Skip to content

Love – Taper – Repat.

August 10, 2009

Not sure what it is about this tune, but I dig it.

Oh well I look at you and say
It’s the happiest that I’ve ever been
And I’ll say I no longer feel I have to be James Dean
And she’ll say
Yah well I feel all pretty happy too
And I’m always pretty happy when I’m just kicking back with you

Can you figure out what repat is?

I need mental toughness.  I need to push past the pain and in my mind see it happening.  You know that saying that running is 90% mental and 10% physical or something like that?  Well, it is absolutely true.  I need to learn how to push past the part of my run where I stop and say no more.  This is not the fun part of running.  But, it is what I need to do.  Say, fuck you tired legs and fuck you hot weather, I need to finish this run, and then you can have your reward!

So, this is my taper week.  We all know about that week don’t we?  Where we are raring to go, but have to hold back.  In theory tapering is a terrific way to be fully ready for race day.  I am not the best of taperers.  But, this week will be the test.

I have been given great advice by my coach and best running friend TED. I think, by now you all know him right?  He is a pretty awesome man.  IHMO!

Some carbo loading this week (by me) will be done as well.  Ok, not pasta every single night this week, but lots of carbs and protein but nothing experimental.  I may do a chia fresca before the race for energy and extra added stamina.  Chia agrees with my tummy.  Love that stuff.

NYC Half Marathon is almost upon me.  Almost.  I truly think my training went well.  I did:

1 8 miler

1 11 miler

1 8.5 miler

1 7.5 miler

Plus lots of runs in between of 5 or 6 or even 5K’s.  Just been really running my ass off.  And loving it.  And feeling pretty darn awesome.

Did some hilly runs.  Experimented a bit with GU and hydration.  Did some run/walk combos.  Tested my ST4’s for a long run and I love them lots.

Am I ready?  I have no idea.  Well, sure I can do it.  I know I have enough runs behind me to propel me to the finish line that is ahead of me, on Sunday.  BUT…..well we all know the but don’t we?  You know, the part where I say “I want to run this race in ——- hours and ——minutes.  Ya think?  But, there is no way I am going to put that out there.  For the universe to see and digest.  For the universe to ask me that night, “So, did you?  Did you PR?

It makes me nervous to think in those terms.  If I complete the NYC Half Marathon and can then run a few days later without pain or injury I will feel victorious.  That simple really.  Of course, if I PR or run an awesome race, you bet your ass I will be blogging about that, twittering about that, facebooking about that.  Hey, why not?  I worked for it.

I have to leave my house at 3.45am Sunday morning in order to get to the starting area, with time to use the porta-potty – check a bag, if I have one and get into my corral by 6.30am with a start time of 7am.  Simple, yet complicated.  So much to remember before hand.  What flavor GU’s shall I pick?  Am I going to take my hand held water bottle or rely on the water stops along the way of the race.  What shall I wear?  Tank top or tech tee?  Socks?  Yeah, those too!  Sneakers are a done deal.  My ST4’s.

I am meeting up with my sister and friends afterwards, so that part is taken care of.  There’s lots of cool stuff going on in this race.  I am not even sure I will be aware of a lot of it, but perhaps the sing -a-long will encourage me and inspire me to keep moving in the right direction.  Really, anybody in NYC on Sunday, come and watch.

Entertainment

Start line: National Anthem performed by Broadway star TBD.

Mile 7: Various Solo acoustic musicians along the western side of 7th avenue from 55th street to 49th street at the following locations:

• 54th and 53rd Dexter Jones: Steel Drummer

• 53rd and 52nd Will McCranie: solo singer-songwriter

• 52nd and 53rd Acoustic Artist TBD
• 51st and 52nd
Roy & Dean: singer-songwriter duo

• 50th and 51st Crispus Attucks- horn players

Mile 8: Seventh Avenue between 47th and 48th streets
• Live music from the
Jeremy Beck Band, playing soulful rock. 

