Skip to content

Procrastination Station.

July 26, 2009

here-she-comes-to-save-the-day-or-the-day-after-tomorrow

It’s not that I don’t want to post, ya know – it’s just that when I think about it, my uber procrastination mode kicks in and I go for a run instead.  I guess that is a good thing huh?  Instead of sitting on my ass on the sofa posting to my blog, I go left – right – left and all of a sudden I am running.

It has been simply bizarre.  I have become so enamored by running that I look forward to each and every single run.  I am not running my best and I know my best is still lurking and teasing me.

Last Thursday, despite the rainy forecast and the actual rain that was falling, I met up with the RUN NYC group meeting at NikeTown in NYC.  I was a bit apprehensive thinking I would be the only crazy person to show up.  Boy, I was wrong.  There were many runners there needing to get their run on, training for various races.  So, I was happily surprised.  The run itself was really cool.  I joined into the 5 mile group with a tempo run thrown into the middle of it, but I quickly realized the tempo pace that most of the peeps were going to run was way to fast for me.  So, MIKE (one of the pacers) – great guy that he is, ran with me the entire time.  My goal was to run without taking walking breaks and I met that goal.  Finished strong too.  In the rain.

Seth was going berserk.  Flipping through different screens uncontrollably.  I wonder if it was because of the rain or Seth was just being temperamental and perhaps had his period.  He may have jealousy pains for the new Garmin Forerunner 310XT GPS-enabled personal trainer
swim-proof, heart rate-based calorie computation, automatic sync, wireless heart rate monitor, multisport, high-sensitivity receiver, courses feature, advanced workouts, rechargeable lithium-ion battery that literally was released on Friday.  Poor poor Seth, I love you please don’t crap out on me now!!!

NYC Half Marathon is in 3 weeks.  Some long runs still to get done.  I feel ready.  I am not nervous at all.  Seth??

To all my buddies doing the Nautica NYC Triathlon tomorrow!  Swim ON – Bike ON – Run ON!  And most importantly, have fun!!

Now for some running news:

First a run I am very proud of:

2 Miles 19.11

Mile 1  9.44

Mile 2  9.27

My goal for this run was 2 miles in under 20 minutes and each mile in under 10 minutes.

Then the Central Park group run, some cool graphs and stuff.  Oooh pretty!

Activity
Route: Elev. Avg: 89 ft
Location: New York/Central Park, NY Elev. Gain: +0 ft
Date: 07/23/09 Up/Downhill: [+265/-265]
Time: 06:43 PM Difficulty: 2.3 / 5.0
Performance
Distance: 4.76 miles
Time: 0:54:21
Speed: 5.3 mph
Pace: 11′ 25 /mi
Calories: 451
Map

Elevation (ft)

Pace (min/mile)

Splits
Mile Pace (min/mile) Speed (mph) Elevation
Gain
actual +/- avg actual +/- avg
1 10′ 26 -0′ 59 5.8 +0.5 +36 ft
2 10′ 31 -0′ 54 5.7 +0.4 -33 ft
3 11′ 39 +0′ 14 5.2 -0.1 +43 ft
4 11′ 11 -0′ 14 5.4 +0.1 -59 ft
end 13′ 04 +1′ 39 4.6 -0.7 +14 ft
Versus average of 11′ 25 min/mile

Posted from bimactive.com

In food news, I am digging the chia seeds a lot.  In the book Born to Run it turns out that the Tarahumara long-distance runners of Mexico, use chia seeds as a top super food to propel them on long multi-day races.  Chia Fresca is simple.  Or try this – For breakfast, I had a bowl of 3.5 T chia seeds with 1C hemp seed milk, mixed with gojii berries, buckwheat groats, 1T honey and cinnamon.  Perfection, IMHO.  Buy some chia seeds and try it before a long run.  Simply cannot be beat.

Chia seeds are the best known plant source of omega-3 fatty acids!
They are also very high in fiber, protein, calcium, magnesium and iron.

You don’t need a reason, you need a road.  Believe in the run!!

Happy?

Are you?

Are you now?

Are you now happy, Michelle?

Now.

You are.

You are happy.

Michelle, you are happy now.

And I’m happy for you,
The Universe

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2009 2:09 am

    That looks like a good run! I can definitely see Cat Hill in the elevation chart.

  2. July 26, 2009 2:39 am

    Nice post! I like the graphs & map. SO cool!

  3. July 26, 2009 2:05 pm

    great run michelle! procrastination gets me in the end too.

  4. July 26, 2009 3:42 pm

    Hey, thanks for the link!!

  5. July 26, 2009 4:30 pm

    Man, for a minute there, Meesh, it sounded like the Universe was nagging you!

    Lighten up, Universe!

    Good job getting your run on, sister!

  6. July 26, 2009 9:12 pm

    great run, sounds like you have a good group to run with 🙂

  7. July 27, 2009 12:14 am

    haha i have the OPPOSITE problem. i’ll need to go run and i’ll get sucked into procrastinating on my computer… reading blogs, commenting, writing one… your “problem” is much better! 🙂

    nice job on the running! glad the group turned out well – hope you find some good running buddies through it.

  8. July 27, 2009 1:29 am

    It SUMMER! Running in the rain is cool. 🙂

  9. July 28, 2009 2:46 am

    Wow, another great race. I’m counting down the days for you until the 1/2. You’re going to do great.

Leave a Reply

