Skip to content

~ Just keeping it Real Yo ~

May 10, 2010

Experience first, then intellectualize.

In a split second, your life can change.  Good or bad.  All it takes is one second of not being aware or one second of being in the right or wrong place at the right or wrong time.  We all know this, yet we never really think about it too much.  I never think about it.  Why should I?  I go about my business and never think anything bad will happen to me.  But, I also do things that may jeopardize that.  Because, I don’t think……it will ever happen to me.

So, I refuse to live my life getting upset about the little things.  And believe me, life is full of the little things.  You just keep on moving forward.  You know, one foot in front of the other.  I care.  I care too much.  I don’t care at all.   Is there even a happy medium?   I have no idea.  Just keeping it real.  And just keeping it tucked inside.  I am not going to use Twitter or Dailymile as a sounding board anymore.  It’s silly, isn’t it?  Dailymile is to track my workouts and perhaps make some friends.  Twitter is too keep abreast of happenings and saying good morning.  Beyond that, NAH.  Not now.  Just keeping it real.

So, running has been going well.  It is 2 weeks until the Brooklyn Half Marathon and I feel mostly confident.  I need a few more good long runs and I will be good to go.  It is not life or death to me.  I am not nervous at all.  No butterflies in my tummy.  No nervous nail biting anticipation.  NOTHING.  I know what I have to do and I will try to do it.  If I can’t or don’t.  So what?  I am not a professional runner who gets paid.  Nor will I ever be.  I want this to be fun for me.

I also started running with @SpeedySasquatch every Tuesday night.  We do speed workouts with the crew and this I find to be fun and relaxing at the same time.  I love the peeps that are in the crew.  They are not only great runners, they are also great and supportive friends to me.  I am without a doubt the slowest of the bunch, but I am never made to feel that way.  It is what it is, but I try my best.  I don’t give up.   I push as hard as I can.  It’s fun.  It’s not stressful nor do I feel I “have” to……I want to.  And I know these speed workouts will help me.  It’s subtle.  You really don’t realize it, until its happening.  Unless, shit happens, I will be there every Tuesday night.

I won’t spend time writing about all my runs or workouts, but I have been doing a lot of core as well.  You know, push ups and sit ups.  Planks too.  I want to stay fit and in shape.

In my last post I wrote this:

I will train my ass off for Brooklyn Half.  Then…..well, I’ll see.

I absolutely still feel that way.  I am not sure how to explain it.  Nor do I want to.   It makes sense to me and that is all that counts right now.  Right now, it’s all about me for me.  It’s all about taking care of my mother and making sure she is happy and healthy.  It’s all about making sure that that split second doesn’t happen here.

It’s OK. Everything is fine. I’ve always been guided. Even now I am watched, and held, and adored. I’ve made great stuff happen, and I will make more great stuff happen. I’ve changed lives. I’ve changed my own. I’ve moved mountains and done the impossible. I’ve been scared and I’ve overcome. I’ve been knocked down and I rose. And I’ve been lost, or so I thought, only to discover it was just the calm before another storm of creativity, love, and fun.

Just keeping it real yo.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2010 1:48 am

    Getting in with a good group can be one of the most rewarding aspects of running. Good job!

  2. May 11, 2010 2:01 pm

    You are so real, yo… I love your attitude towards life/running cuz we are birds from the same flock…

  3. May 11, 2010 3:23 pm

    Good luck at Brooklyn! Two weeks will fly by before you know it!

  4. May 11, 2010 7:08 pm

    You are so real, I love it! 🙂

  5. May 11, 2010 11:54 pm

    Work it. Keep it real. I think I understand everything that you’re saying here.

  6. May 19, 2010 6:35 pm

    Bravo, Michelle! Bravo!

Leave a Reply

