Skip to content

~ The Bush Woman of Brooklyn ~

February 18, 2010

In case anybody is wondering, this is what I look like these days.  I am the bush-woman of Brooklyn.  I am wild and unkept.  I may even smell a little bit.  This is what 2 days of no running has done to me.  I fear what I will look like in 1 weeks time.  It’s ok everybody, don’t panic.  I will shave the beard, I promise.  Can’t promise about the rest though.  I kinda dig the look.  Do you?

So, right after I gave in and made a doctor’s appointment for my hamstring, I breathed a sigh of relief.  Not because I am happy pappy, but because I am finally taking action and doing something.  Because, what I was doing was simply not working.

I ran 5k on Monday.  It was brilliant.  Brilliant in terms of the vast gorgeousness of the day.  The bright sunshine.  The ducks all in a row.  The white snow glistening upon the lake at Prospect Park.  Just all of it made me feel so good.  The run too.  Well up to the last mile which started a brisk downhill and that hurt a lot.  My hamstring was screaming in agony but my mind was reeling in the pure joy of the run so a tug of war was played for 1 mile 9 minutes and 53 seconds.  WARFARE.   Who won?  Not the hamstring thats for sure.

While waiting for my running friend Samantha, I just soaked it all in because I knew deep down that this would be the last time for a while.  So, I needed to be there.  I needed to see and watch and marvel at it all.  I knew there wouldn’t be more of that for a while.  I hardly wanted to leave it.  It was like ripping my leg off of my body.  I knew I wouldn’t run again until the hamstring was healed or at least healed enough so that I wouldn’t feel the searing pain anymore.  When I met Samantha, I reluctantly left the park.  I smiled and giggled and we went for bagels.  I’m a good actress sometimes.

At home, peeling off my tights was a chore.  So was a basic human need.  Sitting on the toilet seat.  Man, that hurt.  Just sitting down on the seat produced such a pain in my right hamstring area, I didn’t even know if I could do what needed to be done.  I found if I leaned over to my left side ever so slightly, I was able to take care of business.  And don’t even get me started on taking off my Hunter Wellies.   Man, it took 7 minutes for me to pry it off of my hamstring riddled leg.  Any which way I went with it, just hurt.

Why?  Why me?  Why now?  Why ever?  No answers really.  I just need to be proatctive in my own healing process.  In order for complete healing to happen, I really need to fully participate and take personal responsibility for my complete recovery and well being.

I am very anxious to get to the doctor, but being this is NYC and a busy metropolis, its always hard to get an appointment quick.  So, 2 weeks from tomorrow, unless there is a cancellation, I am there.  ***Fingers crossed*** its just a poopy hamstring strain.

In the meantime, I will do more core workouts and when the snow and ice starts to melt away, I will go on long bike rides.  I am volunteering this weekend at the NYRR Haiti Run and for some reason this excites me.   Getting to wear the bright orange vest and being a course marshall is going to ROCK!!!  I’m going to be all like official and stuff.  Runners will have to listen to ME!  You hear that yo?

Sunday I was SUPPOSED to run in the Cherry Tree 10 Miler and 3 person Relay over at Prospect Park.  I had my team and everything.  We were to be The Three Stooges and each of us would run 3.33 miles.  #FAIL on that.  I no longer will be running my leg of the race and my teammates are now a team of 2.  (SORRY GUYS).  I will be there to cheer not only them on, but other friends who are running the full 10 miles.   They are “hardcore” and I dig that about them all so much.

3 spins and 2 flips.  Yeah the double cork.  I’m thinking of changing up sports for a bit.  Well, for the next 2 weeks at least.  Snow Boarding.  Oh yeah.  It’s a great excuse to let my hair go wild, put on some cool clothes and get out there.  I will work on the double cork, being that it’s really what I need to get me to the podium for a medal.  Yeah, I’m talking medal contention here folks.  Double cork.  So easy.   A couple of flips and turns and perhaps a rotation or two and I’m there.  Cheer me on.  OK?

“I have learned that there is no failure in running, or in life, as long as you keep moving. It’s not about speed and gold medals. It’s about refusing to be stopped. You might find that one particular direction proves difficult, but there are many directions on a compass. Infinite, in fact. As long as you keep searching, you’ll find your winning way.” A. Burfoot

“Le coeur a ses raisons que la raison ne connaît point.
(Translation: The heart has its reasons which reason knows not.)”

“Running to him was real; the way he did it the realest thing he knew. It was all joy and woe, hard as a diamond; it made him weary behond comprehension. But it also made him free.”
— John L. Parker, Jr.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2010 1:39 am

    hang in there girl…you will get better. i like the new look. verrrry sexy 🙂 i’ve got my fingers crossed for you!

  2. February 18, 2010 2:16 am

    Girl, please. You think you’ve let yourself go. If I don’t leave the house, then I don’t bother to comb my hair or put on anything decent looking. I stay in pjs or sweats all day. So I got you beat there. Anyway, hang in there. I’m sure you’ll be back out there in no time.

  3. February 18, 2010 3:42 am

    Really, Michelle, I don’t think you look all that bahhhhhhhdd.
    Hang in there lady. You have a great spirit. Keep it up! Spring is coming. Grab a massage before your doc’s if you can.

  4. February 18, 2010 3:45 am

    That cracked me up. You are the bush woman! Wooo! Glad you made an appointment! Keep your head up, you will be back in action soon. Can’t wait to see you Saturday 😀

  5. February 18, 2010 4:55 am

    I’m so sorry to hear about your injury. I do hope you’re on the mend and make a full recovery! Hang in there – hope all goes well with the doc too.

  6. February 18, 2010 1:06 pm

    What I like to see is people deal with their injuries with the same passion they deal with their running: a balanced approach ya know? You’ll be back out there afore ye know it…

  7. February 18, 2010 3:09 pm

    Glad to hear from you again! It has been a crazy time, that is for sure.

    Booooooooooo. Hopefully the doc has some good news for you. Nothing is worse than having
    to sit on the sidelines from a race that you planned (and more importantly) PAID FOR!

  8. February 19, 2010 2:22 am

    i hate having to wait for an appt! they are like that down in non-metropolis south carolina too… it is ridiculous (and i hate it!). i hope your hammy is feeling better so you can get in some form of exercise soon. i’d hate to find out what you turn into in a week too 😉

Leave a Reply

