Skip to content

Baby Bear Learning.

October 23, 2009

j8mumf

It was planned for a while.  The run with my friends, I mean.  October 21st.  That date was stuck in my head and as the day came closer ~ I got a bit nervous.  You see, the friends I was going to run with, well lets just say they are better, faster runners than I am.  And I am cool with that.  I got anxious thinking that the pace would be too slow for both TK and BW, but TK lovingly emailed me and said “We will find a pace that works for us all! xo  That put a grin on my face.

Now let me just give you a bit of background.  TK ~ what an awesome chica she is.  Full of life and enthusiasm and love of the run.  Her blog Pigtailsflying is always an awesome read.  She ran the – Fifth Avenue Mile 9/21/086:36. Did you read that right??  Yes, you did!!  Then there is BW of BrandonMarathon‘ fame.  Check him out.  He is IRONMAN.  He is an Opera Singer and he is an all-around awesome dude.

So, we met up at 72nd Street and 5th Avenue and we each made sure our Garmin’s were set to go, and we went.  Into the park, in the dark, which I have never done before.  I was a newbie venturing into unknown territory.  All I kept thinking was keep up Michelle, keep up.  It was dark and then all of a sudden we were climbing up the mountain.  Errr, the hill.  Cat hill.  That dreaded hill that a lot of peeps do their hill repeats on.  Yeah, that one.   So, on we went.  Then there were steps.  UP!  To the unbelievably awesome reservoir.  I have never run there before so this was a treat!  It offered really sensational views of the city.  Just twinkling lights and the crunch of runners feet blazing by me.  It was awesome and I was sweating and breathing hard.

BUT, TK and BW never left me.  They never said “later for you Michelle”  Nope.  They stayed with me.  Always making sure I was with them.  Never made me feel inferior.  In fact, just the opposite.  I dig that in people.  They gave me good tips on running form that I am going to work on.  Good tips on running up hills, that I am going to work on.

I read TK’s blog post today and it made me giggle:

The three of us running together truly is a case of Goldilocks–Brandon is Papa Bear, I am Mama Bear, and Michelle is Baby Bear. We range the gamut in height and speed, but managed to sort it out and find a Just Right pace.

So, I dub myself Baby Bear Learning.  And, in learning about running and in running with TK and BW, I learned that there are indeed good people out there.  People who do what they say they will do.  People who make plans weeks in advance, and make it happen.  People, whom I am quite honestly, very happy to have met.  It was a Just Right run.

thank you

I ended up with 5.76 miles in 1.00.10.   With a 1842 elevation gain.  My hamstring, while not at 100% gave me zero arguments and let me do my thang!!!

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you’ve said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.”  Maya Angelou

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2009 3:28 pm

    Awesome, Michelle! What great people to run with. They really DO care about helping people. Way to keep running, girl!

  2. October 23, 2009 5:25 pm

    Baby Bear 🙂 I like that. Glad the hammy is coming around, and cool friends are, well, cool!!

  3. October 23, 2009 6:03 pm

    LOLLL… I like that… cute baby bear !!! Way to go !!! It was truly nice of Papa Bear and Mama Bear to help you out. That is so AWESOME !!!

  4. October 23, 2009 6:10 pm

    awesome!! you’ve got some good peeps….excellent bears to learn from!

  5. October 24, 2009 4:45 am

    I’m glad your hammy isnt being a pain anymore! Cute story too! Sounds like you have some good people in your life too!! xoxo

  6. October 24, 2009 4:40 pm

    Michelle you are too kind! We did what anyone else would do! And we are not BETTER runners. How many times is Brandon going to have to tell you “it’s all relative” ??

    I say you incorporate one hilly run a week (Prospect Park Look is hilly!) and you’ll tame the Cat before you know it, Baby Bear!!

  7. October 26, 2009 3:39 pm

    Michelle,

    Thank you so much for your praise!

    As TK said above, we’re not “better” at all. The only person who can be better than you is you. You have the right attitude and determination to want to go faster, harder, farther. Don’t get too hung up in numbers or it’ll be like the adage: A watched pot never boils. In fact, maybe try to calculate your HR zones and run ONLY with those for a while. Only look at you pace and distance after your runs, or not at all.

    If I’m not mistaken, you have a Garmin 405, right? Well, it can hold 100 runs before it’s full, so why don’t you try this: For 2 weeks, do your runs concetrating on form, efficiency and perceived effort. Throw in a once a week hill workout as TK suggested. During the two weeks, DON’T UPLOAD YOU DATA AND DO NOT LOOK AT IT AT ALL. Then, at the end of those 2 weeks, take a look at your pace. You’ll be surprised!

    BW

  8. October 26, 2009 10:50 pm

    That is too fun! I’ve had a good time listening to Brandon’s podcast on his way to IM WI. Too cool that you guys got out there to run!

    I can’t wait to get all healed up and run with a group again. I didn’t do it for SO long but now I almost miss it a bit.

  9. October 27, 2009 12:22 am

    sounds like a good run! your friends are an awesome group 🙂 glad your leg is doing well!

Leave a Reply

