Skip to content

~ Green Prunes and Bran ~

August 16, 2010

Today’s blog post is brought to you by “what do you do when life hands you lemons?”  And Green Prunes and Bran.  Take your pick.

My life handing me lemons started on Saturday.   I was really looking forward to my run with Samantha and Erica.  All I had to do was run 6 miles.  So so easy right?   6 easy peasy miles.   The thing is, I was lulled into a false sense of security the day before when I was actually able to run 4 miles.   It’s a cliché to lead someone into believing that all is well before attacking. I believe being lulled is an idiom.   So, I am a cliched idiom    But, I digress.

So, I was very happy thinking that my training would finally be back on track.

Armed with that very false sense of security I awoke early on Saturday to meet up with m’ladies for m’run.  I was racing against the clock, (another idiom) and I took the m’train and landed in Central Park.  It was about at this point or perhaps while I was still on the late train,  that I sensed something was up YO.   Quads/knee whatever tendons something in that oddly weird area of my leg was hurting and it wasn’t so pretty.   I started getting very upset and frustrated.   I texted Samantha and at first I was going to give her a cock and bull story (idiom) saying something like:  I want to put the pedal to the medal and run super fast today so later for you……., but what I really wrote was my quad feels tight, don’t want to slow you down, go on without me and hung my head in shame.

I tried to run.   I really did.  Sometimes, it takes a full mile for everything to warm up.   Well my legs anyway.   I felt conflicted.   Every single part of me wanted that run, but my legs just were not allowing it.   So, of course I knew what to do.   I didn’t want to.   I just wanted to run and run.

I waddled my way home.   So sad.   In the heat of the moment, I was going to hell in a hand basket.   (double idiom)……..Since I really didn’t want a complete disaster, I went with my gut feeling and said “GET OVER IT”.

This is life.   Your being handed those lemons fast and furious.   So here is what I did:

When life gives you lemons, be sure to send a hand written thank you note for the lemons, as email thank you notes can appear to be less sincere.

When life gives you lemons suck out all of the vitamin C and yell “EAT THAT, LIFE!

When life gives you lemons ask for salt and tequila!

When life gives you lemons, make orange juice, then wonder how the heck you did it.

When life gives you lemons, collect them one day life will stop and u would have the most lemons ever.

When life hands you lemons make lemonade and find someone else who life handed vodka to, and have a party

75 Days until Marine Corp Marathon.   I fully intend to be at the starting line.  100% no doubt in my mind.  I have not run since Friday.   3 full days.   I am beginning to feel that lulled into false sense of security again.   The very hard part, IMHO is holding back when you want to really test out the leg.

I do my core.   Today I did a kick-ass workout and felt amazing.   I think I did about 30 eleventy million pushups.   And so many crunches, I’m still not done.

And cycling?   Don’t get me started on how much I love cycling.   I call myself fearless, riding through the streets of Brooklyn/NYC.   And I love it.   “nuff said”

RUNNING I will conquer you.    Just you WATCH me!!!!

“Sometimes the right thing & the hard thing are the same thing. I read that on a tea bag…”~Liz Lemon

There is only one big thing – desire. And before it, when it is big, all is little.

Isn’t it rather mind-numbing, that for everyone, always and forever, they have 10,000 more things to be thrilled about, than not?

U R blessed,
The Universe

Just because, I think is is hilarious.  (thanks Erika)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2010 7:19 pm

    Any time. BTW, Hell in a Handbasket is a funny drag name as well. (Hellena Handbasket.) Just saying…

  2. August 16, 2010 7:47 pm

    I wanted to run this weekend. Same sort of deal, everything was in with the plan EXCEPT for my knee. Stupid freaking knee.

    My plan with the lemons is to suck out all of the vitamin C and yell “EAT THAT, LIFE!

  3. August 17, 2010 1:04 am

    Hey Michelle, I totally hear you- I was going through similar problems with my back. I’m hoping that you get the answers you’re looking for with your knee- hang in there!

    Great blog post, and love all the idioms- keep on telling life to “take that back” and make the best of it.

    If you need anything, let me know 😉 I’m only across the Hudson!

  4. August 17, 2010 5:50 pm

    Bad, sluggish, yucky runs happen. So do awesome, groovy ones. I learned not to read too much into the bad days AND never read too much into the good days either. We all run & play a lot and the body sometimes just doesn’t feel like playing.

    Move on.

    All the best,

    Ron

  5. August 22, 2010 1:27 am

    Hang in there kiddo. You’ve got time…plus it sounds like you’re not losing any fitness between the core and the biking. Listen to the legs…they will carry you.

Leave a Reply

