Skip to content

Bridges ~ iPad and Barney

January 28, 2010

Unless your a robot, it is very difficult not to be smitten with that view.  Actually, I think even the most hardcore of robots would stop and take a gander at that view.   Did I just use the word gander?   That is Manhattan taken from the Brooklyn Heights Promenade.   The promenade was just one part of an awesome run that I had the pleasure of running today.

For months now I have been wanting to do the “Bridges Run”.   I’ve been hesitant for a few reasons.  I was nervous to do it, I had no idea where to run and oh yeah I was apprehensive that perhaps, I couldn’t do it!!  Talk about low self esteem.   Then I kept reading on twitter how awesome the run really is and asked my friend Sarah and Scott to run it.  We made a plan and met up and boy was it ever fun.  Canal street up to and over the Manhattan Bridge with striking views to the right of lower Manhattan and to the left the sun shining through which gave the building a beautiful hazy light.  Then into Brooklyn Heights and the Promenade where we stopped to admire the view.  Back out into the streets and up and over the Brooklyn Bridge.  AWESOME.  Funny, both Sarah and I think the Brooklyn Bridge is harder to run over and Scott feels the Manhattan is the harder bridge.  Soon those bridges will be a piece of cake of all of us.

iPad.  No no no it is not my time of the month folks.  I am not speaking about some new fangled maxi pad or iPod or ianything.  I am talking about some new Apple device or fabled tablet, now known as the iPad. We know it has a 9.7-inch screen, weighs 1.5 pounds, has Wi-Fi with a 3G option, and Apple claims it has up to 10 hours of battery life. The iPad runs the iPhone OS and “almost all” iPhone apps and uses the ePub format for books. We know a lot about this device, but there are still so many unanswered questions, not to mention a few mysteries, to keep you guessing.

I admit, its cool looking.  But, I don’t need such a device.  I have all the gadgetry that I need.   I do.

Like this guy right here.  Nope, its not Seth.  Seth has been returned to where he came from.  Garmin land.  He decided to give me grief and not keep his straps on.  You know the strap on.  Yeah that one.  Try as I might to strap it on, it just wouldn’t stay.  So, Seth went back.  In place of Seth, I was sent a “newly overhauled” replacement.  His name is Barney.  Very nice and shiny and newly.   So far so good, but today’s run seemed a bit off on the pacing.  Hopefully, that was just a aberration that will go away as quickly as it came.   I do not want Barney to be known as some eccentric garmin that does its own thing.  I want Barney to be just like all the other Forerunner 405’s, just more awesome.

Speed workouts are going swimmingly.  No, I am not doing swimming speed workouts.  I am doing running speed workouts that are going swimmingly.  Isn’t the english language kinda odd.  Swimmingly means with no problems or difficulties; “put the plans into effect quickly and smoothly”; “despite of some mishaps, everything went swimmingly.  And I digress.

Speed workouts are awesome.  Last nights class included 400’s x 6 with 6 400’s as recovery.  It went as follows:

.25 1.59
.25 1.56
.25 1.59
.25 2.04
.25 2.04
.25 2.01

Those last 3 repeats were tough and I came in dead last in my group.  But, I got them all done and last split was just a tad faster.  After 4 NYRR speed classes I really see and feel a difference in the way I am running.   It’s subtle but it’s there.  I feel it.  I feel stronger with each run i do.  And I am enjoying them.  Good coaching and nice folks.  What more can you ask for.

(photo by Cris)

Spectating at the Manhattan Half Marathon on January 24th with pom poms and a megaphone.  Yep.  And I want to give major props to all of my friends who ran the Half Marathon and did so so great.  I am so proud of you all.  What an effort you all put forth.  Wow.  Just incredible.  A walk in the park right?  No joke.

(photo taken by Cris)

Brunching with awesome runners and friends post Manhattan Half Marathon.  I think I may have said this once or twice before, but runners are the best folks EVAH.  Yep.

If I had a world of my own, everything would be nonsense.  Nothing would be what it is, because everything would be what it isn’t.  And contrary wise, what is, it wouldn’t be.  And what it wouldn’t be, it would.  You see??

I dig that quote and I have no idea why or what it means.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2010 1:00 am

    I like that quote!
    Nice post on your running. Nice blog

  2. January 28, 2010 1:23 am

    🙂 yay for cheering! the iPad is weird. I’m not sure how i feel about it. Just another apple electronic to obsess about i suppose! 🙂

  3. January 28, 2010 1:51 am

    Great post. Looks like you are doing just swimmingly. lol.

  4. January 28, 2010 2:01 am

    I have got to get to NYC one of these days and run. The San Francisco Bay area is awesome BUT I really want to run in the Big Apple. Actually, I’ve never been so it needs to happen (let’s hope the NYCM lottery is kind to me this year).

    The photo of you with the megaphone is amazing 🙂

    Oh, I’ll bet you a cupcake that you end up buying an iPad within the year 😉

    All the best,

    Ron

  5. January 28, 2010 2:05 am

    GReat post M 🙂 I’m looking forward to more pics from the Manhattan Half… do you know of anyone else who has some from either the run or from brunch? did you get any good ones of us? 🙂 I love the Pom-poms picture of you!! haha. classic.

  6. January 28, 2010 3:37 am

    I really need to do a bridge run with you guys. Sounds very cool! Great job girlie

  7. January 28, 2010 1:56 pm

    We don’t get views like that here. Nice!! I guess we got our own digs… I got the Garmin 310XT, cuz I’m, you know, MULTISPORT, but those 405s look cool, and I wear my Garmin 50 to work, cuz deep down inside, I a runner 🙂

  8. January 28, 2010 2:11 pm

    pom poms and a megaphone – i love it!

  9. January 28, 2010 3:20 pm

    Lisa beat me to the punch! I love the pom poms and megaphone! I bet the runners did too!

  10. January 28, 2010 10:59 pm

    I want an iPad. Don’t care what they’re called LOL

  11. January 29, 2010 7:07 pm

    Look at you with the swanky new garmin!! So, the real question, will you also wear it as a watch when not running?

  12. January 30, 2010 1:59 am

    nice job on the speed work!! i felt similarly about the naming of the “iPad”… coulda done better there apple people! love the spectating pic of you! very cute 🙂

  13. January 31, 2010 5:52 pm

    My curly-haired chickadee I love this blog post. The photo with the pompoms is awesome. I am so happy to read that you know you are getting stronger. Also: welcome to the world, Barney!

Leave a Reply

