Skip to content

~ Running with Scissors ~

April 21, 2010

Or how to get from point A to point B without getting hurt.

Last night was my first speed workout in almost 2 months and let me just say it was extremely humbling for me.  I was with SpeedySasquatch and crew (14 awesome folks) from twitter.  We were to do 6 x 800 with 90 seconds recovery in between.  Speedy did my first 800 with me and really talked me though it.  Got that one done in 4.13 (8.27 pace) but I felt it.  I was breathing hard and it just didn’t feel so easy.  Speedy also told me to take my watch off.  He said I was looking at it way to much and I have to agree.  It totally distracted me from concentrating on my running.  100% distraction.

My next 800 I did alone.  Well, I did always have a team member cheering me on with a kind “Come on, you can do it”…..That helps.  4.55.  (9.54 pace) BLERGH.  So slow.  I was beginning to feel defeated.  I don’t like that feeling.  But then as I finished up I saw Elyssa’s smiling face taking photos and I thought to myself, go for 1 more.  By the way, you should all go read her amazing Boston Marathon Race Report.  It will put a smile on your face too!!!

Last 800 I was considering stopping, when there was Jenna to give me the boost I needed to finish it.  And I so appreciate that.  I just ran as hard as I could to finish and got that last one done in 4.44 (9.26 pace).

So, I got 3 out of the 6 800’s done.  Good or bad it’s what I had in me last night.

I am also trying a new thing for a week or so.  Running sans garmin.  Sans Barney.  Sans splits.  Sans numbers.   Not easy.  But, Speedy feels it will help me and I am going to listen to his suggestion.  I will wear Barney for the More Half on Sunday….just because.

I really truly think I can get a lot out of these Tuesday night speed workouts.  Don’t get me wrong, I really loved the NYRR speed classes.  I improved a lot during the time I was taking the classes, but doing it with a group of supportive, friendly and helpful “friends” makes all the difference to me.  Motivation wise and wanting to show up wise and just having fun.   Speed work is not fun really but doing it within the confines of a group of amazing people, the torture is eased just a bit.

We ended the workout with some core work.  Push ups, sit ups and planks.  Gotta love the core work right?  It’s pretty important to make sure your core is strong.  That is just code for me saying, I have a flabby tummy and need to work on it!!

So, I think I will put down those scissors and run with abandon while staying injury free.  And enjoy each Tuesday night with whatever Speedy throws at us.  Speed is relative, I know this.  I will do my best to run fast and then run a little faster even than that.  And then one day, I will be able to keep up with those fast twitter people.

“We Don’t See Things as They Are, We See Them as We Are” ~Anais Nin

You are never too old to set another goal or to dream a new dream. – C. S. Lewis

“The good Lord gave you a body that can stand most anything. It’s your mind you have to convince.” — Vince Lombardi

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2010 7:04 pm

    Michelle, CHEERS to a new beginning of speedwork. It sure not easy and it does request a lot out of you but with perseverance and determination, that number will get lower.

    And to have the support is another crucial thing. It’s important to have others cheer us on, cuz’ sometime we are not sure of ourself but the supporter are pretty sure…they see things from the outside..what we can really do on the inside.

    Keep rocking my friend. Looking forward to be hearing more of it.

  2. April 21, 2010 7:55 pm

    And don’t forget…there was Shake Shack welcoming you with open arms at the end of the run. 🙂

  3. April 21, 2010 8:02 pm

    Awesome speedwork!! Everyonce in a while I forgo the watch – makes running all the more enjoyable!!

  4. April 21, 2010 8:06 pm

    Going Garminless will help you out a ton. You focus a lot on what your speed is for most of your runs, so you need to be relieved of that stress from time to time. Nice job getting back to the speedwork. I really, really need to do better workouts like that.

  5. April 22, 2010 12:21 am

    Speedwork can be incredibly frustrating at first but stick with it and you will begin to reap the rewards. The most important thing is your hugely positive attitude towards your running. Keep it up!

  6. April 22, 2010 12:23 am

    Bring on the speedwork! It really pays off in the end. Learn to love it.

  7. April 22, 2010 4:32 am

    Josh is totally right. Pace yourself based on how you feel, not based on a number. The key to speedwork is being consistent about it, and trying your hardest. You will improve. Just stick with it. It’s supposed to be hard, and it’s supposed to hurt – but you’ll reap the rewards.

  8. April 22, 2010 12:21 pm

    I H.A.T.E speed work but I have been doing it now for about 3 weeks. You are right, it is humbling.

  9. April 24, 2010 11:22 pm

    way to go on the speedwork! even if you did cut it short, the important part is you still pushed it as long as you could. we can’t always follow workouts to a “t” with all the interruptions life throws our way.

    i also talk about doing core work for the same reason… flabby tummy. i need to be a core-work nazi!

Leave a Reply

