a suicide rap
We gotta get out while we’re young
`Cause tramps like us, baby we were born to run

Photo 130

Time for Jazz Hands.  It’s the way I roll.

Had some nice runs this week.  Ran 6 on Sunday in 1.05.46  Ran 6 today in 1.03.36  Had a nice fast 2 miler at 19.42.  Ran a nice 5 miler yesterday in 51.42.  Getting there.  Slowly.  Mojo and zen runs are in my head and I try hard to get that feeling into my legs.  HOLLA!!!!

You only have to do a little each day, Michelle, to get a ton done.

Ton done,
The Universe

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Samantha permalink
    July 15, 2009 3:40 pm

    The interval runs @ Paragon look like fun. May do one of those next week.

  2. July 15, 2009 4:11 pm

    Because, lets face it – all runners are cool. Some cooler than others but all cool in their own way.

    Some are cool like the wind. And the wind blows.

    Hahahahahaha! I had to get that out of my system.

    Go ahead and do what ya gotta do, Meesh! And good luck on your upcoming races. Me, I run more for health reasons (the Fat Eyes what I done told your readers about already), so when I race I kinda just do it for fun. But I’m always trying to do my best.

    Because I’m cool like that. Specifically, like the wind.

    Which, as some sage once noted, blows.

  3. July 15, 2009 4:34 pm

    Variety is the spice of life! and goals are a good thing!! Hopefully, you continue to evolve as a runner, cause that too, is a good thing 🙂

  4. July 15, 2009 4:42 pm

    I am one of the regulars at the Wednesday night speed workouts. I absolutely love them. The pacers are great. Even though they are all super fast they come out every week to help runners of all abilities get faster. I will not be there tonight because of my self prescribed week off to rest and re-energize but I will be back on the track next week. You should definitely come and check it out. There are pace groups for all abilities so do not be intimidated. Hope to see you there next week.

  5. July 15, 2009 5:34 pm

    I TOTALLY agree! We need goals!! Sure, we don’t ALWAYS need to race or to push super hard, but it’s GREAT to get faster!!

    Nice workouts!

  6. July 15, 2009 6:50 pm

    change can be a good thing, and you’re right, you’ll meet some awesome people 🙂

  7. July 15, 2009 7:41 pm

    “I am not a new runner, but I am a different runner. Prone to injury with every step I take. Yet, I love it so. Running has given to me something I cannot put into words. So, I won’t even try.”

    Fuck. Yeah. That’s me, exactly… rock on with your (injury prone) self… I’ll be running in tandem here in Colorado. 🙂

  8. July 15, 2009 10:35 pm

    sounds like fun. what have you got to lose?!?!?

  9. July 16, 2009 12:44 am

    i’m right there with you – some days it’s nice to “just run”, but most days i need to have a goal in mind! (whether it’s for that particular run or a short-/near-ish term race goal)

    i am digging all the group runs! i hope you get a chance to join in on them – should be a good time and great boost to the running routine.

    all runners are definitely cool! 🙂

  10. July 16, 2009 1:41 am

    OK, so I’m writing this story about motivation, and *all* the fancy-pants sports psychologists I’ve talked to say it’s so, so important to have a long-term goal you’re passionate about, and short-term goals to get you there. The long-term goal doesn’t have to be a race — though that one’s delightfully obvious, and really fun — but if you have some long-term goal, you’re more likely to get out the door, which it sounds like you’ve been doing a lot of. Keep it up!

  11. July 16, 2009 4:24 am

    change is good when it comes to running! need to spice it up to stay motivated!

  12. July 16, 2009 1:47 pm

    I really liked this post. I’m with you. I have to have SOME change in my running otherwise my body (and my mind) just get bored. I think your plan to do some of the group runs is a good one.

    I listen to Brandon’s podcast and love it. I remember hearing about that meet up and didn’t even think that you would be there too! I’m jealous of all of the fun stuff the NYC crowd gets to do.

  13. July 16, 2009 8:42 pm

    Terrific post! Let put in this way from a runner’s perspective… If we all cannot run, would life be boring? Running to us is a GIFT. We , as the runner, should use the gift. We all come in different shape and form. No matter what. There will be more surprises once we continue to use the gift. We have the ability to do anything we want. Set goals. Strive to do something cool.

    — I am truly looking forward to the Rat’s Race. We are going to have a blast and we are going to kick a$$ !

  14. July 17, 2009 6:10 am

    They say that the only constant thing on this world is Change. Thus, it is always a part of us. : ) The only thing is that we should change for the better and not for the worse. Thank you for this!

  15. July 19, 2009 2:00 am

    Change is good. I love to mix things up..different workouts, different paces, different people, different places..Keep changing it up lady, you are doing a great job with your running!

Leave a Reply

