Skip to content

You Could Be Happy.

July 20, 2009

Photo 263

I am entering the twilight zone of running.  You know, that time of year where the weather is freaking awesome yet the runs are hard because of that very thing.  You go out expecting an amazing long Sunday run only to be cut short by the blazing sun, ripping shreds out of your very being.  Sure, I am getting mega doses of Vitamin D, but it is relentless.

I am naturally a hot person.  I don’t mean hawt, I mean hot.  Yes, I had to clarify that because most of you think of me as hawtness.   Where was I?  Oh yeah, hot.  So, I do whatever any runner does on these hot days.  Wear as little as possible, take some hydration, and I even finally succumbed to the walk break method, which I truly believe has its merits.

Today I truly thought I was going to run 8 miles.  In fast, I knew it.  There wasn’t a question in my fried brain.  So, I set out and started my run.

Mile 1   10.43

Mile 2   10.21

Ok, I thought – I have this in the bag.  That is until I turned around and that big yellow blazing thing in the sky wrecked havoc on my confidence.  So, when I hit mile 3 I decided to walk for 1 minute.  Just 1 minute.  I absolutely could have used 2 minutes but I stuck to the plan in my head.  Got that mile done in 11.05 and then decided on another 1 minute walk break.  Just 1 minute.  Got mile 4 done in 10.58.  It was then that I knew that I was going to finish at mile 5.  And when I say finish, I mean done – kaput – NO.MORE.RUNNING.

My mental toughness just did not kick in at all.  I felt at that very moment, like a loser and a quitter.

Now, just to put this in perspective – yesterday I ran 7 miles with a new running friend.  So, perhaps my legs were a bit tired?  Not sure about that really.  I am a runner for goodness sakes.  Am I being to hard on myself?  Probably – but tomorrow is another day.  It just feels good to write this all out.

Obviously, for my longer runs up until the NYC Half Marathon, I will need to alter my route just a bit.  Run where there is more shady areas as opposed to my boardwalk where there is zero shady areas.

The NYC Half Marathon is in just under 4 weeks.  I am not nervous nor am I obsessing over it.  It is what it is.  It is 13.1 miles of running and I know I can do that.  I’ve done it.  I am choosing to keep my goals for this race to myself.  It’s just easier that way, for me.  I want to put it together in my head and think it through the best way I know how.

Sometimes, there is just too much information for my mind to take in.  So, I pick and choose what is best for me and if that doesn’t work, then I go back into my mind’s vault and think about the day I ran a 1.44 half marathon and I try to get to that feeling in my running.  It works.  For me.  JUST.FOR.ME.  Every day that I run is a gift to me.  And I accept it without question.

Running is not my life.  It is just a part of my life.  A big part and a good part, but just a part.  This I know.  It enriches my life and gives me confidence in other areas.  Somehow, it works that way.

Simplicity is the key to brilliance ~Bruce Lee

I have been slowly changing my diet up and am including a lot of juicing and smoothies.  With tons of chia seeds.  Some raw foods – things that will keep me healthy and give me energy.  Eating healthy is not only imperative for me, it is the way I want to eat for the rest of my life.  I enjoy it, so why not make it a way of life?  Sure, I love my post run pancakes and bagels but I’d rather have a healthy smoothie these days.  Hardcore green juice too.   If it doesn’t taste that good, just think about all the nutrients flooding your body and cells.

“Life is either a daring adventure, or nothing.”—Helen Keller


13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2009 1:11 am

    the current issue of Runner’s World has a thng in there about all that sunshine. The vitamin D is better had through diet. They recommend covering up, sunblock, etc.

    screw that — I ran shirtless today. 🙂

    yeah, gonna get some sunblock, I promise. You too, OK?

  2. michjoy61 permalink*
    July 20, 2009 1:24 am

    Yes, I will. I actually have a nice tan going on but yes, sunblock is important. I wish I could run shirtless!! :O)

  3. July 20, 2009 1:27 am

    I’m sorry. What were you saying? I couldn’t get past HAWT 🙂

  4. July 20, 2009 2:03 am

    Speaking of Runners World by Chris
    Interesting article about just how much heat plays a part in performance. 50 deg being optimal and anything over that is a decline in performance – especially running.
    It has been hitting me hard this summer. 80 to 90 degrees makes running not too fun. I had to walk multiple times earlier in the week to complete my 5 milers also. Overcast(good), sunny(bad).
    you got it done though!

  5. July 20, 2009 2:45 am

    Amen. Don’t sweat it, (no pun intended) especially in the summer. In the summer, throw away the races times anyway. Too hard…

  6. July 20, 2009 12:37 pm

    I’m impressed you’re out in the swelting heat of the east coast. That is super-start status in my book. You go girl!

  7. July 20, 2009 4:59 pm

    Good job pounding out the 5 miles anyway. Sometimes it’s better not to try to force it.

    (That’s what she said.)

    So now that you’ve cleared the way by writing about how you’re hot, next time you can write about how you’re HAWT!1! Woo-hoo! Be graphic, please. We’re all adults here. (Chronologically, at least. Mentally? Ehh. Debatable.)

    Sure, I love my post run pancakes and bagels but I’d rather have a healthy smoothie these days.

    Do I detect an implied kertwang at bagels, here? An insinuation that they’re NOT healthy?

    TAKE THAT BACK, SISTER!1!

  8. July 20, 2009 8:55 pm

    sunblock is key. i forget it way too often.

  9. July 20, 2009 9:20 pm

    Hawt ? Fried brain? ROFLMAO – I get the drift. You know what? I was on my way to work while listening to Steve Runner (podcast). You might want to listen to this week Fdip on acclimatization. It was kind of interesting how heat can affect the performance. Very fascinating!

    Now, how many more days till Fall?

  10. July 21, 2009 1:17 pm

    I AGREE, I ‘run hot’ too. This heat lately has been a killer. Hopefully it will cool down soon – but not TOO soon.

    You’re going to rock the face off of the half marathon.

  11. July 21, 2009 11:33 pm

    the weather can definitely be killer! some days you can push through it but some days it’s just too much. no big deal, there will be another day – just like you said! you got in some miles which is always way better than not showing up at all. you will rock the nyc half. whatever happens, it’s your race, just run it!

  12. July 22, 2009 10:09 pm

    Summer running is the pits. 🙂 I always use sunscreen, just a smart thing to do. Too bad there isn’t something to spray on that would keep us cool too, huh? You did a good job on your run; I think it was a smart move to stop at 5.

  13. July 24, 2009 1:12 am

    I’ve always hated running in the heat, and this summer, even though it hasn’t been nearly as hot as usual, I REALLY hate it. That’s 75 percent of my problems I think. I’m completely thinking that next year I don’t do a race at the end of the summer; I’ll hold off for a fall race.

Leave a Reply

