Skip to content

~ More ~ OR LESS.

April 27, 2010

This past Sunday, April 25, 2010 I ran the More Half Marathon in Central Park.

Official Finish Time:

2.37.08

4540/6373

I can’t say I am particularly proud of the time I finished this race.  In fact, just the opposite.  Sure, it was pouring the entire time, but I could have tried harder and I just didn’t.   I took my time and tried to enjoy the camaraderie of all the other women running besides me.  I tried.  I sort of felt miserable the whole time.  Wet and pruney and wanting to be home where it was warm and dry.

Funny, I never even looked at my splits.  Looks like Mile 3 was my fastest at 10.26 and Mile 10 was my slowest at 14.10.  All the other splits really don’t matter to me.  I’ll chalk this one up to being poorly trained and not giving it my all.  That is it.

So, as of now I have 5 races done in 2010 plus 1 volunteer credit.

I am going to work hard to PR at Brooklyn Half Marathon.  I know I have it in me to run a respectable half.  And if I don’t, well then I have to really re-access what it is I am actually doing out there.  Should I just run for fun and not bother with these NYRR races?

To sum it up, it was a fun race with my homies and I did help a women cross the finish line running, so I feel really good about that.  She hugged and thanked me.   Big props to Vicky.

I will train my ass off for Brooklyn Half.  Then…..well, I’ll see.

Appreciating what you already have, Michelle, is how to get more of what you don’t.

All your life you were only waiting for this moment to be free.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2010 11:30 pm

    Based on your comments, I think you might want to scale back on the races and put more effort into training and focus on fewer races. It’s easy to fall in love with racing and enter races for the sake of racing. But if you want to get stronger, faster and set some PRs, don’t worry so much about as many races and focus on solid training for a few months. Or after your next half, focus on training for a few months. You’ve already done more races this year than many people will do in 12 months. Not that there’s anything wrong with that — but you may have to reconsider that depending on what you want to do with your running. Sorry for rambling. 🙂

  2. April 28, 2010 12:43 am

    You ran a 1/2 marathon in the pouring rain!! That is pretty cool!
    You know what you want to acomplish the next time, and you will do it !!

  3. April 28, 2010 1:15 am

    more!! More !!

  4. April 28, 2010 2:05 pm

    To run that in the pouring rain? You’re a rock star! Don’t get yourself down…train hard for the next half and you’ll be fine…when is it?

  5. April 28, 2010 8:29 pm

    Great job with the half marathon. Brooklyn Half is the next thing to tackle on your plate? What does the “Then…..well, I’ll see.” mean? 🙂

  6. April 29, 2010 10:19 am

    running in the rain is no fun – especially a soaking one, and for 13.1 miles! you are a tough woman-runner 🙂 congrats on another half and working towards your NYC entry (i am assuming?)

  7. May 6, 2010 7:06 pm

    i wouldnt want to run in the rain.

    i might get wet!

  8. May 11, 2010 12:30 am

    Yo M
    You are as real as it gets girl!
    I will think good thoughts for a fabulous BK run.
    xoxo deb

  9. swimmykimy permalink
    May 21, 2010 12:42 am

    I got caught in the POURING rain about 2 weeks ago and I couldn’t have been happier. It was a really awesome calm and solitude that you only get from running in in-climate weather. Though, I probably wouldn’t have wanted to carry on for a full 13.1 miles. Way to go rock star and good luck in the Brooklyn Half!

Leave a Reply

