Skip to content

~ Evolution ~

October 3, 2010
tags:

As athletes, we are constantly evolving.  Aren’t we?   I know I am.   I used to just run up on my boardwalk happy with 5 miles and my run was complete.   Now that I am branching out in my running, or “evolving” as I like to call it, so many wonderful things have been happening.

I think the #1 great thing that my evolving gave to me, is all the amazing friends I have made along the way.   All incredible athletes in their own right.  The best most supportive and special people, I know.

Because of these great friends, I have been branching out.  Anybody who knows me, knows I kinda have a tendency to get lost now and then.  To me, Prospect Park was a foreign land.  1 loop?   HUH?  No clue.  And don’t get me started on Central Park.   East side and West side all looks the same to me.  But, I go now.   I learned the way.  Long bike rides?  Are you kidding?   I felt safe in my own “hood”  so I wouldn’t get lost.   Now I don’t think twice about hopping on the bike and just riding.

Races.  Sure mostly NYRR races but I would love to do smaller races.  And I would.  Trails?   ME?   Love it.  It calls to me.

MCM ~ Hashaton ~ HATRun in that order.  Two of those 3 are trails.   Can’t wait.

I also evolve a little too much when injury befalls me.  But, I will heal.

What are some of the ways you evolved as an athlete?  ROCK ON!!!!

That Which Does Not Kill You.. Makes You Stronger..
Nietzche

“No doubt a brain and some shoes are essential for marathon success, although if it comes down to a choice, pick the shoes. More people finish marathons with no brains than with no shoes.” – Don Kardong

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2010 9:43 pm

    I have had sImilar experiences. For me, the fear was, “Will I be able to make it back”. It is always fun to sit back and see how far we have come, yet how far we have to go. Thanks for sharing your journey, it made me smile.

  2. October 3, 2010 10:09 pm

    for me, each year since I started getting active has been different, but excellent. my goals and focus and approach evolve over time. still having fun, so it’s all good!

  3. October 3, 2010 11:36 pm

    Being fully aware of all these things is what is making you a better runner, biker and person. Keep it up!

  4. October 4, 2010 12:51 am

    One thing I tell myself and others, just look back to when you started. Just look at all your shoes. Look at all those medals. Look at all those miles. Friends. Places. ETC.

    They all came about because of that first decision to step out the door. I wish there was a graph that showed us how we physically changed from a everyday human to a superhuman. Well, for those who’ve lost weight, they sure do have this graph and for those who just got fitter, you feel better.

    We evolved in ways outside of running as well. We learned to push hard in business. We learn to be patience with others. And we learned to know, that life is a marathon.

  5. October 4, 2010 1:17 am

    I find that I am constantly evolving, in every sense of the word, and I think that’s an amazing and necessary thing. Stagnation is unhealthy, and I’m glad you’re embracing the Evolution of Michelle!

  6. October 4, 2010 11:56 pm

    Evolution and variety are not the same. Explore different things but when you find that one about which you are passionate, be it running, triathlon, piano-playing, evolution is making yourself the best runner, triathlete, or pianist you can be, even if it just means playing “The Way You Look Tonight” in a way that makes you smile. Indeed, lots of runners never do Ultras, never race on trails, never do a marathon. But whatever they do, they love it.

Leave a Reply