Mile 8: West side of 44th St. and 7th Ave: NYRR presents the Times Square Sing-A-Long
• For the second straight year, spectators and runners alike will have the opportunity to follow along with Broadway performers as they sing favorite classic songs. Don’t worry about forgetting the lyrics; they’ll be displayed ona giant video screen. And they’ll be aided by the cheering squad from CHEER NY and the NYRR Foundation Team of school kids. This is a must see (and Sing) experience!!!

Mile 8: 42nd Street between Seventh and Eighth avenues (at BB King Blues Club)
• Live music from
East River Blues Band, playing Chicago-Style Blues.

Mile 8: 42nd Street between Eighth and Ninth avenues
• Live music from
Dead By Choice, playing heavy metal rock.

Mile 9: 42nd Street and West Side Highway
• At the Toyota Highlander Turn to the Finish, one of the more eclectic—and popular—musical acts will be performing.
Samba New York!Features a colorful display of traditional Brazilian costumes, dancing, and capoeira to spicy Samba music set to a backdrop of the Hudson River! (or similar)

Mile 9: 40th St. (left turn lane): Live Music from The Mondays, playing modern rock.

Mile 9: 34th St. (left turn lane): Live music from The Creamsicles, playing classic funk, surf rock and gypsy punk.

Miles 11-12: “Corridor of Sound” 
As runners make their final push to the finish along West Side Highway, five DJ stations will entertain and motivate both runners and fans with a variety of New York City sounds. 
Christopher Street: DJ
• Houston Street (left turn lane): DJ
• Canal Street(left turn lane): DJ
• Vestry Street (South of Debrosses; left turn lane): DJ
• Chambers Street(left turn lane): DJ

Post-Race Festival in Battery Park
Come celebrate your sensational NYC finish in the post-race festival in Battery Park by enjoying exhilarating Dance competitions featuring sensational troupes that span many diverse styles including Bollywood, Hip Hop, Step Crews, Capoiera and much more. You as the audience get to be the judge in a dance battle for the ages, using the HUMAN APPLAUSE METER. This is a must see. In addition, free massages all morning, Awards Ceremony at 10am and free raffle prizes, and an opportunity to meet and greet with your favorite athlete after the awards ceremony! You do not want to miss this!

I would really like to thank all of you for your motivation and help during these past few months.  I’ve only ever gotten positivity here.  Is it a coincidence that all runners are awesome people?  Maybe.  Or perhaps, all runners are indeed awesome people.  Positive vibes and inspirational stories give me an incredible high that no drug will ever give me.  You know that saying that “Crack is whack”  damn right it is.  Nothing like a run to make your day special.  NOTHING.   PERIOD.

I am also kicking around some stuff in my head.  But, that will be for another post and another day.

From Daily Mile:

Central Park is fun to run in. 1 loop around with hills and stuff. There was the Central Park Triathlon going on but I couldn’t figure out if the bikers I saw were just starting or finishing. 6 miles 1.05.20 10.53 min/mile
Mile 1 11.23
Mile 2 11.03
Mile 3 10.46
Mile 4 10.45
Mile 5 10.48 (POOP)
Mile 6 10.32
The reason I say POOP is because that mile 5 ruined my negative split run. SO POOP!

I thought I was going to run 8 but again POOP!!

Had a good breakfast after of oatmeal – pumpkin muffin and good fresh coffee. I’m ready to eat again!

AND and here it gets crazy to non-runners:

INSANITY ENSUES! 1.5 mi / 00:17 11:19 pace

Ok, I am certifiably insane. When I arrived home, I added up in my head, my mileage for the week, and I fell short of my goal of 30 miles.

So, I needed about 1 mile or so and I started running again. I ran around the park near where I live. For good measure I ran 1.5 miles in 16.59 11.19 min/mile
Mile 1 11.16
Mile 0.50 5.42
Yeah, I know…..CRAZY but I hit my 30 for the week!

And I’d like to share 1 comment with you on that post:

Michelle – that’s awesome, and highly coincidental – I did the exact same thing today to hit 40 for the first time ever.

Mileage goals make us do crazy things sometimes. Way to get it done!

