Skip to content

Friends Like These

December 2, 2009

ZENSAH COMPRESSION CALF SLEEVES AND INJINJI SOCKS.

So there was a running tweet up last night.  Wait WHAT you ask?   Twitter?  You know that place where you go and write 140 words or less and somehow connect with other folks doing the exact same thing.  It’s a big and small community over there.  You can spend entire days twittering or you can catch up with your buddies with a big HELLO and how ya doing!  Because of twitter and blogging and facebook I have met lots of runner folks.  Just like you and just like me.

So last night a group of us met up in Central Park for a run.  It was awesome really.  I was quickly recognized because of my curls.  I like that.  Hey Michelle nice to meet you I recognize you from your curly hair!!!

There was a Boston qualifier in the group, there was a cool lady who just a few weeks ago ran the Knickerbocker 60k.  That’s 37.2 miles all run in Central Park.  Yep she was there. There was Ari over at Run Ansky Run ~ a cool friend who is celebrating a birthday today!!  There was a cool guy from Boston who was in NYC on business and wanted to run in Central Park but didn’t want to run alone.  So, he did a search on twitter for Central Park runs and found our Tweet up!!  How cool is that?  A perfect stranger found us on twitter!   Scott over at 4.30 or bust ran too.  He is a great dude that I met on Daily Mile and he ran with me.  We had a good conversation and an equally good run.  Admittedly, I was the slowest of the bunch and while it did frustrate me at the time, I now realize I am just as much a runner as the next guy.  Just slower is all.

The organizer of the Tweet up is my good buddy Pigtailsflying also known as TK AKA Mama Bear.  She had a great idea and ran with it.  (Pun intended)

So, needless to say I am loving running right now.  The weather has been spectacular and even though I am not nearly as fast as I’d like to be, I will accept that fact and just keep moving forward.

I ran 100 miles for the month of November culminating with a 9 miler this past Sunday that was every bit as hard as any of my half marathon races.  I was alone and the only thing keeping me moving was my own mind saying DON’T SLOW DOWN, JUST DO IT, KEEP ON MOVING….RUN LIKE YOU MEAN IT!!!  And I did.

Here are the stats:

Running: For November

Total Mileage:  101.16

Total Number of Runs: 34

Time spent running:  19.26.01 hrs

Cycling: November

Total Mileage:  47.89

Number of Rides:  4

Time spent riding:  4.38.58

Total distance run for the year so far:  877.28

Total number of runs:  241

Time spent running:  164.11.08

So my immediate goal is to hit 1000 miles, but I really don’t see that happening because that means I need to run 113 miles between now and the end of the year.  I will really give it my best shot, but I am wondering if it’s doable and worth it.

I have a lot to look back on and reflect on and I have much more to look forward to.  Many races to come.  Lot’s of PR’s and speed and more friends to meet.  Tweet ups and food and cupcakes and a beer or two will be a part of the end of year festivities.

I wonder how 2010 will start?  Well, definitely with a run.  Like you had to ask!!

Usually, Michelle, the wiser you are, the easier life gets.

But then, the happier you are, the less you need easy, the faster you can run, and the higher you can jump.

GO CONFIDENTLY IN THE DIRECTION OF YOUR DREAMS.  Henry David Thoreau

GO NOW!!!

Go for happy,
The Universe

19 Comments leave one →
  1. swimmykimy permalink
    December 2, 2009 9:47 pm

    I love the running tweet up idea, I need to start this in Boston!!! 🙂

  2. December 2, 2009 10:13 pm

    hi. Also a stranger from twitter. 🙂 Sounds like a great running tweetup. keep running and have a good December.

  3. December 3, 2009 1:19 am

    So glad you are lovin’ running right now! LOOK at those stats! 🙂 WOW!

  4. December 3, 2009 1:21 am

    How fun! One day, we’ll have an East Coast Tweetup like your New York one! Better yet, it sounds like your run embodied the spirit of the sport — lots of room for all paces, all ages, all everything.

  5. December 3, 2009 1:34 am

    yay for injinji socks!

  6. December 3, 2009 1:43 am

    I love it! Hopefully Boulder will be doing the same TweetUp soon, it would be cool to run with the awesome people here. Well, assuming they don’t leave me in the dust.

  7. December 3, 2009 1:55 am

    1,000 miles is certainly reachable, but don’t hurt yourself in the process. Are there any races in January you could do to make all that running worth it? Otherwise I would back off the gas pedal and aim high for 2010. I’m looking forward to 2010 so much that I haven’t even added up my November miles (which were pretty bad, but much better than October).

  8. December 3, 2009 8:40 am

    Wow-michelle I love your blog

    what an inspiration. thanks for sharing!

    I especially love your photos/quotes with inspiring things for not just running–but life itself.

    thanks for brightening up my day!

  9. December 3, 2009 1:12 pm

    Awesome post michelle! And what awesome stats you have for this month, I am truely jealous. When I start training next week I will be looking to you, your blog and your daily mile for motivation!! -B

  10. December 3, 2009 3:10 pm

    Even when you are down, which is seldom long, you lurve running. Silly 🙂 I’m not into the tweet thing. I’m shy ya know? 🙂

  11. December 3, 2009 3:15 pm

    BTW: Those Zensah sleeves are sexy sexy. I’ve never run 100 miles in a month. I’m a slacker!!

  12. December 3, 2009 3:59 pm

    you rocked november chica! way to go!!!!! 🙂 i love the zensah leg warmers! i have the arm warmers and i just LOVE them!

  13. December 3, 2009 8:37 pm

    those sleeves and socks look comfy. 34 runs in one month is insane! good job michelle.

  14. December 4, 2009 2:03 am

    you have such a great attitude girl, i love it. everyday i come to your blog, you are just a ray of sunshine! 🙂

    sounds like a fun tweet-up and very cool about the random guy finding out about it to join in!

    keep on running, you RUNNER!

  15. December 4, 2009 5:00 pm

    100 miles? You = Rock Star!!!

  16. December 5, 2009 1:21 am

    Love the tweetup…love the idea of 1000 miles, but 130 in a month is a lot…I’d say run like you don’t care and if you get to the 21st with 35 – 40 to go then go for it, but if not, make it a goal for 2010…maybe 1005 for 2010…I don’t know…just free form thinking now…anyway, may have to try and get this tweetup thing going on up here in Boston!
    -Matt W

  17. December 7, 2009 9:54 pm

    Do it do it do it do it!! I know that you can break 1000!! How amazing would that be after being laid up for as long as you were with your toe!?

    Speaking of toes, that picture is wild 🙂

  18. December 9, 2009 7:05 pm

    I’m a big fan of the Injinji socks. Mine are black. Best running socks EVER.

    I’ll have to look at the compression sleeves. I’ve seen a few people in Honolulu wear them, but our weather isn’t cold enough to justify extra layers on the legs…

Trackbacks

  1. Running to the Rest Day « Pigtails Flying

Leave a Reply

