Skip to content

~ 2 Chicks and a Whore ~

September 3, 2010

Here she is.   The whore in all her glory.  All I know is she is somewhere in Canada, she is very pretty but a bitch to conquer.

Runnrgrrl’s and myself are the 2 chicks.   She has conquered the whore more than once and is very good at doing so.   I need to conquer that whore.  I want to run up her with my fellow chick. Run up her hard and swift.

I no longer live in Brooklyn, NY ~ I now occupy what is fashionably known as Fuckalicious, NYC.   Thanks to my other chick, this word has been getting a lot of play on twitter.   My other chick being @runnrgrl.  It’s her thang that I kinda adopted just a bit.  Please feel free to visit me in Fuckalicious, NYC.

Ah, running?   I’m definitely back on track.  With a few tweaks in my training plan, all is well and I think I even may have cracked out a smile, per coaches orders of course!    Whatever ailments I have are still there but today I awoke to nary a pain.  Sorry, I just really wanted to use the word nary.

I have 16 to run this weekend.  Probably solo.  I’d love company, but it never seems to work out.  Although, I have somethings in the works for future runs, this one I may have to get done on my own.   I have a vague plan of where I will run and a vague idea of how I want to do it.   I also have some new gels to try out and lots of lemonade gatorade.   Beyond that, its going to be me and the road.

Live with integrity, a generous spirit, a positive enthusiasm, and the world will reflect it all back to you.

That up there?   I try.   In western ethics, integrity is regarded as the quality of having an intuitive sense of honesty and truthfulness.

Tad Bartimus, 2008 recipient of the Washington Press Club Foundation’s Lifetime Achievement Award. writes,

I learned from my father that “There are only two kinds of people in this world: those who are generous of spirit, and those who aren’t.”

As I grow older and, hopefully, wiser, I distance myself from “toxic people” and seek out friends and neighbors whose values and lifestyle have already revealed their generous spirits. Surrounding myself with non-judgmental minds, open hearts and spontaneous laughter inspires me to be a better person and makes me happy …

Epiphany! Words to live by. I’ve been doing the same … distancing myself from toxic people, that is. Folks who aren’t necessarily mean or nasty or bad, but people who always, ALWAYS, see the glass half empty. People who criticize everything and rejoice over nothing. They reply to your excitement with something negative, critical or mean-spirited. They have the power to change your confident smile and happy demeanor into self-doubt. They greet you with demands instead of caring, compassionate words or smiles. They make you feel guilty for not falling into their quagmire.
When we become so negative about things that are irrelevant to us, we are unable to seek the positive things that are truly relevant. There is no room, no motivation, and no energy left to find the fireflies in our own lives.

So, my fireflies are my mother who even though she is sick, always has a smile for me.   My sister who knows and lets me have my moods, appreciates my dilemmas and supports my dreams.  Some friends whom are all positive and healthy and athletic and genuine and loving.

With that, I must go gaze at that beautiful whore up there and dream that one day I will conquer her.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 3, 2010 11:58 pm

    That hill looks fun. Bring it.

  2. September 4, 2010 1:40 am

    hell yes. you are fuckalicious. with your zest for life, your radiance with all you tweet to, your daily inspirational good morning and your abundant and generous support to all the runners, athletes on twitter and daily mile, you are a rockstar. i love you for your humanity and your generosity. you always give. i have a feeling, in real life, you are a gem and those who know you are richer for it. i am so looking forward to meeting you in november. that hill isn’t going anywhere, you’re always welcome to come run it with me.
    xoxoxox
    runnrgrl

  3. ally permalink
    September 4, 2010 1:45 am

    OH Yeah, MCM is fast approaching!! Iam so excited to finally get to meet you!!
    Negative people have no place in our lives!!!

  4. September 4, 2010 2:01 am

    That hill looks insane – hills terrify me!! I myself have had to do some letting go in the past year of some super-toxic people that I just couldn’t be around. You know the ones that are your friends but somehow you always have to impress them and they always have to one-up you. It’s been so freeing getting away from them.

    You’re a fantastic person & you deserve great things – especially to conquer that craz-ay hill!

  5. September 16, 2010 8:29 pm

    Today was a good day for me to catch this blog. Thanks for sharing and I will continue to strive and view the glass as half full (of my favorite beverage) with another on the way.

Leave a Reply

