Skip to content

~ Crazy Eights ~

March 6, 2010
tags:

Crazy 8’s?  I ate?  What’s with that 8?  No no no.  I ran 8 miles yesterday.  Yep, a LSD run and I loved every single second of it.

Now that I am pretty much back to running, I need to ramp up my mileage a bit.  I am running a half marathon in less than a month.  Even though I am going to treat that half marathon as a long training run, I still need to know in my own head that I can cover that distance with my own two feet.

I haven’t been running high mileage at all but I wanted to.  8 miles seemed just right.  I also knew I couldn’t run 9.30 min/miles for an LSD so I had to really pace myself.  Really pace myself.  In other words, not run fast like I try to on my shorter runs.  And yes, to me 9.30 min/miles are fast.

So, I left my house with only the clothes on my back and my iPod.  I decided to stay close to home for this run, so I went up to the boardwalk.  I ran the 1st half of the run up on the boards and felt good.

4 Miles   40.52

Splits:  10.20, 10.06, 10.13, 10.13

I took to the streets for the 2nd half.  I like doing it that way.  Even though the boardwalk is awesome, I also like to run in the streets because it gives me some more distractions and less time to think.  I slowed down considerably.  I also took my 1st walk break at 5.25 miles.  Just 1 minute of walking.  I knew if I didn’t say in my head, 1 minute ~ the walk break may have been too long.  That 1 minute walk break helped a great deal.  Mentally, as well as physically!  I took my 2nd and last walk break when I hit 7 miles.  .30 seconds.  Other than those two walk breaks, I ran the rest of the way.

Running any distance is such a mental game for me.  Obviously, I CAN!  Slow or not I get the job done.  Ideally, a running buddy during these longer runs would help, but since that cannot always happen, I have to make it happen on my own.  Surprisingly, this 8 miler wasn’t as bad as my mind made it out to be.  It was enjoyable, hard, a little overwhelming and oh so satisfying when I was done.

4 Miles  43.15

Splits:  10.33, 11.11, 10.55, 10.38

It’s funny because when I completed the 8 miler, I thought to myself “Wow, just another 5.1 miles and you’ve got yourself a half marathon”.  Mentally, that gave me a boost.  My confidence level is up now.

I have lots going on in the weeks to come.  Most importantly, a 5k race tomorrow and a 10 mile long run next weekend.

There are two things I would have done differently.  I would start out slower so I can finish stronger AND, I would take some form of hydration with me.  Or take some money for a gatorade.  Big mistake there.  Besides those two mistakes, as far as I am concerned, this run was a success.

8 Miles  1.24.11   10.31 min/mile

I do my best thinking when I’m running. I don’t know why that is – everything seems to flow so easily. It’s almost a spiritual thing for me.
Apolo Ohno, Olympic Speed Skater

Right on!!!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2010 4:20 pm

    Right On, Brooklyn! Right. On.
    Definitely bring some fluid with you though.
    Anything more than 45 mins, you need to hydrate.
    Run strong, my friend!

  2. March 6, 2010 4:39 pm

    Way to go chica! Love the LSD, but make sure you bring at least a little hydration for the next one…or bring a $20 and do some karnazing!

  3. March 6, 2010 4:48 pm

    Nice run, M! Take out the walk and the last mile was pretty much the fastest mile of the run – nice finish! Good to see your running distances ramp up!

  4. March 6, 2010 6:05 pm

    so you thought to yourself “only 5.1 more miles and it’s a half marathon”

    today I ran 9 and thought “oh crap. I have to add another 4.1 miles to finish a half marathon.”

    LOL

  5. March 6, 2010 7:21 pm

    Overcoming the mental issue with distances is more than half the battle. When I do a half marathon, I don’t think of it as 13.1 miles. I think of it as 10 miles and then an all out 5k.

  6. March 6, 2010 9:50 pm

    Nice run girlfriend! YOu rocked it!

  7. March 6, 2010 10:16 pm

    I love reading blog posts like this. Your passion for running helps other runners more than you’ll ever know. Thanks!

  8. March 7, 2010 12:11 am

    Great run! And great post!

  9. Ms V. permalink
    March 7, 2010 4:57 am

    so beautiful!!! way to go!!

  10. Sarah permalink
    March 7, 2010 3:14 pm

    yay! great run. which half do you have coming up? I’m sure you’ve mentioned on twitter or here…but I can’t seem to remember 😛

Leave a Reply

