Skip to content

~ WORD ~

February 27, 2010

Well well, Whad’Ya Know?  Huh?  Well, I’ll tell you.  My hamstring is FINALLY feeling much much better.  I am almost afraid to admit it but I think my hamstring is on its way to healing.  It may not be 100% healed.  It may be 86% healed.  Who knows.  But, I ran a nice easy 3 yesterday and it didn’t hurt.  I am acutely aware of every step I take though.  With every injury, comes an awareness of my body that I usually never think about.  But, I think about it now.   I don’t want to be afraid when I run.  I want to enjoy my runs again and savior them.

I know that what happened to my hamstring was not because I did anything wrong.  In fact, just the opposite.  I did everything right.  And will not hesitate to do it all again.  My thinking is my body need a bit of a timeout and it manifested itself in my hamstring.  My hamstring then erupted in pain, making it difficult or almost impossible to run comfortably. At first, I fought it.  And believe me, I’m a fighter, but hamstring fought back and won.  So, I took a timeout, did other things and stayed positive.  I stayed happy.

And little by little the pain started leaving me.  Almost teasing me.  Was timeout over?  With (as always) great advice from a friend I just ran easy 2 miles then took a day off and ran an easy 3 miles yesterday.  I stifled the urge to run more miles because I know better now.  Today, with the snow falling I wasn’t able to run and wanting to run tomorrow I was advised to take it easy and don’t sweat it.

So, that leaves me with a race on Sunday.  It’s a 4 miler.  I know how I am going to approach this race and the strategy to employ.  But it all depends on the condition of the route.  If it is icy and/or snowy I may have to change it up a bit.

I am just grateful for all of the continued and unwavering support from all of you.  So faithful you all are.  It’s really a neat thing to be a part of.  It makes me appreciate being a runner even more than ever.  I appreciate and love you all.

And I’ll never forget how you made ME FEEL!!!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2010 3:04 am

    So great to see you’re on the mend. Here’s to steady and continued progress toward full recovery! And good luck Sunday. Have fun!

  2. February 27, 2010 4:21 am

    Just as you are getting better I am on the DL. ONE day we will both be healthy and be able to run together

  3. February 27, 2010 2:10 pm

    Best wishes for a fully healed hamstring soon.

    Enjoy the race on Sunday!

  4. February 27, 2010 4:39 pm

    Michelle, you are awesome and inspiring! I so appreciate your encouragement and positive attitude toward everyone. We’re all cheering for you to feel better and enjoy the running again!

  5. February 27, 2010 4:53 pm

    I’m glad your hammie is feeling better! Great job on the run!!

  6. March 1, 2010 1:00 pm

    Congrats on your run, Michelle! Glad the hammy is feeling better and you were able to run with no pain. Awesome! I think you will have a great 5K in Coogan’s. Can’t wait!

  7. March 1, 2010 2:27 pm

    I was reading an article in RW about different aspects of recovering from injuries, and I thought of you. I knew you had this 🙂 Just know’d it !

Leave a Reply

