Skip to content

~ BLERGH ~

March 28, 2010

Who knew this would happen?  Certainly, not I!  Here’s the thing, I was training for the March Madness Biathlon in Central Park and I was ready, darn it.  Really ready in both mind and body.

So, what did I do?  Friday, two days before the event, I decide to go for a run in my VFF’s, knowing full well that I could be very sore the next day or two.  But, did I listen to myself?  NO!!!   I just put on the VFF’s and ran.  I have a weak left ankle.  Let’s face it.  It was fractured, very badly, 14 years ago and I had to have open reduction, internal fixation surgery on it.  Over the years, it has hurt me from time to time but really hasn’t given me any big trouble…….

Except for A DAY BEFORE the March Madness Biathlon.  I kid you not.   It swelled up and hurt like a motherfucker.   (excuse the language).  I couldn’t walk on it, let alone run.  And for the March Madness I needed to be able to run.  It was run 2 ~ bike 12 ~ run 2 all in Central Park.  So, yeah I needed that ankle to be healthier.   And believe me, up until about 9pm last night I was going to show up and try to run it.   My bike was all ready, my water bottle sat waiting to be filled, sunglasses, arm warmers, even a GU sat staring at me and mocking me waiting to be told what to do.

Then, I receive an email from a friend who really put it in perspective for me.  I won’t include the entire email but here is part of it:

Hopefully it is not a bad problem and that it will just go away in a couple of days so you can race next weekend.  There will be other duathlons, and it is ABSOLUTELY NOT worth doing damage by racing tomorrow and possibly really hurting yourself.

And with that, I knew that I had to agree and come to terms with the fact that I wouldn’t be participating in March Madness.  At least not this year.  And I absolutely do not regret the decision.  While, I feel sad and very disappointed, I have to move on and think ahead.  I have so much coming up and I want to be healthy.

I am also going to seriously rethink running in the VFF’s for a while.  I may not even run in them anymore.  Perhaps, I will walk around in them at the grocery store and just easy walking.  With a weakened ankle, running in the VFF’s could be a bit dangerous.   I still love them and love running in them, but not at the expense of my ankle getting hurt and swollen.  Not worth it to me.

If you ask me how I feel today, I would have to say a very big BLERGH!!!!

So, with that DNS comes:

And here is a wonderful quote that I truly believe in:

“Your biggest challenge isn’t someone else. It’s the ache in your lungs and the burning in your legs, and the voice inside you that yells ‘CAN’T”, but you don’t listen. You just push harder. And then you hear the voice whisper ‘can’. And you discover that the person you thought you were is no match for the one you really are.” -unknown

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Christopher permalink
    March 28, 2010 6:57 pm

    What is a vff Miss Joy? Oh well one can not discover their utmost potential for growth without occasionally overdoing it and injuring oneself. That’s just part of competitive running. You know that already. Rest easy. We will direct our collective love at your left ankle and it will heal quickly.

  2. March 28, 2010 8:26 pm

    sorry to hear that, it doesn’t help that your heart was set on it, but your friend was right. Goodluck with the healing and I hope its not too serious.

  3. March 28, 2010 8:36 pm

    oh man! sorry to hear this… hope your ankle gets well soon

  4. March 28, 2010 10:46 pm

    I’m sure you’ll be back in no time – you can run this race in Sept or Oct, or I know you know about the Prospect Park one in 2 weeks. Will make the race that much more sweeter when you eventually get it done!

  5. March 28, 2010 11:40 pm

    You did the right thing. Rest up and go rock it out next weekend. There will be plenty of other opportunities like this!

  6. March 29, 2010 12:22 am

    Ouch! That’s disappointing, but you did the right thing. I hope you’re up and around again soon.

  7. Eva permalink
    March 29, 2010 12:48 am

    Hang in there, girl! Being injured sucks, but it will get better! RICE is what you need.

  8. March 29, 2010 3:20 pm

    Well… I think hanging up the VFFs, except maybe for some hiking, seems like the best course of action. WAY TO BE SMART, chica. and of course, I might add 🙂

  9. April 1, 2010 3:39 pm

    I love my Vibrams BUT I don’t run in them. I wear them all the time when I’m walking and, although I’ve read all the “this is the natural way to run” stuff I have come to my own conclusion based on the following:

    1 – I run on asphalt and “nature” did not make asphalt.
    2 – I’m huge compared to our barefoot running forefathers and those running tribes.

    Therefore, Vibrams are my walking buddies only…

    You’re going to do great this weekend. Just remember to have fun.

    All the best,

    Ron

Leave a Reply

