Skip to content

~Let’s Hug it Out Bitches~

March 21, 2010

This post will not be about my running/cycling.  Nor will it be about anything exercise related.   What it will be is a post about friendship.   You know, the kind of friendships that you don’t ever really expect to happen, but somehow they do.  I’ve written many times about the amazing folks I’ve met through Daily Mile and Twitter, but I kinda feel the need to write more.

It is so rare to meet up with friends that you have so very much in common with.  I can say with all honesty, that each and every person I have met IRL over the past few months have been nothing short of amazing.  Fun to hang out with, fun to run with and amazing athletes each and every one.  Living a healthy lifestyle is THE lifestyle.  It’s the only way to live, IMHO.

I won’t put anybody down, but if I walk by folks smoking outside an office building or a hospital, I think to myself how very sad is that?  These folks will never know the beauty of breathing air into fresh and strong lungs.  These folks will never have a strong beating heartbeat.  These folks will get sick and die.  Ok, I digress but you get the point.  These are folks I would never surround myself with.  I am appalled that there are actually people that still suck in that vile nicotine and let it coat their lungs.  I can’t fathom it.   And don’t get me started on the smell.

So, when I have the chance to hang out and socialize with runners/cyclists/walkers/hoppers/swimmers I jump.   I have not had one negative experience with anybody I have met.  I live a pretty stressful life with having to take care of my mom and sometimes, just being able to hop on my bike for a long ride clears my mind of the burdens for a while.  Or being able to run free with no pain just does the trick for me.  I really don’t know what I would do if I couldn’t run anymore.  It would not be a pretty sight, thats for sure.

Because not only does running give to me freedom, happiness, mental breaks and confidence, it also gave to me all of you guys.  It’s really a no-brainer.  There are so many days where I count my lucky stars to have all of you in my life.   You can have friends that you’ve known your entire life but do you really know them?  Do they really know you?  Then you meet some people with whom, things just click.  Sure, we all have our running in common, but its much more than that.  It’s how we all come together and support one another with each race and long run and even short runs.  There is a support system in place.   There is a camaraderie that is unsurpassed.

Am I the only dork that feels this way?   I don’t know.   We all have different lives, families, kids, husbands, wives, mothers, fathers…..but I feel as though we are all the same.  Maybe, I am way off base here.  Perhaps, its something only I feel.  Something, unique to only me and my feelings.  And if so, that is perfectly ok.

I am just extremely inspired by each and every one of you guys.  I don’t have to mention names, but you all know.  Every single one of you is doing something magnificent.   As am I.  Each run I conquer is a great thing.  I am becoming more and more brave and less scared to go out there and ride my bike or run alone, on routes I have never run before.  I used to stick to my boardwalk.  That was it.  Now, I am branching out.  It’s a big world out there, and I am not afraid to explore it.  By being motivated by all of you and what you are doing, I get to live it too.  I get to do it.  How cool is that?

So, to all of you I say “THANK YOU” so much.  If I could give each and every one of you a hug I would.  I would say “lets hug it out, bitches.”

And, I want you to know that if you need me, do not hesitate to HOLLA.  I may not have all the answers, but I sure will try FOR YOU ALL.

Be excellent to each other.

Great is the victory, but the friendship of all is greater.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2010 1:50 am

    I’m totally behind you on this one, Michelle. Every lunch and every time I leave my office building, there’s pods of smokers chatting away on Union Mall. I don’t say anything… I just try to stay away form the smoke.

  2. March 21, 2010 3:50 am

    you rock too.

    🙂

  3. March 21, 2010 4:17 am

    i love all my peeps too!!! 🙂 **hugs**

  4. March 21, 2010 9:12 pm

    i love running / workout friends too – it’s SO easy to meet strangers when you find out they run, etc too. it just gives an instant bond.

    i give some of the guys i work with a hard time about them smoking… one of them keeps saying “yeah i know i need to give it up” – we’ll see!

  5. March 21, 2010 11:29 pm

    I am proud to call you “friend”, “sister”, “buddy”. I feel the same and I hope that one of these days we will have a run together in Central Park and then have many laughs over many Full Moons! Rock on Sister! You’re an inspiration!

  6. March 22, 2010 12:34 am

    Wow.

    As I am writing my notes on after the race (NYC Half Marathon) as I always do after each major events, this very idea..of friendship kept coming back to my head.

    There are people I know my whole life, call them my best friend but at the end of the day I do ask “Do I really know them?”. They don’t get my whole lifestyle change. They don’t come out to support my runs when they could. They just don’t get it. True, I did change. I did lose over 150lbs. I did embrace a new lifestyle but is that bad? I think not. I try to bring them into it in a non-annoying way. But after all is said and done…they just aren’t there anymore.

    Yet I meet these people from Twitter or charity running groups where I just connect with them right there and then. Period. Take you and I for example. We barely know each other for a week and already we feel connected. A friend I know where I only met him a few months back is today one of my closest friends. The person I ran with today is someone I highly respect and I just met him as well.

    It not that running it’s what we have in common. Rather it’s what running is about. It about growth. It’s about embracing the challenges and going with it. It’s about fighting the resistance. In a place of growth, people truly connect. I think that is what is special about it all.

    I thank everyone who is there for me from my runners friend to my non. I need them all.

  7. maura permalink
    March 22, 2010 1:19 am

    Bryan and I are very new to meeting folks via Twitter. It was only once IRL, but it’s incredible to know there is a huge community of folks out there who love the same thing do and who Get It.
    What it means to run, to not be able to run, and everything in between. We look forward to hanging out more and more!

  8. March 22, 2010 3:20 pm

    I’z ready! Let’s not forget you are cut from the same cloth 🙂

  9. March 24, 2010 3:25 am

    This was a great post 🙂 YOU rock!

Leave a Reply

