Skip to content

Hometown Glory and The Speed of Sound

September 11, 2009

IMG00121

So, I attended the Fashion Night Out at Niketown in NYC where Kara Goucher was the guest of honor. I would have liked to participate in the run but since I ran the speed workout the night before and I ran this AM I was pooped ~ I know, poor excuse! :O( They were running 3 miles.

She is adorable really. Very humble and young looking. The best part was when they asked her “what is your 24 hours before and 24 hours after running a marathon like for you.

She got really emotional and started crying a bit and said that she writes her family and husband a letter thanking them for their support and then when she crosses the finish line of the marathon she becomes emotional again and it stays with her for a while, all the training and hard work ~ and she wiped away a tear. Very endearing.

She also said one of her workouts that Alberto Salazar makes her do is 8 x 1 miles with 1/4 jog at 4.55 pace and 18 mile tempo runs at 5.10 ~ 5.40 ~ 5.10? She had me at 8 x 1 miles at 4.55 pace!!

When she said that she runs 8 x 1 miles at 4.55 pace there was an audible gasp from the audience.  And when I say audible I mean I gasped the loudest.  How insane is that to run 1 mile in 4.55 pace?  Or is it insane that I run 1 mile in 9.30 pace?

Anyway, Kara is really cool and down to earth.  Like a regular person, ummm because she is a regular person.  And I don’t mean regular in the sense that she poops everyday, I mean regular like you and me regular.

And speaking of speed and regular I did my second speed workout and my first speed workout with the Nike Pacer’s group on Wednesday evening.  Man, what a workout.  It kicked my ASS!  Then kicked some more!!

The workout called for:

This week we are going back to cruise intervals with a workout of 4-7 x 1000 at 10-15 seconds slower per mile than 5K pace. What makes the workout interesting is that we will just take a very short 1-minute recovery between each interval. This type of workout is great for building your lactate threshold, but the key is control.

Yeah, whatever that means.  Do I really want to build my lactate threshold and/or be in control??  Because that seemed to be key!!

We met at Paragon Sports and had to run 1.75 miles to the track ~ through the streets of Manhattan. What a scene. 60 runners weaving in and out of traffic.  Then there was me.

Warm up 1.75 miles ~ my garmin simply wasn’t having it and took the entire 1.75 to find satellite.   I was so pissed off that Seth was not timing the w/u ~ every 3 seconds during the warm up run I was glancing at him giving him the tongue cluck and the evil eye ~ I am pretty sure at one point, when we stopped for a light, I sort of put my hands on my head as if to stretch, but really I was pointing Seth up to the sky to help facilitate the finding of the satellite.  Seth must have been asleep and I couldn’t wake him up.  Yeah, story of my life.

At the track: (track was really nice) Seth finally awoke.  He was all like YO bitch what up YO??  Yes, that is how he speaks to me sometimes.

Interval 1 0.52 4.32 (8.45 min/mile)
Interval 2 0.64 5.36 (8.45 min/mile)
Interval 3 0.65 6.03 (9.22 min/mile)
Interval 4 0.54 5.16 (9.40 min/mile)
Cool Down??? 1.75 23.51

So, interval 1 I decided to do 800 and I’m all like take that bitch I just ran a 4.30 1/2.  I ROCK!  Interval 2 I decided to do the 1000 because like I said, I ROCK!  Not bad, same pace as the 800.  Interval 3, sure instead of feeling like I ROCK ~ I started feeling more like I PEBBLE!!  Still did the 1000, but I slowed considerably.  By then I was cooked like a turkey.   But, no I slowly started my own 800 ~ slowly ~ came in in 5.16.  I will call that the cool down before the cool down.

Now it is 7.40pm and we needed to get back to Paragon before 8pm closing  So now I PEBBLE is running back through the streets of Manhattan which included a footbridge uphill.  I was cursing the day I was born.  Well not really, but I did curse at some homeless dude.  Got back (barely) grabbed two waters and drank as if it was the last water on earth.

