Skip to content

~ With A Little Help ~

October 5, 2010

Had lunch with a really good friend yesterday.   He always has a way of putting everything into perspective for me.  It’s as if everything running/cycling related is brought down to a level that I could understand.  And I feel calmer and better about things.

I really think that even the most hardcore of athletes seek out help or advice or just a little encouragement every so often.   Ok, so maybe I am not a hardcore athlete but when I run or have lunch with my friend, I always part ways feeling so much better about things.   I even sort of have a little plan in the back of my mind for when I am all healed and ready to resume my running.

Resume my running slowly and surely.   Do speed.   I mean get faster.  Run faster.  Be consistent with that.

Once I go to the orthopedic doctor on Wednesday and know what I am dealing with I will move forward.   I just really appreciate good friends who take the time to help me out.

This past Sunday I rode my bike.   Lots and lots of miles around Prospect Park.  29.25 miles to be exact.  As boring as loops of the park sound, it wasn’t all that bad.  There is always so much happening in the park to sort of keep me “entertained”.   This particular day had a walk-a-thon and of course a bike race.  Lots of runners and cyclists just like myself looping around and enjoying the nice fall weather.   My quads sure felt it in loops 4 & 5 but I enjoyed the feeling.   Kinda strange but I knew I was working my legs and that made me happy.

The secret early world of Prospect Park Cyclists <~~~~~~ Click to read a good article on cyclists in Prospect Park

I don’t deny I need a little help now and again.   I know I am on the verge of great things.  It’s just taking a little longer than I would like.  And I also know who I can turn to for help. And I like that I know this.   Some folks never know who to turn to.   But, I do.   And I would like to think that those same folks know they can turn to me.

I’m not a solution to your problems. I’m another problem.

Peggy: That went well.
Harry: You have lipstick all over your teeth.

HA!  Just when you think its all good, you are told you have red lipstick all over your teeth.   My heel is my red lipstick.   Hopefully, tomorrow I can wipe that red lipstick off and get back to it.

The body does not want you to do this. As you run, it tells you to stop but the mind must be strong. You always go too far for your body. You must handle the pain with strategy…It is not age; it is not diet. It is the will to succeed.



2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 2:13 pm

    We all need some help and advice along whatever road life takes us down. I think the most elite of athletes get the most help — imagine if they didn’t have coaches!

    I hope you’ll be back to running soon!

  2. October 6, 2010 3:59 pm

    It’s when we forget to ask for help that things go from bad to worse…hang in there! See you in 5 weeks!

Leave a Reply

