Skip to content

~ Perfect Symmetry ~

June 28, 2010

It is summertime in NYC and everybody is lookin mighty fine.  There is skin showing everywhere and even I am sporting the tank top and shorts.  The less clothes on my body the better.

Last Thursday was the NYRR Wall Street Run.   Thankfully, I decided to run it as this run would give me my 9th race of the year.  That with my 1 volunteering stint gives me guaranteed entry into the NYCM for 2011.   Barring any injuries, I should be at the starting line next year.   Maybe….

So, the race was on a very hot and humid night in NYC.  Mid to upper 80’s with real feel close to 90 degrees.  This race has no corrals and is basically a free for all.  I had the good fortune of meeting up with Ari before the race to chat and hang out.  We walked over to baggage check together and then to the start of the race.  There we found Joe and Matt and just waited around in the heat for the starting gun.

I knew immediately that this race would be tough for me.  I also didn’t care much about my pace.  I just wanted it over with.  3 miles really shouldn’t be difficult for me, but this 3 miler was.  Too hot and humid, too many people running crazy and me.   I dropped my sunglasses at one point and had to stop and make sure I wasn’t trampled on before I was able to pick them up and keep moving.

In the end, I finished this race in 32.35.   Way slower than my best 3 miler.   And that’s fine.   I have my 9+1 and I don’t intend to participate in any more NYRR races until the FALL.  Or not at all, actually.

Stats:

Last Tuesday, I couldn’t make @SpeedySasquatch speed crew so I did my very own speed workout, alone.  I kinda enjoyed it.  I ran over to the local track about 2 miles from my home and got busy.   Here is what I did:

My first goal was 6×800 at 4.25 but then after my 2 miles W/U I knew my legs didn’t have it in them. So, I switched it to 4×400 and then if I was able to I would finish with 1×800.

.25 ~ 2.02
.25 ~ 2.00
.25 ~ 1.59
.25 ~ 1.57
.50 ~ 4.25

400 recovery after each 400.

So. 1.5 miles 12.21 8.14 min/mile

W/U and C/D was 3.25 miles at 30.29 9.22 min/mile

Not to shabby for doing this alone.  Like I said, I enjoyed it but this week I will return to speed crew.

I ran longish on Sunday.  Just 8 miles.   I need to start building my base so that when July 20th rolls around and my plan calls for long runs, my body won’t hate on me.

I am also really getting into running in my Vibrams.  I love the feel of running in them.  It’s oddly hard to put into words, but it feels so natural and light.  I ran in them today over at Prospect Park.  The run itself was hard, due to it being extremely hot, but with the Vibrams on my feet, I still felt light.  And hey, what runner doesn’t like to feel light when they are running??

With half the year gone I am already at 551 running miles.  I am well on my way to hitting 1000 miles for the year.  I actually think with MCM training looming I will surpass 1000 miles this year.   My weekly mileage is right around 30 miles.   I do a lot of core work and cycle when I can.  These stats are really just for me to document how the first half of the year went.

In July, I anticipate close to a 40 mile month.  Running that is.   I like the numbers.  I like the symmetry.

I also want to give a huge shout out to two friends who just yesterday completed the Ford Ironman Coeur d’Alene (IMCDA).  My brother and favorite all-around good guy Ron PunkRockTriGuy.   You will absolutely want to read his race report.   Also, my wonderful friend Eissa over at Ironing.It.Out. IMCDA is actually her 2nd IRONMAN completed.   So congrats to these two amazing people who I am proud to call friends and IRONMAN!!!

SYMMETRY.  Beauty as a result of balance or harmonious arrangement.

In my world, I crave symmetry.   I crave the beauty of balance.   I crave that.  I don’t need to be the fastest or the most beautiful.  I don’t want that.  I want balance.  I want to feel free to express myself and be myself.   Those two up there, that is balance.   They did what I probably never will and I love that.  I love the symmetry in that.

Symmetry is what we see at a glance   Blaise Pascal

Run Happy everybody.


6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2010 11:33 pm

    I’m starting to enjoy symmetry too. Something about the even numbers and then splitting them in two, or doing something to get to a specific even number is satisfying.

  2. June 29, 2010 12:38 am

    Congrats on your 9+1! I hope to see you at the start & finish line next year. You are an incredible inspiration to me so thanks a million times for that!

  3. June 29, 2010 1:42 am

    Wow, way to get in those 9+1!!! I’m halfway there. Hopefully I’ll be at the starting line next year, too!

  4. June 29, 2010 1:03 pm

    I too am a huge proponent of symmetry. I was thinking about that when I ran 10 miles on Sunday. Sometimes, symmetry can seem boring if you think about it as just a mirror image. But no, when things are truly symmetrical, the resulting peace and harmony that comes at you is fascinating.

    It’s why I love pyramid workouts at the track. It’s why I love the number 11.

    You are pretty cool, Michelle, to get out there and do a track workout all on your own. it was wonderful to see you cutting loose at the tweet-up.

  5. June 29, 2010 7:14 pm

    Hi Michelle,

    Thanks for the mention. I was lucky to have been able to spend time with Eissa at the Ironman. She is an amazing person.

    Your support during all of this has really meant the word to me.

    All the best,

    Ron

  6. June 30, 2010 8:09 pm

    If this post doesn’t get you out and running I don’t know what will. Ironmans, aren’t they just unreal?! Next level of talent.

Leave a Reply