Then I went home.

I am beginning to really love speed workouts.  They should kick ASS.  That is the whole point.  To push yourself harder than normal to get the most out of the workout.  Or some such shit like that!!  Oh, at one point the 6 minute milers blew past me so fast that I don’t even know if I really saw them or I was hallucinating.

Fun times.

Today,  because I was a wuss last night

And didn’t run with Kara and the group I decided to run 3 miles today in her honor! And also in honor of all those who lost their lives in 9/11. It was a rainy windy run but I had to do it. 3 miles 31.02 10.20 min/mile.
Mile 1 10.45
Mile 2 10.30
Mile 3 9.46

Tomorrow is a total rest day for me because Sunday I am riding in the NYC Century Bike ride and I am signed up for the 55 mile ride. I am looking forward to that!!

Have a great Friday folks!

People begin running for any number of motives, but we stick to it for one basic reason-to find out who we really are.

George Sheehan, M.D.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2009 6:00 pm

    enjoy the ride, I’m doing a century ride too! huh. great minds think alike? Very cool about Kara, she seems very down to earth.

  2. September 11, 2009 7:08 pm

    Kara is my hero, and pooping is part of being a regular person 🙂

    Nice speed workouts chica! If it makes you feel any better, I swear my Garmin was flaking on me Wednesday. It could only find three satellites. Geeez… I mean, don’t they change the batteries in those things?

    Have a great ride this weekend!!

  3. September 11, 2009 7:21 pm

    Have a great ride!! I wish I could do it!!!

  4. September 11, 2009 7:57 pm

    First of all, I am SOOOOOOOOO jealous of you seeing Kara. When I read the news that she’s gonna be in Niketown, omg, I wished so hard to be there. But I’m not there. Booooo!

    Great work!!!!

    I try not to think about how fast those elite runners are.

  5. September 11, 2009 9:03 pm

    Piece of advice about Seth…turn him on when you get off the subway and walking to Paragon. This way you’ll catch the signal before you go into Paragon. Yes, you will lose the signal when you’re inside but Seth is smart and remembers where he lost the signal. When you leave the store simply hit “start’ and begin running.

    Sorry I missed the speed workout. I’m itching to be there but life has gotten in the way. Hopefully this coming Wednesday.

  6. September 11, 2009 10:19 pm

    How cool that you can do such fun things in the big city? I’m jealous of your opportunities! 🙂 Sounds like you had fun at niketown!

    Great job with all the running and sticking with it. Your awesome!

    Enjoy your ride!

  7. September 12, 2009 12:10 am

    On the speed work, you’ll have to force yourself to slow down on the first interval — how to do it though it tough. I struggled with that several years ago and am curious w/how I’ll do once I start again soon.

    Have a great ride!

  8. September 12, 2009 4:15 am

    It’s so great you get to go to events like this and run around MANHATTAN. I am so jealous… 🙂

  9. September 13, 2009 4:57 am

    How cool — to be able to hear Kara Goucher speak. She does seem to be a genuinely nice person.

  10. September 13, 2009 9:37 pm

    hope the bike ride was fun!

  11. September 15, 2009 11:05 pm

    Kara is soooooo fun. (and by fun, I mean cute) 🙂

    GREAT JOB on the intervals. Isn’t it great to see those fast times?

  12. September 17, 2009 2:44 pm

    Your Garmin is called Seth? I freaking LOVE IT!

    I am so happy youare loving speedwork. I told you! Don’tcha feel all tough now?

    And: I love that you wrote down the 4:55 mile-repeats story from Kara. I thought I’d mis-heard.

  13. PunkRockRunner permalink
    September 18, 2009 3:10 pm

    So jealous that you get to run in NYC. That Kara girl should stick with running, she might have a future in the sport if she keeps with it 🙂

Leave a Reply

