Skip to content

~ I’m not like them, but I can pretend ~

April 1, 2010

I thought long and hard (that’s what she said) about this.  Really, I did.  I don’t want to admit defeat, but I think it is in MY best interest that at this time, I hang up my VFF’s and not run in them for a while.  Admitting that makes me kinda sad because I really enjoy running in them.  I feel free and light.  I feel as though my stride is just right and I even run pretty fast in them.  They are pretty funky looking too and I always get attention when I am running in them.  Little kids think I am an alien and older folks scratch their heads not knowing what to make of me.

But, and again I stress this part ~ FOR ME right now it has to be.  I cannot be 100% sure about this, but after my VFF run last Friday, my weakened left ankle swelled up and became painful.  You all know the rest.  I had to take a DNS at my very first duathlon.  It was upsetting and I cried.  Again, I can’t be 100% sure it was the VFF’s that did it to me, but at this point I really don’t want to test that theory.

Maybe, because my left ankle is weak, I need more support than the VFF’s can give to me.  I do plan on wearing them to the grocery store and to walk in from time to time, but no running in them for now.  It doesn’t make any sense really to run in something that may or may not give me a problem.  But without knowing for sure, I’d rather be safe and run in my Brooks Launch.

This race should be pretty interesting.  It is the 13.1 Inaugural Race in Queens.  I have never run in Queens.  EVER.  Here are some cool stats:

The 13.1® New York will be run within historic Flushing Meadows Corona Park, home of the 1939 and 1964 World’s Fair.  The race begins in front of Arthur Ashe Stadium the venue that hosts the US Tennis Open. As your running tour begins you wind through the park passing the New York Hall of Science, the Queens Wildlife Center, and the Unisphere.  At the southern end the course loops around Meadow Lake, returning back into the park for a second loop and finishing in the shadow of the Unisphere for a great post race party.

Also cool:

Disco is Back Run back into the 70’s with live DJ’s throughout the course spinning only the greatest high energy hits with a unique and intriguing twist on your favorite classics. You’ll have a great time being passed by roller girls, snapping photos with our 13.1 blazing blue 1970’s Oldsmobile pace car, the finishline with the landmark Unisphere in the background, and do the hustle to the AWESOME sounds of the FUNK FILHARMONIK at the finish line party.

So, this Saturday I will be sporting my tube socks for a nice long training run.  I am not racing.  The racing I will save for Brooklyn Half.  So should I do the hustle?   DOUBT IT!!!   I suck at dancing.  I have zero rhythm and am pretty spaz.  Heck, I couldn’t even spell rhythm.  Had to google it.

Today, I ran 1 mile.   Why you ask?  Well, I realized that I had 79 miles for the month of March.  I do not like that number.  It’s not even, it’s unkept and it just doesn’t feel right.  So, inspired by Scott, I went out there and banged out 1 mile in 8.56.18.  In my Nike LunarGlides.   WORD.  I am now at 80 miles for the month.  I like the number 80, its even and its neat.

Speaking of neat, anybody want a Makers Mark?  Bourbon?  I’m buying.   Yikes, did I just write that?

My message from the Universe:

Aha! Michelle, do you know what your thoughts did last week?!

Oh, yes you do.

They became the things and events of this week. The things you thought would be difficult became difficult; easy became easy; boring became boring; and fun became fun. Where you thought there might be surprises, you were surprised. And where you thought there might be land mines, there were land mines.

Bravo! You can add this week to the list of your most creative accomplishments.

Now, can you guess what your thoughts this week are going to do?

You are awesome,
The Universe

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 12:25 am

    You gotta listen to your instincts, and if they’re telling you to not run in the VFF’s, you gotta not run in them.

  2. April 1, 2010 12:52 am

    I hope you have a great race! And I’ll take a Makers Mark. Maybe two. I’ll pay you back later.

  3. April 1, 2010 4:48 pm

    Good decision! and I LURVES 80 so much better than 79.0288032 🙂 I’ll have my Makers with a splash of tonic please…

    Ya know what else, I have often felt like the things I think will happen do happen. Either I am prescient, or I manufacture my own future. I will ponder this some more over my drinkee….

  4. April 3, 2010 5:56 pm

    love that you went out for that extra mile 🙂 i have done that before too! we need our round stats.

    hopefully you will get stronger in ‘regular’ shoes and be able to spend some time in the vff’s later in the year?

  5. April 3, 2010 6:58 pm

    you know what to do. sounds like the VFFs are not right for you at this time. Stay healthy. Run strong!

Leave a Reply

