Skip to content

What’s the use of wonderin’?

December 26, 2009

It has come down to 9.88 miles and me.  No, that’s not right.  It has come down to 9.88 miles, me and my right hamstring/butt.  Yeah, thats right.  It’s a fight now.  5 days ~ 9.88 miles, but it hurts to run.   It’s not supposed to hurt is it?  I’m not supposed to run, and feel pain, and limp and struggle, am I?  I want this so badly.  I want to reach 1000 running miles.

But, how ridiculous would it be if during the process of achieving the 1000 miles, I injure myself to the point of no return.  I injure myself and I simply cannot run on January 1st 2010.

Is it plain stupidity or is it the built in gobbledigook that all us runners have deep inside of us to reach these goals that we make at the beginning of every year.

I think for me it’s a bit of both or none of the above.  I think this post should really be a wrap up of sorts.  With only 5 days left in 2009, I really should be reflecting and looking back, but most importantly, looking ahead.  But, I cannot do either of those things until that distance up there squeaks and turns and rotates to 1000.  I just can’t and I am sorry for that.  I have been like this for most of my life.  Setting goals and trying hard to reach the goal I set, no matter what.  Ok, dudes if my leg were hanging off of my body and I literally couldn’t run, well then I’d crawl.  Yeah, I probably would.  I am that much of a moron.

And if you come up to me and politely ask me “why” I probably wouldn’t be able to give you much of an answer that you would understand, and walk away with, nodding “yeah, I get it”.  It just is what it is.  I truly hope you can all understand, and if not understand, then perhaps, accept me for who I am.

Who am I?  I am a giving, caring, loving, daughter, sister and RUNNER.  I run happy.  I am happy when I run.  I am happy when I am able to share my running exploits with others.  I am happy running with others.  I am happy if I inspire just one other person to run.  I dig that a lot.  I am still baby bear.  I have so much to learn and accomplish and achieve.  So, who am I?  Just a person who loves the sport of running.  It gives me great pleasure.  Man, I’ll never forget the run I did with my buddy Scott. 5 miles in Central Park and we really ran fast for the last 1/4 mile.  When the run was over, all I could think of was giving Scott a “high five” and saying over and over how awesome the run was.

For most non-runners, the thought of running 5 miles in Central Park at night in the cold and wind sounds not only daunting, but not so much fun.  It’s fun.  Believe me.  Anything that makes you feel good, is fun.

With the internet here, I have so many folks “running” the miles with me.  Two friends that I would like to give a shout out to are Matt over at RunLuauRun and Peter over at Runblogger.  These two men are most exceptional in that they have vowed to inspire me and run the last 105 miles with me.  How incredible is that??  I want to thank them both so very much and say with all honesty, that I don’t know if I would have done it without their help and motivation.  So, thank you a million times Matt and Peter.  You are both awesome!!

Plus, every single other person who has given me an encouraging word on facebook, twitter and Daily Mile.  I thank you so very much.

Then, the thing that you dread the most slowly starts happening.  You feel a little pain when running and think to yourself, “eh, its nothing”.  Then tomorrow comes and that pain is still there plus some more cruddy feelings that just don’t quit.  Day three and your butt starts yelling at you.  Shit happens.  But shit simply cannot happen when I am trying to reach 1000 miles.  It just cannot.

So, 5 days 9.88 miles.  You know damn well its going to happen.  You know damn well, I will make it happen.  And none of those 9.88 miles will be walking.  Not that there’s anything wrong with walking, but hey, I’m a runner.

So, don’t wonder.  I am here to tell you it will be done.  And I am here to tell you, that once it’s done, I will blog about it, I will probably twitter about it.  I will write up a post over at Daily Mile and then 2010 comes and I start all over again.  That is the way it goes with us runners right?

“Daylight has found me here again. You can ask me anything but where I’ve been.” – Alison Moorer

Remember, the feeling you get from a good run is far better than the feeling you get from sitting around wishing you were running!

REMEMBER THAT!!!


17 Comments leave one →
  1. December 26, 2009 11:46 pm

    You are inspiring! I want to set a goal like this for 2010. You should feel so proud!

  2. December 27, 2009 12:12 am

    Michelle, I love how you write “your butt starts yelling at you. Shit happens.” I don’t think you were going for scatelogical humor but that was pretty fuckin hilarious.

    Please ice, please rest, please stretch. You can run 2.5 miles a day and be done. No need to crank out two 5’s. And go get a massage on January 1. Have someone rub your ass! HAHA!

