Skip to content

~ Break The Silence ~

October 6, 2010

I am not a complainer.   I pretty much don’t even really like to hear complaints from others.   BUT, I listen and see how I can help.   I am mostly really easy going and get along with everybody I meet.  I dig meeting new people and I really dig all my running friends.   Sometimes, though there are things that annoy me or kinda gives me pause.  I stop and I think.  I stop and think, I wouldn’t do that.

We all have our pet peeves, don’t we.

A pet peeve (or pet hate) is a minor annoyance that an individual identifies as particularly annoying to him or her, to a greater degree than others may find it.   Pet peeves often involve specific behaviors of someone close, such as a spouse or significant other. These behaviors may involve disrespect, manners, personal hygiene, relationships, and family issues.

And so here are mine:

  • If you make plans to run with somebody, NEVER run ahead and leave them behind.   (this is huge for me)
  • Runners who look you in the eye as you cross paths, but don’t return your friendly wave.
  • Grunters. I know some of them can’t help it, but the noise can really take you out of your own rhythm.
  • Don’t dig people who lie
  • People who say they will call you back, but never do.
  • People who stand way to close to me in lines.   I need my personal space.
  • Know it alls.   HATE THIS.  Because most people don’t know it all.
  • Arrogance.  Confidence is great, arrogance stinks.
  • People who text while driving.
  • People that throw out words like passive aggressive.   Ummm, huh.
  • One sided friendships.  The kind where you give and give and give and the other takes and takes and takes.  I really believe that people can only do what you allow, but I think we’ve all met people who constantly have their hands out and never know how to reciprocate and could be virtually added as a dependent on your tax return.  That’s the person that I’m talking about.
  • If you say your going to do something, do it.

So, I know this list is extensive and maybe a little angry sounding.   I’m not angry.  I never get angry.   I am so easy going, that sometimes I wonder.   Then my brain starts hurting and I have to stop all the wondering.

I am really beginning to feel antsy and unsettled.   No running for almost 2 weeks will do that to you.   I’m nervous because I see the doctor today.   I think he will say MRI.  And that means even more waiting.   I am running out of time.  Pun intended.   I want to lace up and run.  That’s it.

Had a very nice bike ride this morning.  Was only planning on 10 miles or so, but bumped into a friend and bumped it up to 15 miles.   The sun was shining brightly and that was a nice welcome change.  It felt good.

So, what are some of your pet peeves?   Break the silence!!!!

Mental is a muscle that needs exercise, just like muscles of the body.


6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2010 2:49 pm

    Nice list. As for what you have as No. 1, I have a few people I occasionally run with and we pretty much have an understanding that if someone wants to go faster to go for it. While we’re greatly supportive of each other, we never want to hold others back. It rarely happens that we do that, but in the few times that it’s happened, it’s motivating to me to pick it up and do what I can to catch up.

    As for pet peeves, I really don’t like it when other runners or walkers don’t even look your way, although I think what you have above is worse. Looking in the eye and not having some sort of communication has never made any sense to me.

  2. October 6, 2010 3:54 pm

    Smokers who toss their butts on the ground. I want to run up, pick them up and drop them back in their car window or pocket! 🙂

    Good luck today, thinking good thoughts and hoping for the best for your foot!!

  3. October 6, 2010 4:02 pm

    drives me nuts when a runner looks you in the eye and doesn’t acknowledge a hello…a simple nod back would suffice!

    good luck today at the doctor…

  4. October 6, 2010 4:20 pm

    I definitely am with you on many of those pet peeves.

  5. October 6, 2010 4:45 pm

    “People who stand way to close to me in lines. I need my personal space.”

    Dude! You bump into me all the time!! lol!

  6. michjoy61 permalink*
    October 6, 2010 9:16 pm

    Samantha ~ I do? I hardly ever see you. :O)

    Also, bumping into somebody (to me) is not the same as being on line in a bank or post office and the person behind you is literally right up against you. lol!!!

Leave a Reply

