Skip to content

~ Don’t Slow Down ~ Al Gordon Classic 4 Miler

March 1, 2010

Celebrate the legacy of Al Gordon, former NYRR board member and benefactor who lived to the age of 107 and is remembered for his commitment to running and walking. Afterward, head to nearby Park Slope for brunch!

Yes and Yes.

Today I ran a race that honestly I didn’t think I would be able to run at all.  January 31st I ran an awesome 8.5 miles, felt sensational throughout and the very next day kicked out a 5 miler.  Again, I felt really good.  But it was right after that 5 miler that my right hamstring started hurting me.  I really thought nothing of it, but it wasn’t getting better and then started getting worse.  Three days off just wasn’t enough time, so after my 5k run on February 15th in Prospect Park I knew what I had to do.  And I did it.  I took time off!! And it worked.  I think.  The pain slowly started subsiding.  And I slowly started feeling hopeful that I could run Al Gordon.

Race day, today dawned bright and early and I headed on over to Prospect Park, which was so beautiful so I snapped some photos with my BB.  I actually met a lady coming off the train who lives in my neighborhood and was running the race so we chatted for a bit as we walked over to the start together.

Now, I really had no expectations for this race.  In the back of my mind I just wanted to sub 40 and push a little if I could.  I was just really happy to be in the 6000 corral and as I was waiting for the gun to go off, probably during the singing of the National Anthem, I kinda looked at the sky and visualized myself crossing the finish line strong.  Sometimes, that helps me, sometimes it doesn’t.

Gun goes off and I am running.  Finally.  I felt all caged up and now I felt free.  I also felt strong.  I was digging the running.  I had zero hamstring pain.  ZERO.  The only thing that did hurt just a bit was my quads, from a cool steps workout I did 2 days earlier.  1st mile is uphill.  Hills USED to be my arch enemy.  Hills and Michelle never became friends, really.  But, I am getting used to the hills, I am not hating on them so very much and I am able to run the hill without having to stop to walk.

Mile 1  9.38

Mile 2 was a nice flat (I think) and I still felt strong.  No stopping to walk, my stride was nice and light and I felt good.

Mile 2  9.34

Mile 3 came and it was a really nice downhill.  My friend Samantha saw me and caught up to me and we sort of said hi.  I went ahead of her and still I was feeling good and strong.  About a minute or so later, Samantha passed me right by and I couldn’t keep up with her.  (She PRed) YAY!!

Mile 3  9.21 (downhill)

I hit 3 miles in 28.33 and I got really excited thinking I could (maybe) sub 39.  And I should have.  There is really no excuse as to what happened next.  I BONKED.  I stopped to walk for about 30 seconds, maybe more I forget now.  And then when I started running again, I just couldn’t recreate the momentum I had for the first 3 miles.  My legs just weren’t cooperating with my brain which was telling my legs to kick it up again.   Wasn’t happening.

Mile  4  10.42

My sub 39 was not to be, but my sub 40 was.  Last 1/2 mile or so to the finish line was an uphill and I just saw the finish line and concentrated on getting across it.

4 miles   39.41

I am happy though.  I am not at all complaining.  I had fun.  I ran with no pain.  I met a goal of mine.  That’s a beautiful thing.  And then there was a great twitter/daily mile brunch afterwards with some fabulous folks.  Running is pretty cool because it allows me to eat french toast stuffed with strawberries drizzled with condensed milk.  Yeah, it works.

Next week is Coogans.  I am going to kick some hilly ass in Washington Heights.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2010 1:49 am

    great race girlie! love the pics too!

  2. March 1, 2010 2:08 am

    love the brooks id shirt 🙂

    woo hoo for being out there running again! glad your hammy is doing better.

  3. March 1, 2010 2:21 am

    great job, Michelle! And I *love* the photo at the end of this post. You are a RUNNER extraodinaire. 🙂

  4. March 1, 2010 2:24 am

    You want some hills? I’ll show you some hills! Actually, I’m thinking of doing a video blog to show the hills I’m encountering. Anyway, great job out there. You ran your race, and that’s all that’s important. Just think how kick-ass you’re going to do when the weather becomes a decent temperature again!

  5. March 1, 2010 1:39 pm

    It’s always great to hear that someone that’s been stuck on the sidelines with an injury is feeling better – Congrats! And way to get back out there and meet your sub 40 goal!

  6. March 1, 2010 1:55 pm

    Congrats on your Sub-40 miler! Glad to hear that your hammy is feeling better.

  7. March 1, 2010 2:39 pm

    Well done, and hopefully the hamstring keeps on improving. Your attitude is a real inspiration, please keep up the good work!

  8. March 1, 2010 3:37 pm

    Making it to the starting line = priceless! Way to go sister!!! Way to meet your goal too. That’s pretty dayum cool…

  9. March 1, 2010 7:49 pm

    Very cool girl! you really pulled out a good time (and had a good time!) at this one. Glad you enjoyed it so.

  10. Ms V. permalink
    March 2, 2010 7:29 am

    great run!!! pretty pic too!

Leave a Reply

