Skip to content

The Urgency Of Now.

August 27, 2009

IMG00041

You simply cannot dangle these in front of me and just when I am about to take one, you pull it away and out of my sight.  NOT FAIR.  I want that carrot cupcake right NOW!!

Those carrot cupcakes up there are my long lost speed.  It represents me wanting to run fast, feeling it overtake me, dangling there, and then all of a sudden, I slow down.  Or perhaps, I wasn’t really running that fast to begin with?  I think I know what I have to do, it just takes a lot of discipline and work and dedication.

Do I have what it takes?  You bet I do.  I just need the guidance and coaching to get there.  I used to run fast.  Really fast too.  But that was many years ago and sorry,  but I refuse to believe that I can’t have that again.  Dude, I am not saying every single run needs to be so fast that its over before it begins.  NO NO NO!

What I am saying is I need to feel that I can run a pace that I feel comfortable with and then get a bit uncomfortable in the middle (tempo) then get a bit more comfy to end the run on a high note.  Thats all.  Is that asking for a lot?  Perhaps it is.  It is not as though someone waves their hand in front of my face or snaps their fingers and I am suddenly fast again!  It takes work.

The thing is, I want it now.  I feel the urgency now.  I don’t want to wait until I am 65 years old.  Do not tell me to wait.  I don’t have the time to wait.

So, there are many ways to improve speed.  From my buddy The Running Laminator’s blog.

Now that I’ve convinced you (hopefully) that speedwork leads to more efficient running which leads to marathon success, how should you incorporate some speed into your training if you’ve never done them before? Should you bust out one mile repeats on the track like there’s no tomorrow? Should you run each run as fast and as hard as you can? No, not if you want to make the starting line of your race! Speedwork, like all aspects of running, requires persistence and training. Start by throwing in faster 30 secs-1 min stretches (called fartleks) in the middle of your regular runs once to twice a week. Work up to a faster quarter mile, a half mile, and then to a mile in the middle of your general maintenance run. In the beginning, don’t worry about the exact pace, but concentrate on your breathing and your form during the fartleks. You should feel slightly out of breath but not so much that you are sucking air and dry heaving. Always warmup and cooldown with some slower miles at the start and end of each fartlek segment.

So, there you have it.  An easy way to start the engine and rev up and get the motor running.

Are you all wondering why this is so important to me?  Dude, look at those carrot cupcakes and you tell me?  How enticing is that?  How delicious do they look to you?  You will sigh with complete joy after you eat that cupcake.  You will lick your fingers to get every last drop.  You will reach a very appropriate foodgasm.  It will happen because they are that good and satisfying.

And that is my answer to you.  Running fast is that good and that satisfying.  Period.  END.OF.DISCUSSION.  And I know all you runners out there wholeheartedly agree with me.  This is not silly talk.  I am not rambling.  I know exactly what I am saying.

Eleanor Roosevelt said it best I think:

“You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You are able to say to yourself, ‘I have lived through this horror. I can take the next thing that comes along.’ You must do the thing you think you cannot do.”

So, this is my quest.  To become a faster runner.  To be confident in my ability as a runner.  To go out for a run and set a goal and meet that goal.  To surpass that goal by 1 second.  I want to run big.  I want to run hard.

IMG00057

Ok, so I had one.  But, it wasn’t the carrot cupcake.  Certainly not as satisfying but its a start!!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. August 27, 2009 1:54 am

    I’m sorry, all I can concentrate on are those cupcakes! You seriously expect me to be able to read about running while looking at those little temptations?! You’ve got me googling recipes to make those babies!

  2. August 27, 2009 1:58 am

    Ok, if you got that picture from an actual recipe, I want it pronto. I’m dying here……

  3. August 27, 2009 11:14 am

    Yea I definitely hear you on this. I think about it all the time too. That’s a great thing about running/runners always trying to push and work at your peak, there’s always possibility for improvement. It’s an adventure 🙂

  4. August 27, 2009 12:39 pm

    Not every run should be fast. Most runners incorporate long slow distance and recovery runs into their training. It’s definitely good to have a goal. Get out there and run the 5 miler in under 50 minutes!

  5. August 27, 2009 1:19 pm

    I wants me some speed too! We can do this… In the mean time, I’ll hold onto dem cupcakes fo ya….

  6. August 27, 2009 3:41 pm

    crack kills. speed helps. git you sum.

  7. August 27, 2009 9:41 pm

    After your 100 miles, you deserve a cupcake or two. And speed will come, fo sho! I know it.

  8. August 28, 2009 12:33 am

    Speedwork is actually easy to do and a lot of fun … the hardest part is just doing it. I’ve been lacking in that effort. I’ve fallen into the rut of same old, same old pace this summer. All you need is one day of speed work a week to make a different. Let’s find it virtually this fall.

  9. August 28, 2009 1:53 am

    I love the quotes! Totally pump me up!

  10. August 28, 2009 4:04 am

    yum cupcakes. they definitely help the speedwork. or that’s what I keep telling myself!

  11. August 31, 2009 10:06 pm

    Keep plugging away. You ARE getting faster after your time off because of TOE. I agree w/ Ansky – sub 50 5 miler! 🙂

Leave a Reply

