Skip to content

No Sleep Till Brooklyn

May 22, 2010

May 22 2010 Brooklyn Half Marathon        2.28.08.

Was this the race I was hoping for?  Probably not.  Definitely not.  I trained and worked hard leading up to the Brooklyn Half Marathon.  I ran 3 separate times in Prospect Park, doing those loops and hating that hill.  EVERY SINGLE TIME.  But, I felt prepared.  My goal was really very broad.  Finish between 2.20 – 2.30.  But, I was really wanting a 2.24.   2.24 is an 11 minute pace.  How hard could that be??   Hard enough, that I finished in 2.28.08.  11.15 pace.  So close, but really so very far.

The 7 miles in the park really wasn’t as bad as I had anticipated it to be.  Yes, the hills sucked but it is what it is.  They were there and I had to deal with it.  I started slow and steady and really tried to keep that pace but by mile 2 I was drenched in sweat due to the high humidity.   I am not complaining though because last year the weather was much hotter.  The humidity did slow me down and made me stop at more water stops than I really wanted to.  I took a GU at 5.5 miles with too long of a stop.  This is something I must work on in future races.  How to time the fluid station stops so I don’t lose precious time.

Once out of the park (finally) we ran on the highway that I drive on to get onto Ocean Parkway.  It was kinda neat and odd at the same time.   Hitting Ocean Parkway gave me a boost mentally because I knew there was only about 6 miles to go.   Somehow, that was comforting to me.  I just kept plugging away but my pace kept slipping through my fingers and I started feeling really discouraged.  I was talking to myself saying things like “WTF Michelle, move your ass” OR “Why can’t I move my ass faster”. Took my 2nd GU at about 9.5 miles again stopping way to long.

Nearing Surf Avenue was heavenly.  I was in the most familiar territory.  I was nearing the boardwalk.  I was nearing home.  Coming up to the boardwalk felt so familiar to me. Ran up that ramp and just headed in for the last .50 miles. I feel good. Just some calf tightness but other than that I’m good to go.  2.28.08.   Not what I was hoping for.  Not what I wanted.  But, its what I got.  And I am proud of my effort.  One thing about me, I am no quitter.  I will get the job done no matter what.  I sort of compare myself to the energizer bunny.  I just keep on going…..

My fastest split was mile 4 at 9.51 which was downhill. 2nd fastest was mile 7 at 10.12. Other than that, the splits were all over the place.  No need to post them.

Last year I ran Brooklyn Half Marathon in 2.40.18 ~ So today I ran it 12.10 faster.  I like that.  I also beat my Queens 13.1 race by 33 seconds.  COOL.

There wasn’t that many spectators along the course, but I will say the volunteers did an incredible job this year.  The fluid stations were fully stocked and the volunteers were handing the water to us with a smile on their faces.   I did stay a bit to cheer on the runners coming in after me.  There was a woman wearing a shirt that said  I AM 70 YEARS OLD TODAY!! FUCK YEAH!!!   I gave lots of fist pumps and I really saw the appreciation in the runners eyes.  It made me feel really good.  I left the boardwalk with a huge smile on my face.

I want to thank you ALL for your incredible support and motivation.  Today, you are all my schmoopys. All of you. If I could see you in person, I would say…..Hi and thank you schmoopy!  I LOVE YOU ALL!!!!

I had a blast today.  I ran 13.1 miles.  I absolutely cannot wait to start training for MCM.   In the meantime, I am going to enjoy running.  Run some races in June, go to speed crew with @SpeedySasquatch and get FASTER!!!   Watch me.

“One can never consent to creep when one feels an impulse to soar.” – Helen Keller

15 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2010 11:35 pm

    Yay for you!!! Even if it’s just a touch slower than you wanted, you still did an awesome job and hit your goal range. My mile 4 was the fastest, too. Love those downhills. And I seriously thought I’d spilled on myself after the first water station until I realized that my shirt was drenched with sweat. Great weather for running, but way too humid for my tastes.

  2. May 23, 2010 12:16 am

    Nice job. You hit your goal time frame, so embrace that. For your next race, be more specific with your goal.

  3. May 23, 2010 3:03 am

    Nie job Michelle – you’ll hit 11:00 in no time!

  4. May 23, 2010 2:56 pm

    Congratulations, Michelle! I have no doubt that you’ll hit your goal!

  5. Cris permalink
    May 23, 2010 6:29 pm

    Is this a PR? Sounds like it. I am really pleased you did so well.

    Some people like to have gold, silver, and bronze goals for a race, besides “just finish”. Sounds to me like you had only one goal. Maybe next time set three levels of goals for yourself. Your sense of achievement may be higher, then, even if you don’t attain the gold medal goal for the day.

    Have you considered re-evaluating your hydration and fueling habits? If you carry your own drink, you can accomplish several things: First, you’ll train with it so there will be no digestion surprises on race day. second, you can find a mix that includes the fuel component, so you don’t have to waste time with GU if you don’t want (or just mix the GU into the drink). And three, you’ll save all that time you would have wasted at water stops.

    HIlls are hard, I know! Good job out there!

  6. May 23, 2010 11:19 pm

    Yo Michelle,

    You sure kick ass ! I know it was tough on you but you got the job done. I am proud of ya.

  7. May 24, 2010 11:50 am

    Celebrate the finish! Getting out and running 13.1 is something that the vast majority of people DON’T do… that makes you a winner!

  8. May 24, 2010 12:15 pm

    Ahhhh, congratulations on a great improvement. It’s the little things 🙂 and serzly, wtf? Where did this humidity come from? LOL… I like this being a schmoopy. I’m going to wear it for a while!

  9. Erin Leigh permalink
    May 24, 2010 1:49 pm

    I think it is an amazing time for a half!! Sorry it isn’t what you were hoping for but you will get it!

  10. May 24, 2010 3:47 pm

    Michelle you ROCK!! Might have not be exactly what you wanted but still you totally kicked butt! Great job

  11. May 24, 2010 4:59 pm

    Finally this post loaded for me. I had trouble with my homecomputer over the weekend. I twittered great run, but I will say it here too – GREAT RUN. Your training did pay off.

  12. meredith permalink
    May 24, 2010 7:24 pm

    Great post… it’s so nice to find a blog for a runner who isn’t doing 7 minute miles!! Congratulations!

  13. May 24, 2010 7:34 pm

    Michelle,

    You said it yourself…you will always get the job done when committed to it and here you are…a finisher. I love how you always push yourself…truly an inspiration to me personally.

    Great run my friend. Enjoy it.

    Can’t wait to start doing some long runs with you in preparation to MCM.

  14. May 26, 2010 7:10 am

    Hey lady, congratulations! I definitely understand your disappointment but you are well within your goal reach so keep on keepin’. Sounds like you’re doing your due diligence with training, so your reward will definitely come. I ran BK much slower this year, but I enjoyed it more. I took your advice and had fun 🙂

  15. June 1, 2010 6:58 pm

    Hey, if anyone is going to reach their goal time, it’s you. Have no doubt about it. Keep putting the effort and hard work in and you will make it with plenty to spare. Thanks for writing your report.

Leave a Reply