  3. December 27, 2009 12:13 am

    I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again: I probably would not have run the miles I have run this month without your Quest for 1000. So thank you! You have been an inspiration to me! In honor of you taking the weekend off, I too will wait til Monday or Tuesday to run my final 6.17. I’m just sorry that I can’t do it in your neck of the woods. Would have been great to run the final few miles together. I know you’ll do it. I have no doubt! We are runners!

  4. December 27, 2009 12:42 am

    dude – if it was anything else, you know I’d be telling you to “take it easy” and “listen to your body” but I know that if I was less than 10 miles away from 1,000 miles in one year that I wouldn’t listen either. SO – be careful & if you need to take the full 5 days to run those miles, do that.
    BUT – you are so awesome & I can’t wait to get to the 1000 next year!

    WOO! can’t wait to read your “I did it” post!

  5. December 27, 2009 1:29 am

    You are too sweet! And YES I’d love for you to add me! LOL at TK “have someone rub your ass!” That’s so funny! Incentive!

    Run Michelle Run!

  6. December 27, 2009 1:38 am

    How about 2 miles a day?

  7. December 27, 2009 1:48 am

    You mentioned the awesome run we had on 12/10, but I keep coming back to the group run we did on Dec 1, to start the month. That was the one where you were down on yourself because you were having a rough time that day. Look at how you recovered from that day and how far you’ve gone in the few weeks since. You didn’t even take a day off from running until today. It is truly inspiring to me.

    That was the same run where I decided to give it a go and try to run 93 miles in Dec to get to my goal of 800. I’m sure I would not have tried that, and kept going, and gotten within striking distance, without your motivation, so thank you as well.

    As far as I’m concerned, do whatever you need to do to reach your goal, even if it means you can’t run on Jan 1. Hell, take a week or two off to start the year, you deserve it, and you’ll still have plenty of time to reach whatever goals you set for 2010. In fact, I know you’ll enter 2010 smarter and better prepared to meet the challenges that await…

  8. December 27, 2009 2:14 am

    Wow you’re so close!! I’m really rooting for you to finish off this 1000 mile journey! Have you ever read the story in Runners world going through his running log on NYE only to realize he was just a few miles short of 1000 (or maybe it was 1500) so he went out at about 11pm and finished it off. Anyway, are you using a foamroll at all? I’m a physical therapist and I swear by the foam roll,you should definitely give it a whirl, try to get on it a few times a day for a few minutes at a time and roll away! Ice is definitely your friend right now, 20mins at a time, multiple times throughout the day, incl pre and post run. 🙂 good luck, hope you can join us on Tuesday!!

  9. December 27, 2009 3:25 am

    Michelle – Despite the injury, I know I’d be doing the exact same thing as you right now. Numbers have meaning to us runners, and often they are what keep us going. You can finish this, hit your goal, and then take time off after the first of the year to recuperate. I’m at 104 miles since Dec. 7, you can do this!!! Advil, ice, and short, easy runs, and it’s yours!

  10. December 27, 2009 5:29 pm

    Maybe now it’s time we run together. Slowing you down with some walking may be just the thing to help you finish the 1000 without injury. Give me a call.

  11. December 27, 2009 8:52 pm

    Hell! Go for it! Get it out of the way, then you got a few days to rest.
    1000 mile year, that’s awesome.

  12. December 28, 2009 3:26 am

    Go for it girl! YOU CAN DO IT!

  13. December 28, 2009 2:14 pm

    YOU.GOT.THIS 🙂

  14. December 28, 2009 2:32 pm

    you can do it girl! take them nice and easy, even just running 1 mile at a time til you get your 9.88. i’m hoping there’s *just no way* you could possibly get seriously injured with your hammy – take them slow and knock them all down, and then pamper that hammy with a massage and some R.I.C.E? 🙂

  15. December 29, 2009 2:55 pm

    You really shouldn’t do it – you could make the injury worse – listen to your body and rest. Running is bad for your knees.

    JUST KIDDING

    I understand your quandry and would totally do the same thing. Our motivations as runners seem ridiculous and make absolutely no sense to people that don’t run. That’s what makes the goals so deliciously irresistable. If I was in your shoes, I would do the 9.x miles if it meant doing it on crutches. I don’t know why, it’s not smart, but no one said you had to be smart to be a runner.

  16. December 30, 2009 4:32 am

    I think you’ve done it now, so CONGRATS!!!! You’re awesome! All the best in 2010 Michelle!

  17. January 3, 2010 4:44 pm

    HEY! Long time it seems. Like always the holidays get in the way I suppose! 😦

    You have a GREAT attitude. I can’t wait to see WHEN you make it. Not if, but when.

Leave a Reply