And TED said:

We the runners truly understand your compassion. It is not crazy. It is commitment. You are truly dedicated to what you are doing.

The non-runners will never understand us. Now, taper it baby!

So, there is not much more I can say right?  Had to get it done.

You have a choice. You can throw in the towel, or you can use it to wipe the sweat off of your face. Gatorade Ad



15 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2009 11:20 pm

    you go get ’em girl! i’m the same way, PR, Scmer-r…or something…no one needs to know but you, it’s your secret that will help you fly through the course! i wont be in town this weekend, otherwise, i’d make my way to the island to cheer you on! kill it lady!

  2. August 11, 2009 12:07 am

    My mom always made rice pudding for my brother before a big race. Almost made me want to be a runner just for the pudding! Love those kind of carbs!

    You’re a hero in my book just by training for a 1/2 marathon. Wow! You go girl!!

  3. August 11, 2009 12:13 am

    Run on!!

  4. August 11, 2009 12:23 am

    Hey sista – I will BE THERE to cheer you on. My wife and I will be there and see that you complete the NYC Half. Thanks for the shout out !

  5. August 11, 2009 1:03 am

    I just know that you’re going to do well. Don’t over think this thing, just do what you love and run. Nothing more, nothing less.

    Enjoy the day, hydrate, fuel and stay healthy!

    All my best running mojo is with you!

  6. August 11, 2009 2:33 am

    For me, the race itself is usually anticlimatic. PR, awesome. Slow race with walk breaks, OK, so long as I get to the finish line, and as you say, can get back out and run again a few days later without pain or injury.

    For me, the fun is all the preparation, the training runs leading up to race day, and the planning and executing all the logistics getting me to the start line. That stuff is as fun and rewarding as the race itself.

    Good luck on Sunday!

  7. August 11, 2009 2:45 am

    Go go go go go. You’re going to do great. Set an A, B and C goal. A = perfect weather, B = still a PR, C = “I’ll be pissed if I finish slower than this”. That is what I do. Seems to work out pretty well.

    (Thanks for the clarification on your “poop” comment. 🙂 I was starting to wonder.

  8. August 11, 2009 10:52 am

    For the universe to see and digest. For the universe to ask me that night, “So, did you? Did you PR?”

    Mind your own f*cking business, Universe! Always sticking you nose in things! I’ll give YOU such a BIG BANG you’ll think that first one was just an existential belch! SO DON’T PUSH IT!1!

    Just kidding, sister. You sound ready for your half-marry to me.

    Good luck! I’m pulling for you!

  9. August 11, 2009 11:31 am

    sounds like you are ready to go!
    Best of luck with the 1/2!!

  10. August 11, 2009 1:44 pm

    Hey Girl!

    Your So going to rock the NYC Half! You’ve been doing amazing with your training and I have a feeling a PR is coming your way!

    Keep up the great work & HAVE FUN!!!

    xoxo
    -nicole

  11. August 11, 2009 2:55 pm

    It’s really awesome seeing to see you here now, compared to where you were when we first met. You gotz it goin on!! I can give you some negativity if you really wants it, but I’d probably have to go dig it up outta the backyard. I’ll think about you while I am tri-ing this Sunday. My race is 7:30 AM CENTRAL TIME! Woot! That means I get to sleep a leeeetle longer…

  12. August 11, 2009 3:35 pm

    i’m in a taper/recovery week too for a sprint tri and extra 5k on sunday. all the best!

  13. August 12, 2009 12:53 am

    Short answer, yes, you’re ready. I’m like you — if I can run pain/injury free a couple of days later after my half in a few weeks, then I can call this training period a success. Have fun out there!

  14. August 12, 2009 3:17 pm

    You’ll do great, go rock it!! 🙂

  15. August 12, 2009 10:27 pm

    i love that gatorade ad – saw it earlier this week on twitter! you will do great michelle! you’ve put in the work, now it’s time to head over to the bank and make a withdrawal 🙂 bring it on nyc half, ryan hall better watch out!

Leave a Reply

