Skip to content

Barriers.

October 9, 2009

I thought the fight was over
All battles won
I thought you lit your blind folds
And watched them burn
I thought that I could show you
All that I’ve found
But these barriers dictate all sight and all sound

So here I was getting my running on.  Day after day.  Monday I had an awesome run.  I met my goal of running 6 miles in under 1 hour.  Here are the stats for you number hungry peeps.

6 Miles   58.52

9.49 min/mile

Mile  1  10.17   2  10.15   3   10.21   4   9.49   5   8.55   6   9.14

It was at the mega fast mile #5 that I felt it.  My left hamstring sort of gave a pop.  Not a maddening intense pain that had me stopping or anything, but a pain that was noticeable and annoying.  Yet, I kept on running.  I had to right?  I was running my best and was on track to meet my goal.  I couldn’t stop.  So, when I hit Seth at 58.52 I still had a smile on my face. And I could have kept going, at that fast pace.  I was so in the zone ~ the mojo was flowing and my legs (minus left hamstring) had more to give to me.

BARRIER BROKEN!

Now, I have to deal with the pain.  So, I ice ~ stretch and curse.  I will not run until I am pain free or able to run so that the pain does not get worse.

BARRIER BACK UP!

This is typical for me.  I do great for a while, then TICK TICK BOOM.  So what is a girl to do?  Wallow in self pity?  Become depressed while shoving HOHO’s in my mouth faster than I can chew and swallow?  Not sure why I picked HoHo’s as the thing to shove into my mouth, but Whateva!  Become the ultimate couch potato or home fry as I like to call it?  Nah, none of the above dude!!

BARRIERS SLOWLY GOING DOWN:

Cycling has become this thing I do.  This fun activity that makes me move and honestly, I have come to enjoy it  A LOT!  Sure, it takes a lot longer than going for a 5 mile run.  Sure, I would rather be riding a Specialized AMIRA or Cannondale Synapse but for right now, I am lugging around a heavy ass mountain bike that does the job but not quite.  I can go fast, but not fast enough.  I am on the precipice of being a good cyclist or being a very good cyclist.   Just hanging on the edge.  Cycling is freedom and fun and speed.  It is the air blowing in my face.  It is freedom.  Those bikes up there, though ~ they give me a sweet ass bikegasm.

Not to worry though, running is my first love.  But, if I cannot do it, then I need to do something else that I can do just as good.

Barriers Barriers Barriers.

279778

I read, with admiration, everybody’s training and racing and the barriers that those peeps overcome.  It gives me a sense of pride to know that there are folks out there who move their ass and choose between being a couch potato or being an active member of society.  I don’t see it any other way, really.  Sure, sitting on one’s butt viewing a film and drinking a pumpkin ale is awesome and I do it.  A LOT!  But I also move A LOT!

BARRIERS BREAKING DOWN.

With my left hamstring feeling tight and painful, I have no other choice but to cycle.  And cycle hard.  I plan a 50 miler this weekend, weather permitting.  I wish I had some company to enjoy the day with, but most of my friends are running this weekend in races.  I support them all and as they run, I will cycle to freedom.

I have also recently signed up for two Turkey Trots.  A 5k and a 5 miler.  Plus I have this Nike Human Race ~ because I am human, after all. I’ve got lofty goals for these races.  And, why shouldn’t I have these lofty goals?  Gotta think big right?

Nike_tomorrow

I admit, sometimes I can’t fight the power, and I get discouraged.  But, only for a moment.  Or two.  Then I totally snap out of that shit.

Have you noticed, that the more you hurry, the slower you go?

The more you wait, the longer it takes?

The more you worry, the less you dream?

But the more you live, love, and laugh, Michelle, the more you live, love, and laugh.

Weird?
The Universe

Yeah, weird.

BARRIER’S GONE!!

“How vain it is to sit down to write when you have not stood up to live” – Henry David Thoreau (THANK YOU PUNKROCKRUNNER)

There is nothing quite so gentle, deep, and irrational as our running—and nothing quite so savage, and so wild.

Life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance you must keep moving. -Albert Einstein

Keep it moving folks.  Nothing to see here!!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2009 1:56 am

    glad to hear your into biking. biking is good. good for you. good for the soul. you’ll soon be addicted. like me. oh ya.

  2. October 10, 2009 2:37 am

    Hope the hammy is feeling better, and that you can resume running activities again very soon. Just please take it easy the first few times out…

    Don’t let yourself get down. Injuries happen, a lot (at least to me, it seems), so get used to it! I see it as the body’s natural way of saying it is not happy with all the consecutive 100 mile months, and it wants a little break 🙂

    Finally, what, exactly, is wrong with a package of HoHo’s every once in awhile?

  3. October 10, 2009 8:36 pm

    glad you found cycling as an alternative…who knows you may end up liking that even more than running!!

    barriers just mean we need to find another path…

  4. October 11, 2009 2:58 pm

    hope your leg is starting to feel better already!! you always put such a positive spin on things, thank you for that. i have been struggling this week/weekend with feeling ‘off’/crappy and wondering if i am mentally working myself up or if i am really feeling sick. hope you were able to get that 50-mile ride in!

  5. October 12, 2009 2:17 pm

    I lurve cycling! and swimming! and running!! 🙂

  6. October 13, 2009 3:36 am

    Nice 6 miler girl! I’m super proud of you!

  7. October 13, 2009 5:02 pm

    Again, NICE job on the sub 1 hr run. That is SOOO great. Biking is probably the way to go if your hamstring is tight. I don’t feel that biking stresses them out as much as it does your quads.

    I also REALLY love that Nike sign. I’m going to try to find a bigger one and make it my laptop background!!

  8. October 14, 2009 4:37 pm

    How’s the hammy? Do you think it will allow you to race next weekend?

  9. October 18, 2009 9:26 pm

    and i want to hear more about the pushups. i’m restarting the challenge in november

Leave a Reply

