Skip to content

~ Inception ~

July 19, 2010
tags:

Inception ~ The beginning, as of a project or undertaking

In a world where technology exists to enter the human mind through dream invasion, a single idea within one’s mind can be the most dangerous weapon or the most valuable asset.

Your task is not to steal an idea but to plant one. If you succeed, it could be perfect. But no amount of careful planning or expertise can prepare me for the dangerous training that seems to predict my every move. An enemy that only Michelle could have seen coming.

#MCM training is just about rearing its head towards me.  I’ve been struggling a bit with a lot of things.  My last blog post said it all, I think.  I was a victim of symbiogenesis.   I am not the same person I was.  I think my running self and my non-running self merged to form a brand new me.  I was symbiogenesised.

I’m thinking I need an #Inception.  Just plant a seed in my mind.  If you have to knock me out to do it, I will allow that.   Just once.  I need that one single idea, that will make me rock my marathon training.  I am not nervous at all.  In fact, just the opposite.  And that is what is troubling me.  I am almost blase about it.   Sure, I pretty much have my training plan burned to memory and I have Coach Caleb to thank for that.  THANK YOU BUDDY.   It’s a great plan.  Yet, I back away.

I am not very good at following orders or rules or a training plan.   Sure, I follow the rules of the road and I don’t commit any crimes, but I also like to be spontaneous and not feel that I “have” to run tempo today, or I have to run long tomorrow.  You get the drift.

So, I am asking for a little Inception.  You don’t even have to tell me your doing it.  Actually, don’t tell me.  Just enter my mind for a little while and do your thang.  Plant the seed.  Plant the idea that I need to get my ass moving.  Make it happen for me my friends and enemies a like.   Better yet, I invite you into my dreams at night.  We can have fun.  Frolic a bit.  Maybe roast some marshmallows together.   Sing a song or two.   I’m down for anything.   But once the fun has started, you need to get to work.   You need to do an Inception on me.   I will never know who has done it.  I will never know it was done.

But, if you suddenly see and read that I am “in training” your mission will have been a success.   There is no danger involved at all.  I am a very friendly host.   Tell me your favorite food, and it shall appear.   Inception ME!!!

I’ve run a few times this week.   No pressure.  Felt amazing.  I also had the pleasure of cheering on my fellow athletes and friends today at the Nautica NYC Triathlon in Central Park.  I ran my own 4 miler in the park and then felt inspired all over again seeing the running portion of the Triathlon.  Big mad props to Aimster, Chris, Brandon, Daniel and Alex P for kicking major ass today.   CONGRATS GUYS!!!!!  If I missed anyone, please forgive.  I am in the middle of a major Inception.  Thanks guys you came though before I even posted this.

Next year, yo I won’t be a spectator.   Not that there’s anything wrong with that.  Yo.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2010 1:13 pm

    When I ran my first marathon 3 years ago, I got too caught up in the training plan and would get worried about missing a run or falling behind in the mileage. I have realized since then that the best plan is to not follow a set of rules, but rather just have a nice guideline to follow. If you get so wrapped up in the plan and constantly remind yourself that you’re in training, the whole point of running gets lost and you’ll hate it for a while. That being said, I’m in your head.

  2. July 20, 2010 1:54 am

    the worst thing when I trained for my first marathon was discovering that I hated to run long when I had to run long. I thought doing 18 with a friend was a dream made in heaven, however, I resented having to run 18.
    It has since gotten better. Now I enjoy running the 18 or the 20, bring them on!

  3. July 20, 2010 9:51 pm

    Best of luck with the training.. don’t look at the big picture, just take it one day at a time…
    “baby steps” from What about Bob?

  4. July 20, 2010 10:28 pm

    nice! i like to think of it all in terms of ‘going to Battle.’ There’s no lounging around on the battlefield…

    Thanx for the Props for Sunday’s Tri! It helped seeing you out there on the sidelines cheering!

  5. Richard permalink
    July 26, 2010 10:52 am

    Nice blog, but would you like to download Inception movie for free?! Try here: http://inception-download.blogspot.com/ That’s my blog with download links. Hope you’ll enjoy.

Leave a Reply

