Skip to content

Some days even my lucky rocketship underpants won’t help

January 16, 2010

For a long time now, I’ve been wanting to talk about who I am.   You all know me as BklynRunner.  Michjoy the “runner”.  Running 1000 miles.  Cycling a bit.  Doing some push ups.  And of course, running.  You all know how much I love to run and how excited I get when I can run with friends.  I support my fellow runners 100% and I love to do that.  It makes me happy to see others feeling happy because of what I say or do.  Hey, a high five here and a smile there and you can make somebody feel good about themselves.  I do all that because I love to.  It’s who I am.

But there is a whole other side.  Well not really, but the non-running side, perhaps.  I realize this blog is my “running” blog, but today I want it to be just a little bit more.

So, right now I am my mother’s care-giver.  She has something called CLL which is chronic lymphocytic leukemia. She has had it for the last 7 years and thankfully had not needed treatment.  It’s chronic meaning it is a disease that is long-lasting or recurrent and not acute meaning a short course and rapid onset.   It was discovered exactly as described.  She had a bad cough and cold, went to the doctor, took a blood test and her white blood count was very high.   So, she was then sent to a hematologist oncologist who is a doctor with special training in the diagnosis and treatment of blood diseases, especially blood cell cancers. This type of doctor is trained in hematology (the study of blood) and oncology (the study of cancer) where she was diagnosed with CLL.

She is holding her own yet every time we go to the hematologist I hold my breathe when he reads the blood test results to us.  Since white blood cells fight infection and respond to the presence of foreign substances  CLL cells are not able to fight infection in the same way.  A normal white blood cell count is between 4,500 to 10,000 white blood cells per microliter.  My mom’s is always between 50,000 – 70,000 fluctuating with each blood test.

She is fine.  She does her thing and is able to enjoy life.  She encourages me to run and loves to hear all about it.  Unfortunately, she cannot spectate at any races.  She gets tired and its just too much for her.  Her quality of life is great.  She is pretty funny too, I think thats where I get some of my humor.  So, its all good.

I wanted you, all my new friends to know.

I am so fortunate to have met such wonderful running friends.  It’s hard to really put into words how grateful I am for all of you.  And you know who you are.  I don’t have to mention names.  Is it fate?  Coincidence?  Pure luck?  Who knows.  The support is unwaivering and amazing.

Next weekend is the Manhattan Half Marathon in Central Park and while I am not running it, you bet I will be there spectating.  Pom poms and megaphone in hand.  Oh camera too.  Then of course there’s brunch afterwards.  Can’t miss that.

2010 is going to be a great year.  I can feel it.  I have yet to write a post about my goals for the year, and I think I may actually skip it.  Not because I don’t have goals, but because those of you who have been keeping track, sort of know.  I just want to keep on doing what I am doing, only better.

Michelle, in case you were wondering what might happen next – how this week will unfold, who you will become tomorrow – it all boils down to one thing…

Expectation.

Yours.

Whoohoo,
The Universe

I am who I am because of the way I was brought up.  A loving supportive home.  I’m just giving back a little ya know?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2010 1:15 am

    Love

  2. January 16, 2010 1:38 am

    Great post Michelle, that’s all I can say.

  3. January 16, 2010 1:50 am

    Thanks for sharing. It’s always nice to have some insight like that. I know we haven’t followed other too long (relatively speaking), but I had coming out post more than 2 years ago. Check it out if you’re interested: http://runningbecauseican.wordpress.com/2007/10/15/why-i-keeping-going/

  4. January 16, 2010 2:40 am

    If your mom is half the fighter that you are, I can see why she’s continuing to enjoy life. 🙂

  5. January 16, 2010 3:51 am

    Hugs. I bet that just having you around keeps your mom in great spirits 🙂 Thank you for sharing. I love that we’ve become friends as well, you’re a blast.

  6. January 16, 2010 5:18 am

    Thanks for sharing. I’m sure your positive attitude and full support is a huge help to your mom’s well-being…

  7. January 16, 2010 5:04 pm

    Thanks for sharing! What an amazing post! 🙂

  8. January 16, 2010 9:00 pm

    Thanks for sharing, Michelle! Great post! You are an amazing person (even though I haven’t met you in person) and I can only imagine how amazing your mother is! 🙂

  9. January 17, 2010 4:51 am

    I always knew you were a bad ass caring loving person. This post just confirmed that.

    Have a great race next weekend and all my best thoughts are with you and your family (like always).

    All the best,

    Ron

  10. January 17, 2010 4:57 am

    amazing.
    my grandpa had lymphoma.

    you are awesome.

  11. January 17, 2010 5:15 pm

    thanks for sharing this intimate part of your life – i know it must be tough some days, but i know you are also strong. love and hugs to you and your mom.

  12. January 17, 2010 5:48 pm

    Michelle-Thanks for sharing your story. You do so much to help others. The run-net community is lucky to have you and so is your mom. I hope 2010 is a good one for you and yours. Keep on fighting.

  13. January 17, 2010 6:35 pm

    That was a great post.

  14. January 17, 2010 11:33 pm

    I just started following you and you are inspiring. I hope for the best for you and your (lucky to have a wonderful child like you) mother!

    -Frenchie

  15. January 20, 2010 5:31 am

    I can tell that this post was a weight off of your shoulders. My grandma (who raised me) had lymphoma. Sucky deal. But, taking one day at a time, anything is possible.

    I’m happy that you shared this. You tell your mom to hang in there for me.

  16. January 23, 2010 7:05 am

    Great post, Michelle! I don’t know if you remember me from Daily Mile. I’m not running right now due to an achilles issue, but I’m still updating my blog. I have your blog listed in my blogroll so just popping in to catch up on your posts. Thank you for sharing and thank you for being such a force of encouragement to those around you, including me!

Leave a Reply

